Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

nice quiet hotel

Posted May 30, 2016
Pros: Nice small hotel close to Exeter
Nice hotel in very quiet country location. Friendly and helpful staff. Pleasant and clean room with comfortable bed and good facilities. Excellent breakfast
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 15, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

16th Century English Experience!

Posted Oct 5, 2015
This hotel is a great place if you're after a typical English B&B experience. Brian the owner is very helpful and was very welcoming of our two sons (11 & 9) as were his staff.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from midlands

In countryside but within easy travel of Exeter

Posted Oct 4, 2015
Overnight stop.Excellent evening meal and great breakfast. Very relaxing.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Exeter

I was looking for a quiet place in the country

Posted Sep 9, 2015
Pros: The age of the hotel, the atmosphere, and the staff.
Cons: All though everything works, a new shower in the room we had was a bit old.
Location: We liked the fact that we could walk just half a mile to another local pub
I was looking for a quiet place in the country, but, not to far from everything, and this " The Barton Cross Hotel " fitted the bill, great food, nothing rushed, and nothing was to much trouble.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely place, fantastic service.

Posted Sep 1, 2015 on Hotels
We were wonderfully surprised. The breakfast was lovely and the entire atmosphere felt original and real.
5 out of 5
by Jamie from Rushden

An excellent stay in a quiet location

Posted Jul 27, 2015 on Hotels
The Hotel is a renovated 16th century building and is decorated throughout with the period in mind. It is situated along a small lane in a remote area which is very quiet and picturesque. The facilities are good, ample parking, wifi throughout and good sized rooms. However the area at which the hotel excels is customer service and the restaurant, both of which are exceptional. I would recommend this hotel to everyone!
5 out of 5
by Ian from Bisley, Glos

Perfect for us.

Posted Jul 21, 2015 on Hotels
Sixteenth century buildings tastefully restored in a country location, this met our requirements perfectly. The room was comfortable, clean and well equipped. The attractive bar offered a wide range of drinks and provided a very pleasant background to peruse the menu and sample the canapés. The choice of food in the equally attractive restaurant provided for all tastes and was very good quality. Dinner was at a fixed price. The attention to detail - canapés, cloth table napkins, proper fish knives, soup or sorbet between courses - made the meal even more enjoyable. Breakfast was excellent and nothing seemed to be too much trouble for the staff in attendance. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel but with one caution - although a family room is available I do not think the hotel is ideal for young children.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 6, 2015
Decoration is a little dated but very clean and tidy. Lovely food in the restaurant, vast wine and bar selection to choose from.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Österreich

Idyllisches altes Cottage

Posted Jun 19, 2015
Das Hotel ist sehr gemütlich altenglisch eingerichtet, es liegt etwas abseits, sehr ruhig. Die Küche ist hervorragend. Wir fühlten uns sehr wohl dort und sehr gut betreut.