Ratings based on 30 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from stourbridge

Nice hotel but ....

Posted Nov 21, 2016
The City Gate is a city centre pub with 15 rooms. The rooms are well decorated but beware on cold days. There is no cenursling heating just air conditioner blowers and they just don't cut the mustard. Also some window panes are loose so draughts. The pub is nice enough and the limited menu palatable. Dan the manager is a great fellow.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Friendly, comfortable stay

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Location: Exeter's a beautiful city
Friendly staff, comfortable king size bed in our double room. Great cooked breakfast. A bit short-staffed. In need of a refurb, which we gathered is happening in the next few weeks. Would definitely book again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Devon

Good location, friendly staff, clean room

Posted Sep 3, 2016
We booked the City Gate due to location. We had no prior expectations. First impressions, from the outside, it does look tired. We went to reception upon arrival and staff were friendly, welcoming and helpful. We were shown to our room and were pleasantly surprised. Yes, decor needed as tidy up in places, however the room was light, airy and clean. Bed was firm with good quality pillows. It is not a luxury hotel, but had everything we needed and it was a good base for our trip to Exeter. We would stay again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Central location, bit noisy, comfy bed

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Place needs renovation but don't let that put you off. If all you need is a comfy bed and a well equipped bathroom, it's great. If you're after luxury, then perhaps not the hotel for you. Slightly noisy due to single glazed windows and situated on busy road but nothing that kept us awake
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts

Close to train station and to Exeter Cathederal

Posted Oct 15, 2015
Pros: Convenient, staff friendly and helpful.
Cons: not much
Location: We walked to Cathedral and then to quay. Close to Roman walls.
Easy welcome...gave us city maps, good supper and breakfast. Staff very helpful storing luggage whilst we toured city.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from B

Great value, centre of town hotel

Posted Jul 15, 2015
Very helpful staff, comfortable room and excellent breakfast. Good value hotel, no frills but no complaints
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ashford, kent

Great location

Posted Jul 10, 2015
Bed was large and very comfy, it was quiet and the shower was also good, which pretty much hits all my requirements! The location was great, and staff welcoming. Had everything we needed. Small thing but the tea/coffee and toiletries weren't replaced (but we didn't ask for then, I'm sure they would have been.)
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 4, 2015
Very convenient and great to be able to relax in the bar after a very long journey. Everything good but a lift would be excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from York, UK

Nice Hotel, Nice staff

Posted Jun 25, 2015
Pros: Good healthy breakfast. Nice staff. Clean room. Regular supply of toiletries. Clean towels. Spacious room. Easy access.
Cons: Reduce regularity of changing towels to those placed in bath. More attention to making beds & bath floor. No need to replace shower & shampoo gels
Location: Near the city centre. Easy access to required super stores, book shops, pharmacies, market place, and 99p shop. Also, the hotel is part of a pub.
Initial impressions were not great. My first observation was that the hotel was part of a terraced building very close to the road. The bath floor had bits of hair on it. The shower and shampoo gels were half finished - fine for a remaining guest but not okay for a guest just arriving to take up residence. The coffee & tea mugs were unclean. However, everything was better moving on from those first observations. My entire stay (6 nights) was made excellent by positive interactions with the professional and courteous staff. The hotel rooms are adequately spaced, so not too much next door neighbour noise. The room was spacious with plenty of storage place. Daily cleaning of rooms. There was daily supply of tea, coffee and hot chocolate sachets, and the brown and white sugar to go with them, as well as UHT milk. Also, there was regular supply of toiletries. There was a working TV with Freeview channels although they were limited due to range. Although located on the road sleep came easily. Hotel staff were very nice and cheerfully accommodated my non-standard breakfast choice which was made out of a compilation of bits from the different breakfast recipes. They were also very helpful with my heavy luggage which needed to be taken up the stairs to my room, as there was no lift. The hotel was ideally located within easy reach of amenities including the city centre with popular superstores and pharmacies and market place. Great place to stay. I would recommend it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Posted May 3, 2015
Pros: Friendly, helpful staff, good food and drink available on site, very comfortable room. And a courtyard with a nearly 2000-year old Roman wall!
Cons: If you are on the second floor, the stairs can wear you out. A lift would be a nice improvement.
Location: Great location, near city centre and major tourist sites such as the cathedral and the Royal Albert Museum.
We stayed there for several days while visiting family history sites and tourist attractions. Very comfortable, well-located hotel.