Ratings based on 24 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 23, 2016
Lovely stay, very attentive owners, great breakfast
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Wonderful hotel

Posted Aug 31, 2015
Pros: The decor and cleanliness of the suite was outstanding. The breakfast buffet (which included a complmentary upgrade to a hot breakfast) was amazing.
Cons: Nothing
Location: The hotel is located about a 10 minute walk from the town which may affect some people as there are some uphill walking involved.
When we arrived at the hotel we were slightly stressed due to the grid-lock in Torquay and the sat nav/my inability to find the hotel. Upon arrival we were met by Gary who was extremely pleasant and gave us coffee in the lounge before we even checked-in (wonderful touch). We were then shown to our room (suite 21) which was simply stunning. In the room was a small, complimentary decanter of port (another wonderful touch). The staff were warm and friendly and as an experieced traveller I would recommend this hotel unreservedly
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Warwickshire

Very friendly and accomodating staff.

Posted Jul 20, 2015
Quiet location in easy reach of town, harbour and beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Taunton, Somerset

Very clean hotel, friendly family run.

Posted Jun 8, 2015
Pros: Friendly, very clean. Fresh milk and water in fridge was nice touch. Quiet
Cons: Nothing much really, I probably would request a bath next time as we only had a shower but that was my own fault.
Location: Not far from town or Meadfoot bay beach. Plenty to do in Torquay, lots of shops, bars and restaurants,
We were given a very warm welcome and offered tea/coffee on arrival. Room was spotlessly clean. Excellent choice of breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nottm

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Welcome cup of tea on arrival after long drive,made to feel very welcome,this is the second time we have stopped in this hotel and would certainly stop here again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Excellent B & B.

Posted Nov 1, 2014
Pros: Owner very helpful with a personal touch that is missing from large hotels.
Cons: Lighting and shades in room required expanation
Breakfast is a special treat and evening bar is cosy and appealing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

A Lesson Hard Learned !

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Pros: The staff and the location. The hospitality of the owners and their genuine approach was excellent.
Cons: Bed was average - too narrow and uncomfortable.
Location: Location was fine. A hilly walk into town and back.
We arrived at Meadfoot Bay Hotel after a long drive to be welcomed to a beautiful lounge area and a freshly made coffee and tea. This made for an impressive start. Unfortunately, the bedroom was just the opposite, far too small for our requirements. In fairness, this was due to a misunderstanding on our part when we booked with Expedia. The hotel showed real concern and did what they could to try and rectify the situation. Unfortunately, due to heavy bookings, we had to make do. Room itself would have been fine for a single bed, not a double (and a narrow double at that) and was located under a stairwell ! Once suitcases were on the floor there was literally no room to move. This hotel is run by a family and they are very hospitable and easy to deal with. The breakfast was phenomenal - so much choice and so fresh. The lesson from this is, be sure about your room size when you book. We have travelled all over the UK and this was the smallest room we have ever encountered.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Clevedon, England

A little get away for the two of us.

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Pros: I honestly cannot say i disliked anything - only perhaps that breakfast finished too early..
Cons: extend breakfast-
Location: There is lots to do I the surrounding areas, however in the centre there are numerous pubs and restaurants, lots of shops and Ferry journeys.
Upon arrival we received a warm welcome, even though we arrived two hours early. The was not a problem, and were given the key so we could go off and and come back when we wanted. We were shown around. The rooms are of an excellent standard and are of good taste. with nice touches of a welcome tipple. Breakfast was a fantastic spread, in fact i found it hard to choose wanted i wanted from the buffet table and the full English was great. It was overall a lovely place, and we hope to go back very soon. Thank you Meadfoot Bay hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel

Posted Jun 14, 2014
Pros: Helpful staff and very good breakfasts in the mornings.
Meadfoot Bay Hotel was a very pleasent stay. The staff and owners were always helpful. We would use this hotel again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Good, quiet hotel

Posted May 31, 2014
Pros: Nearly everything
Cons: Very minor niggles, like no light over the vanity mirror
Location: 10 minute walk to the main part of town, and much quieter as a result. For me an advantage and not an inconvenience
Very enjoyable stay, and an excellent breakfast. The room was very clean and tidy, and the staff were very pleasant, without being too forward.