Ratings based on 33 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by Richard from Girton

Wil always recommend

Posted Feb 22, 2016 on Hotels
Stayed here before. its a very comfortable country pub style venue. Somewhat ageing but then that's its charm. All staff are extremely friendly and any downfalls are made up by that and the food
5 out of 5
by Edward from Poole

Stay with character!

Posted Jan 20, 2016 on Hotels
This was our second stay here. Enjoyed it just as much this time round. Real country atmosphere.
5 out of 5
by Markus from Brigg

Visiting family

Posted Nov 17, 2015 on Hotels
Very nice place and breakfast was great!!
5 out of 5
by Leon from Lincoln

Good place very traditional

Posted Nov 13, 2015 on Hotels
This is a very welcoming place to stay and makes you feel part of a family when away with business. The food is excellent and all home cooked. If I was being critical I would say that the rooms are very traditional and would benefit from some updating but it certainly did not detract from an otherwise pleasant stay. I would happily bring my wife here for a holiday.
4 out of 5
by Edward from Bournemouth

Weekend Break-a-way

Posted Sep 21, 2015 on Hotels
Very homely place to stay. Hotel accommodation decor was very 70's but spotlessly clean and comfortable. Bed was comfortable, room was spacious with en-suite that had both a bath and shower. Breakfast was the best we have ever had with the most perfect poached eggs. There was plenty to keep you going through a busy day. Staff were on hand at all times to make sure that guests had everything that they needed. We ate dinner there as well. Food was locally sourced, of excellent quality and not overpriced. We were made to feel most welcome. Would definitely stay again should we be in the area. Stunning views and moors just seconds away.
4 out of 5
by Derek from Worcester

Would stay ther again

Posted Sep 19, 2015 on Hotels
Very pleasant family business who, genuinely welcomed their guests.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hampshire

Throwback to the fifties!

Posted Sep 19, 2015
Pros: The location was good and the staff were very friendly and helpful. We had dinner in the evening and breakfast the next morning and the food was good
Cons: The dining room had sticky fly paper hanging from the window with lots of dead flies attached to it!! That should be removed.
Location: Great location with lovely scenery.
Think the inn drastically needs re decorating and modernising, the room we stayed in was very dated (room 3) and had a "musty" smell to it. The en -suite had a revolting salmon pink plastic bath, hand basin and loo with carpet on the floor! There was a gap between the bath and the bath panel and the towels were hard and dark pink colour. The bed was king size but had horrible bed linen, the likes of which I have never seen before - again dark pink but it was very " tired" and old fashionned. The furniture was dark wood, making the room very dark and dingy.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 16, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 15, 2015 on Hotels
The staff are lovely, bar food good and breakfast excellent. The location is perfect for Dartmoor, wandering about Devon and stopping over on the way to and from Cornwall. However, the single room annexed to the hotel was lousy, with a shared bathroom across the landing, grubby floor, curtains falling off and no bedside light-switch.
3 out of 5
by Steve from Manchester

Friendly & Helpful

Posted Aug 21, 2015 on Hotels
The staff were very friendly and helpful. Decor particularly in the rooms is a little tired. Good menu, middle of no where so you need a car. Good value for money though