Ratings based on 667 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Essex coast

Quiet old hotel with fantastic views.

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Pros: Sea views from room . Plenty of space.Impressive reception area,staircases and lounges. The hotel was quiet and relaxing. Food was good
Cons: Double glazed units failed in our room obscuring the view Peeling paint,loose masonary and water stains around the hotel. Some staff not that friendly
Location: Plenty good restuarants and bars in the town within walking distance. fishing and boat trips from harbour Plenty shopping in town. Good walks
Stayed for two nights in this impressive old hotel..Rooms on the front have wonderful views over Torquay bay. Food was good. Some staff not so friendly.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Pros: The Food
Cons: The decor is dated and good do with brightening up.
Location: Good location with a view of the bay from the bar and restaurant and within in easy reach of the ferry services
This hotel has excellent food..The restaurant service is very good. We were in a standard room which was comfortable.on the negative side our room had no thermostat control and our bathroom had a slight water leak from the ceiling which was promptly attended too.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Outdated Hotel which needs urgent TLC

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Booked a double room through Expedia and found a small outdated room which is worse than a travel lodge. Paid extra £40 a night on top of the double room booking bring the total cost to approx £140 which was worth to get out of the claustrophobic room and have a bit of space and balcony but still the room was outdated with not even a fridge. I heard the hotel is going to get a renovation soon which is a must needed TLC for a good establishment. Staff and location is excellent and only reason which wins a 3 star ( and reason for marking will recommend) After the charges you are also expected to pay £7 per night for parking which is designed really badly and also need a good look as there is so much potential. For the price range this hotel standards needs to raise the bar a lot. Food was ok but you are better off walking down to get better choice and variety.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from B

room not clean

Posted Apr 7, 2017
I had a very bad experience room not clean no towels no toiletries shower not working in the bed lot of itching I don't no what was in Bed could not sleep all night at the reception they were very nice staff at breakfast were very rude sorry I a can not say much more the only I can say is train your staff to be very helpful to the guests and help them as some of them are disabled they can walk about so they need help. I hope you understand what I mean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Malvern

Pleasant weekend but eat out.

Posted Mar 29, 2017
Pros: Room and view.
Cons: Dinner. Car park access and charges.
Location: Excellent and lots of eating options nearby.
Room and view were excellent but dinner was indifferent.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, Canada

Family Weding in Torquay March 2017

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Pros: Lovely view form hotel room
Cons: This really was Fawlty Towers. List of positives very limited compared to negatives
1. No bellboy or help to unload vehicle (one wheelchair, one walker, 2 suitcases) 2. Room had not been cleaned due to previous guests wanting to change room and Housekeeping not being notified there was a change. Dirty towel, used soap bar etc 3. Room temperature very hot - centrally controlled, no ability to regulate temperature in room. 2 fans brought to the room and helped minimally 4. Safe broken handle and did not work 5. Located 2 doors from event room with blaring music til midnight and event ending at 1am - 2 nights in a row 6. Internet down for 2 days None of this was advised at check in Also other guests in the party: A. - TV did not wok - room 233 B. - shower did not work for one of the bridesmaids who nearly passed out from paint fumes form the bathroom having just been repainted C. Numerous other guests were complaining To add insult to injury, check out took 25 mins with a long line up as only 2 front desk personnel were on duty. Very dated, stale old dysfunctional hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

we enjoyed our stay at the imperial very much.

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Pros: very clean and tidy but this was only to be expected thanks for a lovely stay
Cons: no nothing I/we could suggest
Location: unfortunately their was not a lot going on nearby only to be expected for this time of year really.
the hotel imperial was very nice but we felt that our room was a bit to warm for us we had to keep opening our doors on the balcony but otherwise very nice stay..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from somerset

Great view, close to town but quiet hotel

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Pros: Great location, views, breakfast, pool and massage.
Cons: Our room was too hot had to open the balcony door at night.
Location: Short 5 minute walk to the shops, bars etc.
Easy to find, easy parking, great room with balcony and beautiful view of the bay. Great breakfast again with a sea view. Enjoyed a knot releasing prober massage.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Weekend in Devon

Posted Mar 7, 2017
Pros: Everything, the sea views from our room, the cleanliness of the whole place, the care given by all.
Cons: The bar menu was slightly restricted for those who wanted a light lunch, however the quality was very high.
Location: The hotel was central to the town although there was a rather large hill to climb. There were several resting places though and the views worth walk.
A fantastic experience. Staffed with friendly helpful staff. The wedding reception, provided by the Imperial was great with every small detail covered. We had no expectation and had real 'feel good' time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Basingstoke, UK

The best way to chillax

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Spent 2 nights at the imperial for some R&R...and it was just the job, glorious views and great facilities... I'll be back....