Ratings based on 12 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 23, 2016
We received a warm welcome on arrival. The room was warm clean and comfortable and the breakfast was excellent
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay with friendly staff

Posted Oct 14, 2016
Excellent place to stay for visiting the Dart area Hi
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dorset

Posted Oct 9, 2016
Pros: Village pub atmosphere was great, excellent food and helpful staff throughout. Welcome for the dog was great.
Cons: I prefer carpet in the bedroom but not the ensuite bathroom. We had our dog with us and her muddy paws were a challenge.
Location: National Trust venues, Dartmoor and the Devon Riviera
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oxford

country pub hotel

Posted Jul 3, 2016
It's a small country pub hotel in a lovely farming village near Totnes, with three bedrooms upstairs. Check-in took a long time because the receptionist doubled up as a busy bartender. Popular with the locals, which can make for a less than peaceful evening environment. (We had dinner elsewhere.) Customers smoking outside the bar just below our room meant we couldn't leave the window open. The outside door to the staircase leading to the guest rooms slammed noisily every time guests or staff entered. The bed was comfortable and relaxing but the overall decor seemed tired and the bathroom fixtures reminiscent of the 1980s (electric Mira shower, etc). No hand soap was provided. We had booked a double room on Expedia, but somehow this seemed in the end to register only one occupant. When I noticed this a few days in advance I telephoned the hotel to alert them to the double occupancy, which they said was fine. Upon arrival I was told we had to pay an extra £20 to accommodate the second guest. Breakfast included, but limited to "full English" plus toast and a small choice of cereals - again, rather 1980s and a little lacking in imagination.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Bristol

Quiet country pub

Posted May 31, 2016
Pros: In quiet village, friendly staff, spacious room and comfortable beds.
Cons: Bath and shower was adequate but could be updated
Location: Good location, near Dartmouth, Totnes
Only stayed 1 night , very comfortable and delicious freshly cooked breakfast
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from gloucestershire

Lovely friendly relaxing small village pub

Posted Aug 10, 2015
Pros: Everything!
Cons: The room we were in was immaculate but was slightly damp and smelt of damp.
Location: A quiet escape but close enough to the main towns.
We stayed for two nights, absolutely loved the whole experience. From the food to the staff it was perfect for a romantic getaway. The room was immaculate, the bed was so comfortable it was difficult to get out to go for the breakfast that was cooked to order, the housekeeper, was so friendly when she took our breakfast order we wanted to bring her home with us. The rest of the staff were equally welcoming and friendly, the pub itself was the centre of the village, the food they served was far from pub grub, it was beyond our expectations. So fresh and beautifully presented.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice place!

Posted May 26, 2015
The place is amazing, in the middle of the nature, very peaceful. The room was clean and the bed comfortable. The food served in the pub was very good! Also the breakfast was great!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Gill from tweed valley nsw

A quaint building in a picturesque location.

Posted Aug 25, 2013
Location: We really enjoyed the market in Totnes but the town of Dartmouth was our favorite.
The staff at the hotel were very welcoming and helpful. We went out to visit relatives and a light was left on for us for when we got back.....very thoughtful.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ooops, so much expected but very dissappontede

Posted Jul 17, 2013
Pros: Its location
Cons: Failed to live up to my expectation
Location: Situated in a very pretty village in the heart of rural Devon
Needs updating and less of a mean attitude. For instance - watering down the liquid soap so it doesn't lather ! The owner is very pleasant and friendly, but attention to detail is required.The ashtray outside the door wasn't emptied in the 2 days we were there and there was a box on a table in the breakfast room which never moved. Little things , but a generally unkempt , tired feel about the place.I suppose the most aggravating thing was that the double bed in our room was only a 4 feet wide three quarter bed and made sleeping difficult on the two very warm nights we stayed there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sharon from Wiltshire, UK

A wonderful find & a true pleasure.

Posted Jun 26, 2013
Pros: Friendly welcome, service & beautifully decorated room.
Cons: Only one thing, need a kettle in each room.
Location: Beautiful & oh so peaceful.
Enjoyed a fabulous night at this 18th century Coaching Inn. The room was spotlessly clean, very traditional in its theme and the welcome and service was second to none. If you are looking for something special at a very affordable price in a beautiful quiet village, I can highly recommend this place. I don't very often go back to the same hotel, always like to try something different, but this place I would certainly return to.