Ratings based on 54 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
41% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Was met by a very unfriendly landlady. Then told that i did not have breakfast although i had paid for it when I booked. The rooms were old and smelt of damp.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel on the main road

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Landlady wasn't very hospitable at all very rude in fact . We are glad we never booked breakfast because the person that had it didn't look like £6.50 . Would not stay again
1 out of 5
by Geoffrey

Worst ever

Posted Feb 27, 2017 on Hotels
Mouldy musty / uncomfortable bed /shower needs deep clean,didn't use/tv didn't work /no wifi /electric heater in room no heating to bathroom /worst place ever stayed in will not use again
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I've stayed in better for half the price.

Posted Oct 3, 2016 on Hotels
Warm welcome, lovely staff. Tired room in need of a little TLC. Rot in the wall panels in bathroom. Comfy bed but found two used tissues under pillow - eww. Nice to have a kettle in the room, shame there was no tea, coffee, cups, sugar etc. Could be a fantastic place but needs modernisation to bring it up to standard. I think the new owner is trying hard, but really it's a tired old locals pub with some rooms on top of it. Saying that would stay again as I think it will only get better with constructive feedback. Grub sounded nice but had previous booking with friends elsewhere.
5 out of 5
by Steven

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 30, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pub with accommodation in centre of Hartland

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Pros: It had parking and was in a good location in Hartland.
Cons: The decor, cleanliness, organisation and staffing.
Location: Some nice scenery at Hartland Quay, good walking area, Clovelly nearby.
We were disappointed with the Anchor Inn in Hartland. Our room was a good size, nice and light with wash basin, and a pleasant view. but the bathroom was down the corridor and was shabby and grubby - there were empty shower and shampoo containers left from the previous guest, and hadn't been replaced with new ones. There wasn't a hand towel in the bathroom. There were two large bath towels and one hand towel in the bedroom.When we went down for breakfast there was no one to serve us, and no bowls or cutlery out. There was hardly anything on the buffet, so we left and went out to a cafe for breakfast. The evening meal in the pub was adequate - basic pub food. We wouldn't return, nor would we recommend it to friends. The owner was very pleasant but the place needs a good overhaul, both in the decor and in the organisation and staffing.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from portland dorset uk

not good for us

Posted Aug 8, 2016
room just about ok. no hot water. tap not working. only cleaned when asked to. bathroom never cleaned and two days no toilet paper.. would not stay here again
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Poor...

Posted Jul 18, 2016 on Hotels
+Price,nice barmaid, coffee+ tea set,heater,tv. -poor quality of everything..., bar inside hotel means drunk noisy peoples in hotel rooms (we had idiots as neighbour whos was banging at main door for 10minutes and shouting around 1-3 am).
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ROTHERFIELD

16th Century Inn

Posted Jul 11, 2016
Pros: The pub looked lovely, from the outside.
Cons: Refurbishment of all the rooms, showers and toilet. No guests partying outside on the deck till all hours of the night/early morning (4.00 am)
Location: N/a
Nice looking pub from the outside, bars are ok but need some refurbishment. Rooms are well below standard, in need of decorating, showers are unkempt, not clean and hair remains in sink and shower, again in need of decorating. Water pressure well below standard, cistern taking at a minimum 10 minutes to fill, didn't attempt to shower as water pressure no better than the cistern. Check in 4 pm but not available till 5.15 pm overall I'd give this place a 2 out of 10.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wales

Nice hotel with friendly staff

Posted Jun 6, 2016
We were made to feel very welcome as soon as we arrived. Alison the owner, was great fun and made our weekend.