Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Berlin

Sehr angenehme Atmosphäre

Posted Aug 27, 2016
Pros: der Service zum Frühstück und in der Bar
das Preis-Leistungsverhältnis ist in Ordnung ; angenehm ist, dass auch ein Gartenbereich nutzbar ist
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Warwickshire

Lovely, informal, relaxed, clean

Posted Jul 29, 2016
Pros: Location, bed, spacious room, breakfast
Cons: Bathroom was a little dated, but perfectly clean and usable!
Location: Boat to Brixham harbour for lunch was lovely Orange Tree restaurant was great walk to Meadfoot Bay is up and down hill but doable
Friendly arrival, lots of info, a short walk into town, clean and spacious room, great restaurant recommendation - The Orange Tree - and lovely hosting.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 5, 2015
We think the owners have probably been in the business a long tine and are now just going through the motions. We didn't feel any warmth or enthusiasm from them. Everything was adequate - but that was it -just adequate and no more.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Northumberland

Central but back enough from the hustle & bustle

Posted Aug 1, 2015
Pros: Position, central but back from hustle&bustle Lovely grounds around hotel Fab decor, breakfast, room & staff Off road parking Wifi
Cons: Everything we needed was catered for.....
Location: Central to Torquay, but back off main drag. 5 min walk to the hubbub, shops, restaurants, marina etc. Up a slight hill. Off road parking.
Stayed 1 night at Haytor Hotel whilst visiting an elderly relative in the area. It was a lovely place to stay after a long 10 hour journey through the night. Roger & Peter were welcoming from the start & the room was everything you could have wanted: delightful, comfortable with added touches. Good selection of wines in the bar, and a delicious hearty breakfast in the morning, served by a lovely friendly lady. Nothing too much trouble. Would revisit tomorrow & would gladly recommend Haytor Hotel. A bit of class.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nr Exeter

A most welcoming hotel.

Posted Jul 9, 2015
Pros: Everything. Just what we wanted for a short break in Torbay.
Cons: Just the quirky security device at the front door. If you were quick enough it was kind but it did absolutely nothing to diminish the our experience.
Location: There's so much to do in Torbay. And if you don't want to do much there's plenty of opportunity to do it! From Brixham to Babbacombe, its' all there.
Starting with a warm welcome our stay at Haytor didn't waver from excellent. Parking on site, pleasant well tended room, comfy bed, quiet bar, hearty breakfast and nothing was too much trouble. Easy walk into town centre, harbour area, plus plenty of nearby choices for dining out. Fawlty Towers might have been in Torquay but this was totally the other end of the scale.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Short break

Posted Jul 5, 2015
We came here for a short week break and we had a fantastic stay. The staff are friendly and welcoming and easily approachable. It is well situated with lovely furnished and very comfortable rooms. The only thing that could have improved it was for the room to have air conditioning especially for when it's hot at night but that is just a personal opinion. Thank you for such a wonderful stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very nice boutique hotel with friendly owners.

Posted Jul 1, 2015
Nice hotel close to the centre of Torquay and the Marina. The hotel is beautifully decorated with lots of nice little design touches. The owners and staff are very friendly and helpful.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Torquay

The modern world

Posted Jun 8, 2015
Whilst the hotel is nice and room comfortable there are some issues. Guests were being admonished for not sitting at the correct table for breakfast (uncomfortable embarrassment), TV reception was appalling and Internet signal patchy at best. At £150 per night we expected more.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from surrey

Last minute short break

Posted Jun 7, 2015
Pros: A lovely building and gardens. Well placed to walk to bars and restaurants. Parking was available which is always a good thing. Free wi fi.
Cons: A bit more space in the room and bathroom.
Location: Lots of lovely walks but also plenty of touristy things too. Enough to keep everyone busy whatever the weather.
We had a lovely short break the weather was great. Our room was a bit small with a double bed. We struggled a bit with the space as potentially tripping over our suitcases as we didn't want to unpack fully so needed access to cases. Overall we had no real problems.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from kings lynn

holiday

Posted Jun 5, 2015
Location: near to seafront and plenty of places to eat ,public transport is just down the seafront to lots of locations.
hotel is spot on ,staff will make you welcome , breakfast splendid .