Ratings based on 520 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to the beach!

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Breakfast was disappointing and the rooms are a bit dated but the hotel itself is lovely with such a relaxing vibe! Very enjoyable!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Great location needs update inside

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Pros: The staff and efficiency
Cons: Definitely needs a refurb in bedrooms and the wall paper was coming off in the bar area and else where
Location: Great location this other than the staff was what really contributed to having a wonderful stay , beautiful walks near the harbour and transport i
We changed and updated our room as the first one was just not going to work , our second was a lot better but still needs new furniture, bigger bed , and a bigger TV the one we had was ridiculously small and the balcony had plastic chairs .however , very clean and the grand should be proud of all their staff,the breakfast had a great selection, and views were spectacular at times , great location railway station right beside you ( doesn't interfere noise wise and quite pleasant on the eye) bus stop over the road , or you are given parking spots ,we used the inside pool and jacuzzi, was no problem but do wonder what it would be like high season , overall we enjoyed our stay due to the staff s attention and location, but the grand needs to update,on bigger beds tv and attention to old wall paper and paint work , but a big thankyou to all who made our stay enjoyable
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A welcoming & friendly hotel. Staff well trained i

Posted Feb 10, 2017
Pros: Staff,convenience , peace and total relaxation
Cons: Difficult,as it is a listed building.
Location: The riviera is that something special for a British seaside resort .
As always treated with the upmost curtesy and respect for guests.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Birmjngham

Posted Feb 3, 2017
Spend three nights and really enjoyed it. Staff was ever so helpful. Great hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from wales

Needs to be tweaked

Posted Jan 30, 2017
No Hairdryer in the room and then had to contact reception twice and then waited for about 50 mins for hairdryer to arrive. Breakfast was a total shambles Not enough staff in Restaurant and very very badly managed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bristol

Great location, excellent staff

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Booked because of leisure facilities and spa: I had one of the best massages I've ever had. Pool was pleasant. Staff were very friendly and work hard. Ate in the brasserie, food lovely and not too expensive, Our room was spacious but very hot and air con seemed faulty. With a small baby this made it uncomfortable and window could barely be opened. We were offered a different room but didn't want to move at 10pm so stuck it out and were given a reduced rate at checkout. Breakfast ordered to room was also a bit disappointing as items were missing, 'toast' was bread and two pots of coffee did not allow me to tell which was decaf. However when mentioned they also removed the service charge as compensation. Overall a very pleasant stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not as grand as they think!

Posted Jan 29, 2017
Very hot, grubby paintwork, some staff slow, awful mean overpriced sandwiches
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bristol

Lovely sea view room, beautiful hotel

Posted Jan 29, 2017
We stayed here for my wife's Birthday, it was lovely, hotel is stunning, food is great and the staff are very helpful. We booked a double room for me my wife and the baby the hotel receptionist said to us " if you find that your room is to small then we shall try move you to a larger room "which she did with no fuss upgrading us to a family room with no extra charge, rooms are old fashioned but they are very clean and well maintained, staff were always helpful if we needed anything and very welcoming, all in all the grand hotel was a lovely hotel to stay at and a good location being on the sea front and 15 minutes from the town center.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel in a wonderful position

Posted Jan 15, 2017
The Grand is a lovely hotel on the seafront with great transport links frequent bus service outside and opposite Torquay railway station. We stayed 3 nights in a double with sea view, the room was clean comfortable furniture a little shabby the bathroom was a let down very tired looking with a dreaded shower curtain I really hate those things, The reception area is beautiful with art deco lights and staff are very helpful,we ate in the brasserie on the 2nd night, there was other guests complaining about the length of time they had been waiting for food, we didn't wait that long but the food wasn't great had to send back lobster bisque it was revolting ,we ate out the next night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Falmouth

Fantastic service

Posted Jan 13, 2017
I had always wanted to stay at 'The Grand', having driven past it on many visits to Torbay. The hotel and its staff did not disappoint. The reception staff were extremely welcoming and in particular, Gayle, was so kind and accomodating. We were upgraded to a seafront room and felt very treated and special. The only minor, negative point was the watered down orange juice at breakfast - a shame corners had been cut.