Ratings based on 11 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Bath UK

Nice hotel, lovelly grounds

Posted May 14, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: WiFI
Location: Dartmoor, Plymouth, Buckland Abbey.
Pleasant stay, the hotel is located on Dartmoor well away from a busy road so no noise, but with easy access to Plymouth and the Moors. For some odd reason we were allocated a room with disabled bathroom facilities but this did not prove a problem. The WiFi was hit and miss in our room kept dropping out or with poor signal strength. We only had breafast so cannot comment on other aspects of dining.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cornwall

Very comfortable hotel.

Posted Apr 24, 2017
This is a well run hotel on the edge of moorland. The bedrooms are large and well equipped, spotlessly clean, efficiency run by attentive staff. Food was excellent in a bright and airy restaurant overlooking the garden. There is plenty of easy parking. Overall, an excellent venue for a rural escape.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dorchester

Quiet hotel with beautiful gardens

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Pros: Stunning Spring gardens
We stayed for one night (22/04/17) prior to the Plymouth Half Marathon. The reception staff were welcoming and friendly. Although the hotel is a bit tired, the gardens are beautiful and our room was large, comfortable and clean. All rooms had lovely views. We enjoyed a generous cream tea on the terrace but did not have dinner in the restaurant. The only negative was that because we had to leave early (7.15) on Sunday morning we couldn't have cooked breakfast because the chef doesn't start until 8.00. However, the reception staff did bring a selection of cereals, yoghurt and fruit to our room so we didn't leave hungry. Overall a very enjoyable stay
5 out of 5
by Mike

Chilled out

Posted Feb 13, 2017 on Hotels
Very relaxing
4 out of 5
by Alan

Posted Feb 1, 2017 on Hotels
One night stay as I was on business in the area. Nice Hotel with pleasant staff
5 out of 5
by Dolores

Very convenient.

Posted Dec 23, 2016 on Hotels
It was a quick shopping trip - hotel was very adequate and central. We would use it again and have recommended to friends. Rooms ok, staff ok.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely moorland setting

Posted Dec 1, 2016 on Hotels
Great place to stay, but hardly any phone signal and wifi non existent in rooms . Great cream teas, scones excellent rest food good but no bar food as such just an extension of the restaurant menu so expensive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Plymouth

Lovely overnight stay

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Location: Moorland walks are beautiful.
We were very pleased with our stay at the Moorland. The room we had was at the quieter end of the hotel. We were glad to book through Expedia which gave us a more reasonable room rate as both the wedding rate and the rate quoted on the hotel website rate was more expensive for a standard room! Bizarre! We were a little disappointed that the breakfast was such a busy time and had to wait to be seated before we were able to enjoy the buffet breakfast. There were some items of breakfast unavailable to us as the serving dishes had not been replenished. It was a lovely time in all and the staff were very pleasant and friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Pros: Decor, big bedrooms great views
Cons: The hotel was taken over by drunken wedding guests I would think again about going at the weekends .
Location: Great location on the edge of Dartmoor & doing the cycle 27 route to Plymouth
Lovely hotel got married here 26 years ago, it's been wonderfully updated, our stay was sadly spoilt by drunken noisy wedding guests!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South West

Fantastic, dog-friendly hotel - highly recommended

Posted May 18, 2016
Pros: Brilliantly dog friendly, great staff, quiet, comfortable, and spacious.
Cons: Nothing we can think of!
Location: Beautiful yet accessible location on Dartmoor. Seeing the ponies is a must! Plymouth is a short drive away for shopping, theatres, etc.
Hugely impressed with this hotel. I'd just included a note in the booking that we would be bringing an elderly dog with us and when we arrived we found that we had been placed in the end of the hotel nearest to their dog-walking area (the receptionist said 'in case she couldn't walk too far to get to it'). There was a bed, two bowls and a towel all laid out for her in the room, and she even got a sausage for breakfast! As dogs aren't allowed in the restaurant, we came down for breakfast to find a table all laid out for us in the bar area and, considering how close it is, it felt no different to just being at the end of the restaurant - we didn't feel excluded at all. The cooked breakfast was a nice size in that it didn't overface you, and the homemade vegetarian sausage was lovely. Along with the cold buffet, there was more than enough to eat, no matter the size of your appetite! The touches in the room for South West Equine Protection were great, with the info on who to contact if you saw an injured pony being most helpful. As many come here for the ponies, it's good to see a business giving back. The room was spacious with a lovely view of the gardens, the bed was very comfortable, and, despite being busy, it was really nice and quiet - we weren't disturbed at all. Most impressive, though, were the staff, who couldn't do enough to help. They were friendly, welcoming, accommodating, and very helpful. Lovely hidden gem of a hotel - we'll definitely be returning!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 28, 2016 by Katie (Reception), Hotel Management
Good Evening, Thank you for your kind review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to be able to welcome you both back with your canine companion at some point in the future. Kind Regards Katie (Reception)