Ratings based on 168 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Leeds, Yorks

This hotel is grand in name only.

Posted Sep 26, 2015
Pros: Dining room but dinner not available!
Location: Lovely seafront location.
The standard room was small, badly shaped with one small window. Even worse the window faced a solid concrete wall only 8/10 feet away. This made the room quite dark and airless. With bars at the window it would have made a good prison cell! This was the third room we were offered which we reluctantly accepted as we were told there were no upgrades available. Would not dream of returning.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Old building with character.

Posted Sep 21, 2015
Pros: Characteristic and good location.
Cons: Staff training and good record keeping to avoid double-booking, missed bookings and non-communication between staff.
Location: Near to Princess Theatre, near to beach and train station.
The staff were friendly but rather inefficient. They gaffed twice in our booking for tables in the restaurants. Overheard a major mix-up with double-booking of their famous Agatha Christie Suite. The hotel is characteristic of a building with nearly 100 years of history, but the interior carpeting and toilet finishing and mattresses need not be 30 years old and above! Needs interior upgrading.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Reading

An old friend between the station and the sea

Posted Sep 16, 2015
Pros: Great to have a balcony to sit out on. Indoor & outdoor pool warm & clean, bed cosy & comfortable, loved the Sunday night pianist in the lounge.
Cons: Connecting door to next room not soundproof, woken by snoring next door at 2am! Bar service for meals slow on Monday. balcony in need of a paint job!
Location: straight off the train & into hotel. 10 min walk to harbour, living coast zoo, shops along sea front. Great little café on the beach and rock pools!
Our 5th visit to this hotel it is like going home. Always worth the seaview room to watch the boats and the lights round the bay.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Definitely not a 4 star hotel

Posted Aug 24, 2015
The Grand hotel is old, tired and overpriced. All interior looks really tired and needs a refurbishment. Breakfast was included but the waiting time for a table and then for a hot drink was terrible. On the last day after we checked out we asked for our bags to be stored for us for a few hours. When we came back our luggage was missing... It took the staff 20 minutes to locate it...! 1 out of 5 for a good location if you travel by train.
3 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wembley

Nice beach very close to shops and activities.

Posted Aug 24, 2015
Lovely hotel I think the hotel should be a 3 star as it needs decorating and new gym equipment and the outside of the hotel needs painting. But the staff was friendly. The breakfast was not nice be better if it was freshly made. I did enjoy my stay there, they just need to make it a 4 star hotel by decorating
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from hampshire

Posted Aug 20, 2015
Pros: the staff were very very kind and helpful
Cons: the whole place needs decorating, balcony was dirty and the step down to it from the bedroom was very dangerous was well over 1ft deep, patio doors
Location: lovely view from hotel, and plenty to do in Torquay
very disappointing not at all what we expected, could not sleep as the room was far too hot
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Biddulph

Excellent hotel.

Posted Aug 16, 2015
Pros: Very comfortable and relaxing.
Cons: The executive double room was a bit small compared to other similar hotels we have stayed in before. When busy the breakfast was a bit hit and miss.
The hotel was perfectly positioned, check in was easy and the staff were very helpful. On entering the room we did think for an executive double the room was a bit on the small side, this didn't detract from the rest of the hotel and the facilities it provided. On the 1st night we ate in the 1881 restaurant which was very enjoyable and well priced. Overall we had a wonderful time and will not hesitate in returning in the future. The staff were very hospitable and very professional.
4 out of 5
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Arizona

An Aging Queen

Posted Aug 13, 2015
Pros: Location, bar area
Location: Cockington a must.
Very pleasant stay, delightful staff, eager to assist in any way.
3 out of 5
for Couples
by A verified traveler from West Midlands

Bedroom shocker

Posted Aug 11, 2015
Pros: The entrance hall and dining room.
Cons: Bed rooms updated, paint wallpaper & carpets. Breakfast hot!!!!
Location: Close to town centre and the sea, so plenty to do also close to the local bus stops.
Hotel room rather a let down, carpet almost down to the thread and wall paper ripped and peeling from walls. Breakfast cold and a long wait for eggs so breakfast stone cold.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Not a 4* star hotel

Posted Aug 9, 2015
Recently stayed, hotel requires serious investment. Accommodation areas tatty and run down, carpets threadbare, wallpaper peeling off. Staff warm and welcoming but that is about it. This is not a 4* hotel- pictures on line are very different to what you get- Richardson Hotel group, you must address the investment required to keep this hotel in the 'Grand' nature you advertise and stop using Agatha Christie connection to rip customers off, hotel not worth what you pay and will be asking for refund. If you are looking for 3* this is for you. Very disappointing!