Ratings based on 45 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Surrey

Outstanding 5 day holiday in Dartmouth

Posted Jul 28, 2016
Pros: Everything!
Cons: Nothing, it was a great place to stay
Location: Dartmouth is a delightful place to stay, with plenty of nice restaurants, a wide selection of shops including independents, and of course river trips
We can thouroughly recommend both Dartmouth and the Outstanding Royal Castle Hotel. The location of the Royal Castle it right in the middle of town and our room overlooked the harbour so we had a fantastic view. The Hotel itself is historic and full of character. ALL of the staff were simply outstanding and very freindly. Nothing was too much trouble. Our room was spacious, especially the bathroom which had a massive jacuzzi bath. The room was very clean, so a 100% score as far as we are concerned. The Grill, which is their own restaurant should not be overlooked. The food their was fabulous. It was my Birthday when we were away, but I did not inform the hotel, as i did not think it relevant. But the staff must have seen a couple of Birthday cards on the table in our room and upon returning from a river trip on day 4, i found a Birthday card and present on our bed. A very nice and thoughtful touch. Also don't miss out on a trip on the Stream train!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Manchester

A break in Devon.

Posted Mar 21, 2016
Pros: Location,staff,comfort and that it is a bit different.
Cons: Not a lot.
Location: Dartmouth is a bit special and exploring is half the fun.
The staff from the outset were friendly and helpful Parking system great.For an old building the facilities fit in well.A little noisy but comfortable.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

500 year old building!!

Posted Mar 10, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely hotel,great service comfortable,and all staff very friendly.food at breakfast and in bars was delicious,all freshly cooked. Only negative is the room was on the 4th floor,we were with my 74year old sister and was quite difficult for her to get up and downstairs,but it is a 500year old building after all,so no lifts.
5 out of 5
by Fiona from Merriott Somerset

Fabulous hotel in Dartmouth

Posted Mar 9, 2016 on Hotels
Was just fabulous wonderful character hotel marvellous staff and the view amazing. Will definitely be staying again
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 9, 2015
We stayed here for one night. The hotel is fantastic, delicious food and we had an excellent view from our room.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from dorset

Great hotel right at the heart of town

Posted Oct 20, 2015
enjoyable and restful trip. Great staff good food and high level of comfort
5 out of 5
by Alison

Great position - friendly, comfortable!

Posted Oct 8, 2015 on Hotels
We had a lovely stay in a large , comfortable room at the top of the hotel with a great view over the town. The staff were very helpful and friendly, and the owner came and spoke with guests at each table at breakfast! The breakfast was fantastic - lots of fresh fruit and delicious cooked food. Highly recommended.
5 out of 5
by Patrick from Camberley

Very opulent hotel

Posted Oct 4, 2015 on Hotels
This is a very opulent hotel in an absolutely stunning location overlooking the small harbour in Dartmouth. Clearly a carefully modernised building retaining its elegance and comfort throughout. A bit pricey especially if you choose a front room.
5 out of 5
by Susan from Salisbury

Great find this hotel!

Posted Sep 19, 2015 on Hotels
Great find this hotel, full of history, most comfortable rooms, tastefully furnished and friendly staff. Worthy of more than three stars which cannot be given as it is 16th century and not possible to install a lift. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Dartmouth.
5 out of 5
by Ian

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 19, 2015 on Hotels