Ratings based on 84 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent

'Tired' hotel; excellent staff

Posted Dec 20, 2016
Pros: The staff. The location (near the harbour).
Cons: The showers, particularly. The decor generally.
Location: Convenient for access to Lynmouth/Lynton. Lots of good coast walking (Lynmouth on SW Coast path).
The room we booked had a bathroom which was excessively hot; the radiator could not be turned off. We were quickly moved to a more expensive room but charged the same rate, and offered a free round of drinks at dinner. The staff were very helpful, and the manager came along to apologise. Obviously would have been more of a problem to move us in season. The hotel appears to have been run down somewhat - single-glazed windows, decor a bit old, showers feeble. The current manager had only started less than 4 months ago, and assuming the previous incumbent knew they were going it is not surprising investment has been lacking. In our (second) room there was a notice on one of the windows asking us not to open it. The bedding was fine, as were the tea- and coffee-making facilities. The food was very acceptable, if nothing special (although the steak was better than average - I had it twice). Alternatives in the town singularly uninspiring! (Out of season, of course, and we didn't look at other hotels; didn't see any restaurants).
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convieinat for coast, town and walking

Posted Nov 7, 2016 on Hotels
I nice hotel, staff keen to help. Albeit a little tired, do not let this put this off typical English charm. Breakfast good and rooms very clean.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Llangollen

Posted Sep 5, 2016 on Hotels
Very comfortable hotel in fabulous location right on the edge of the harbour
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from South Staffordshire

Untidy, unloved, unprofessionally run.

Posted Sep 3, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Location: Lynmouth is a very nice village and attracts thousands of visitors all year because of its location.
Drunken smokers sitting on benches outside the hotel entrance, resembled a drunks day out in the park. Piles of "stuff" behind the reception desk in clear view, a smelly dog lying between the reception desk and the open kitchen door. What looked like a charity shop delivery under the stairs. Our room (9) situated between the bar and the public toilets was less than inspiring. Noisy guests allowed to sit drinking in the bar into the early hours shouting and swearing, sorry, not for me. We asked for and were given a full refund next morning and eventually found a lovely hotel on the village of Exford 20 miles inland.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 15, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fab Getsway

Posted Jul 29, 2016 on Hotels
Great time, lovely Friendly Staff, Only down side we couldn't open the windows in our room.
4 out of 5
by Stuart

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 26, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Best spot in town

Posted Jul 15, 2016 on Hotels
Best place in Lynmouth. Parking. Helpful front desk staff. New good service person had awkward moments. Food was excellent
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overall ok but not worthy of 4 star

Posted Jul 13, 2016 on Hotels
Location amazing the bar staff are lovely Breakfast is not great fawlty towers comes to mind We have stayed in 7 different places in Lynmouth and this was not the best
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Soundwaves to sleep by...

Posted Jun 24, 2016
Pros: Lots - but the proximity to the sea, very friendly staff and relaxed atmosphere come top of th list
Cons: A bathtub along with the shower would have been a welcome addition to the en suite facilities
Location: Walks for all abilities and levels, closeness to Devon countryside and beaches, good fare and a spectacular cliff railway joining the two villages...
This hotel is a must for anyone who loves being by the sea - the very comfortable and clean room we had booked overlooked the harbour and open sea which lapped a few metres from our windows during the high tide period, it was wonderful going to sleep accompanied by the sound of the waves. Along with the excellent parking, good access to the hotel, a large garden and well stocked bar comes a group of friendly and efficient staff who make your stay run smoothly. Breakfast is plentiful and well cooked. There are seating areas in the large garden which overlook the sea front as well as having reverse views of the towering tree lined cliffs all around. The two villages of Lynmouth and Lynton also have a vast array of places to eat and things to do when you are not being captivated by the views or enjoying the outside elements on the hotels doorstep.