Ratings based on 40 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lutterworth, Leicestershire

Unexpected luxury

Posted Dec 5, 2016
We were pleasantly surprised by the standard of our stay at The Cedars. Our room had recently been renovated and was done so with style and comfort in mind. The room was fitted out with everything you would expect. The only slight blip was the wifi signal didn't reach our room. We also thought that the breakfast was of a very good standard considering how much we paid for our stay. There was more than ample choice for all tastes. Overall, you won't be disappointed if you choose to stay here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean & comfortable

Posted Oct 22, 2016
Pros: Comfortable & clean
Cons: En suite was a little on the small side, nowhere much to put your toiletries during your stay
Location: Very conveniently located only a few minutes from the main route through & close to Barnstaple, with shops nearby.
The Cedars is a clean & comfortable hotel in an easy to find location only a few minutes from the main route through. It appears to be recently renovated & has all the facilities that you may need during your stay. The staff were very friendly & efficient & willing to help out. I would happily recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Penn

Lovely hotel with friendly helpful staff

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Pros: There is plenty of character and the staff were super.May be
Cons: The parking area by the accommodation was a little hap-hazard.
Location: We went to Woolacombe beach and Ilfrecombe which were lovely. The National trust's Arlington Court wasn't too far which is also well worth a visit.
The hotel is being redecorated at the moment and the rooms are looking fresh and tasteful in hues of grey. The restaurant is situated in the large conservatory which can be hot but is a lovely light area with a modern Victorian feel. The food was very good, especially the breakfast selection. The children's menu/meal deal was excellent value. The staff were all very helpful, pleasant and polite. We enjoyed our long weekend there very much and would go back again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from SOUTH WALES

PLEASANT COMFORTABLE ATMOSPHERE

Posted Jan 12, 2016
Pros: RELAXING ATMOSPHERE , GOOD FOOD AND PLEASANT AND HELPFUL STAFF
Cons: CAN'T THINK OF ANYTHING OF IMPORTANCEN
Location: NO RELEVANT DURING THIS VISIT
MET A NUMBER OF RELATIVES AND FRIENDS WHO WERE ATTENDING A FUNERAL, AS WE WERE ON MONAY MORNING, JAN 11TH L
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Abingdon UK

Well placed hotel for a short stay

Posted Dec 29, 2015
Pros: Plenty of hot water at high pressure for shower. Excellent and good value food for both breakfast and dinner. Very attentive staff. Easy to find.
Cons: Rooms were a bit chilly for my wife. Bath and basin cleaning could have been more thorough. TV reception not great.
Location: Easy to find from Barnstaple ring road, and on main bus route between Westward Ho / Bideford and Barnstaple / Ilfracombe. 5 mins car from Barnstaple.
Booked via Expedia for an overnight whilst visiting daughter nearby. Very attractive room rate so close to Christmas, and generally well satisfied by the facilities and the service received for the price paid. The food was definitely the highlight with an excellent breakfast and very good value evening meal served in the vast conservatory.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hampshire

Comfy and ease of access

Posted Nov 12, 2015
The Hotel, whilst on a main road, which was good for getting there, it also has a long drive and gardens.so there is no problem with the traffic noise. Staff very friendly and helpful. Room was clean and big, with all requirements. large restaurant and bar area, food very good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Swindon

good location hotel

Posted Nov 2, 2015
Pros: had to move date; the manager was very accommodating and helpful
Location: Golf at Saunton
Used for golf break at Saunton; good location and nice friendly hotel
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Olympia, WA. USA

Decieved

Posted Oct 21, 2015
Pros: Nothing!
Cons: The furnishings, the cleanliness, the staff, and the restaurant at the Hotel BETTER REFUND POLICY AT EXPEDIA!
Location: did not stay in Barnstaple. We went on to Ilfracombe 20 minutes to the north. Very nice harbor area.
Not a nice place! rooms are small dark and furnishings are worn. we arrived at 8PM, checked in and immediatly went to the resturant to eat. Both my wife and I ordered off the menu and were told later that they were out of both items! We went to our room and began to unpack when my wife noticed the condition of the bathroom. the shower appeared to have mold and the toilet had hairs in the inside! We packed our things and when i asked for a refund was told "It was booked on Expedia and hence cannot be refunded" I was also told the 60 pound hold placed on my credit card for incidentals would take 5 days to be credited! Do yourself a favor and stay elsewhere. we were very lucky to find a room-albiet much more expensive- at that hour. we stayed at The Barstable Hotel and it was great.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cotswolds

Nice Hotel

Posted Oct 18, 2015
Cons: the outside area, around the rooms could be improved.
Location: short drive from town centre and places like Bideford, Westward HO & Clovelly
Only stayed one night, food excellent, room was perfect.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Nice stay at Cedars Inn

Posted Aug 13, 2015
Lovely hotel and grounds. Food was good with great choice. Staff friendly. Room was nice, but the bed was super uncomfortable.