Ratings based on 9 Verified Reviews

4.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Herefordshire

Perfect hotel with gorgeous views

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Pros: Everything! Especially the afternoon teas on offer, all homemade by Donna
Cons: Nothing, it's perfect!
Location: Great location for exploring nearby Clovelly, Appledore, Westward Ho, Lynton & Lynmouth.
The owners Simon & Donna make this hotel feel like an extension of their home from the minute they greet you, their hotel is in a stunning location overlooking the river & is beautifully furnished throughout. The breakfast offered was lovely, with homemade bread & preserves & also home reared bacon & sausage - a great start to the day. It is ideally suited for exploring this beautiful area of Devon. Definitely recommend & hope to return again one day
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Will use again if in the area.

Posted Oct 9, 2016 on Hotels
A very comfortable room. Excellent service. Breakfast all locally sourced and well cooked. Easy location for north Devon but also dropping south to Cornwall.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by dean from Ilfracombe, Devon, UK

a dream stay

Posted Jan 24, 2012
Pros: the rooms/views/friendly hosts and food
Location: great location within walking distance of the town
great friendly hosts who couldnt do enough for us. they even gave us a free upgrade to the kingsize balcony room. food was great and the rooms and views were amazing. i would recommend this place to stay to everyone
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bristol

Nice river, pity about the road

Posted Nov 30, 2011 on Hotels
We stayed in the apartment of the riverside cottage. It was self catering so I cannot speak for any of the food services that were offered. The apartment was exceptinally clean, modern and well presented and Donna and Simon were very welcoming. The view from the river was beautiful and it was an amazing experience to look over it whilst eating. The only draw back was that there was only enough hot water for one shower. This was a bit annoying but Donna aplogised and assured me when leaving that they were going to look into it. Another thing that can't be helped is the noise from the road behind the aprtment which slightly spoils the isolated impression you get when looking out towards the river. The road was agin a bit of a problem when walking along the tarka trail on the way to Instow. It's hard to feel that you are getting away from it all when there are cars zipping past you at 50-60 mph every 30 seconds. I imagine there are nicer stretches of the trail and in the welcome pack Donna and Simon reccomend heading towards Torrington, which I imagine is a nicer stretch. Unmanagable problems aside Donna and Simon have an incredibly cosy, well maintained get away over looking a beautiful river
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from South Devon

A great place to stay

Posted Oct 18, 2011
Riverside Cottage is a lovely place to stay - squeaky clean, super outlook, scrumptious breakfast and superb friendly, helpful hosts. It made the perfect base for our visit to north Devon. Will recommend to friends and will come again if we're back in the area.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brixham

Posted Oct 10, 2011 on Hotels
Warm reception from Donna beautifully appointed room and bathroom with lovely views over the river. Delicious breakfast and would certainly recommend to friends. Lemon cake on arrival was a nice and very yummy touch.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Canberra Australia

Fabulous B&B

Posted Oct 1, 2011
The outstanding setting for this most comfortable and friendly B&B is only surpassed by the welcome by Simon and Donna. Staying here is relaxed but luxurious. Two nights could easily have become a week had we planned for more time. I recommend this place for all the things that make staying away enjoyable - home comforts, friendship and a relaxed atmosphere.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

riverside cottage

Posted Sep 29, 2011 on Hotels
Simon and Donna are great hosts, very welcoming and warm. nothing being too much trouble for them. the house itself had a bright and happy atmosphere. everywhere is extremely clean and comfortable and the food is top quality. many thanks, for a happy two days steve & Carol K
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Becky from Melbourne, Australia

A quiet haven after a long drive

Posted Aug 18, 2011
A warm welcome on arrival. Lovely house with gorgeous dogs and other animals. Room was basic but bathroom was spacious. No soap in shower. Great advise on where to go for dinner. Good breakfast served next morning. Would highly recommend.