Ratings based on 44 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from b

Great local hotel

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Some of the fixtures maybe a little dated but well thought out updates have been made e.g. USB plug sockets. The place is spotlessly clean. We had dinner and breakfast. The food and service are outstanding. I would definitely stay here again. Thank you for looking after us beautifully.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newport

Five star service

Posted May 13, 2017
If you want a 5 star hotel this isn't for you but if you want a very friendly, comfortable and homely place then you have it here. Frank Sue Dave and the team make it a place you want to go back to again and again as we have over the last 35 years. Good food, clean rooms and personal service are the order of the day with good conversation thrown in for good measure. Will certainly go again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Birmingham

Good food, friendly staff.

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Pros: Good food and nice staff.
Cons: The hotel bedroom we stayed in would benefit from redecoration.
Location: We only stayed overnight, but the hotel was close to Lydford gorge which is well worth a visit, and it appears well located for a walk on the moors!
We spent one night at The Fox and Hounds on route to a week in Cornwall, the hotel food in the evening was home cooked and lovely, and the breakfast was excellent. We found the staff friendly and attentive. Although the room we stayed in was in need of updating we couldn't fault how clean it was.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wales

Very friendly and hospitable.

Posted Jan 7, 2017
Pros: Loads of character, very clean, breakfast was top notch, excellent food I have already recommended this hotel to several of my family and friends.
Cons: Rooms need a bit of updating.
Location: Ideal for walkers as the moors are just behind but located on an A road so easy access.
Enjoyed my stay here as a lone female traveller I was made to feel very welcome and service was better than in any 5 star hotel highly recommended.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Dartmoor

Posted Oct 30, 2016
room very good helpful staff excellent evening meal and an excellent breakfast
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 11, 2016 on Hotels
I will go again loved it host110%
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location was central if you have a car.

Posted Sep 25, 2016
Pros: Character and good value for money
Cons: Shower
Location: Central for visiting many places on Dartmoor.
Staff were friendly and evening meal was excellent.
4 out of 5
by Gary

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 13, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Jon

Thank you!

Posted Jun 21, 2016 on Hotels
Whilst a little old fashioned it was warm and friendly. Beautiful views back and front. Great staff and food. Thank you!
5 out of 5
by Fiona

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 28, 2016 on Hotels