Ratings based on 44 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
50% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ROTHERFIELD

16th Century Inn

Posted Jul 11, 2016
Pros: The pub looked lovely, from the outside.
Cons: Refurbishment of all the rooms, showers and toilet. No guests partying outside on the deck till all hours of the night/early morning (4.00 am)
Location: N/a
Nice looking pub from the outside, bars are ok but need some refurbishment. Rooms are well below standard, in need of decorating, showers are unkempt, not clean and hair remains in sink and shower, again in need of decorating. Water pressure well below standard, cistern taking at a minimum 10 minutes to fill, didn't attempt to shower as water pressure no better than the cistern. Check in 4 pm but not available till 5.15 pm overall I'd give this place a 2 out of 10.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from wales

Nice hotel with friendly staff

Posted Jun 6, 2016
We were made to feel very welcome as soon as we arrived. Alison the owner, was great fun and made our weekend.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Very ordinary accommodation but friendly local bar

Posted May 29, 2016
Pros: cheap price.
Cons: refurbish rooms and bathrooms.
Stayed one night. No one else staying. Bedroom ok with tea/coffee facilities. Non on suite bath/shower/toilet basic. Bar meal reasonable and overall price satisfactory.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sussex

The ONLY Inn/Hotel/Pub in Hartland with Rooms

Posted Apr 30, 2016
Pros: The breakfast.
Cons: Decor, en suite cleanliness and facilities (shower rail in our room wasn't really attached to the wall).
Location: Hartland is off the beaten track; hasn't changed very much since we lived there in the 1960's. Good walking, and other holiday pursuits nearby.
Reception; our Expedia confirmation advises 2 rooms with breakfast, and we thought from what minimal information we could glean from the Expedia booking experience that we had en suite facilities. No and No! Fortunately we were able to change our rooms to en suite (extra £10, but Alison the owner let us off this at check out - thank you), and breakfast cost £6 per head but was well worth the price. Bed linen was clean and bed comfortable, but room maintenance and cleaning would suffer well from some further attention. And the howling dog during the night left something to be desired. We enjoyed our stay, but there's significant room for improvement at this facility.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Anchor Inn

Posted Apr 17, 2016
Pros: good central place for coast walk
nice bar and pub food. very welcoming. good central place for coast walk
4 out of 5
by Keith from Richmond upon Thames

Oldfashioned pub stay

Posted Apr 13, 2016 on Hotels
Very welcoming, really seemed to care if we were there, Old fashioned pub atmosphere, with a good locally sourced local beer. Much enjoyed sat beside a log fire. Breakfast cooked to order, not kept warm as in some places.
4 out of 5
by Cheryl from Clifton Beach, QLD

A Hidden Jewel

Posted Sep 17, 2015 on Hotels
The Anchor Inn is a hotel with a great atmosphere. We did not want to stay in "flash" hotels/resorts as you don't get to meet the "locals" which is something we wanted to do. This is exactly what we were able to do at the Anchor Inn, meet the "locals" and talk about various issues and have a good old fashioned talk with people with good values. Staff at the hotel are excellent, they cannot do enough for you, they are friendly and willing to help, and have a genuine "chat". Their hospitality on night one was a key factor in us staying for a second night. The rooms are clean and comfortable, the food is good, not expensive and the proportions are ample. The Anchor Inn is located in Hartland which is a jewel that is missed by most. If we get the opportunity - we will return and enjoy once more. Cheers
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NRW

Pub der mal gar nicht geht.

Posted Sep 11, 2015
Bis auf das man einen Koffer die enge Treppe heraufgetragen hat. Gibt es nichts positives über diese "unterkunft" zu berichten. Es stank die ganze Zeit und überall. Es war dazu enorm zugig und man war im unteren Bereich eingesperrt. Und kam nur über die Feuerschutztür auf die terasse nach draußen. Die Dame zum auschecken war nicht vor Ort und auch telefonisch nicht erreichbar. Kam über 30 min zu spät. Aufkeinenfall nochmal!!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 25, 2015
Staff were lovely. Room was clean. English breakfast was filling. Located in a beautiful area of Devon. Hotel just needs some TLC.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Simple but pleasant

Posted Aug 9, 2015
Although the corridors were due for a bit of refurbishment the room seemed to have been recently refreshed and was very clean and pleasant. Staff couldn't have been friendlier and the food was great. Good simple accommodation.