Ratings based on 19 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Caroline

Rural, great for walkers

Posted Feb 18, 2013 on Hotels
Small and friendly hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Consistently good

Posted Dec 9, 2012 on Hotels
Comfortable. Warm & friendly staff. Great restaurant. Excellent value.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Excellent

Posted Nov 19, 2012 on Hotels
Room was spotless. Bed comfortable. Very quiet location...could hear owls hooting which was nice. Staff were super friendly and helpful. Can't fault the place really.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

stunning moorland views

Posted Sep 25, 2012 on Hotels
Very friendly staff and so helpful, meals were very reasonable and delicious.We will be backxx
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Review

Posted Jun 18, 2012
Pros: Nice shower & food. Pleasant relaxed atmosphere & friendly staff.
Cons: Nothing really.
Location: The hotel is well situated for reaching the tors in this area of Dartmoor and this was our motive for coming.
Comfortable room although rather bland - nothing on the walls except pattened paper. Shower & en suite facilities very good. Comfy large bed. Hotel meals very good and good value, drinks rather pricey but probably what you'd expect in a hotel - there was no pub nearby.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Alan

Fantastic 5 mile view to Plymouth

Posted May 30, 2012 on Hotels
Great hotel, even had a little patio with table and chairs. We had a problem with the steaks being over cooked but it was resolved without fuss. The staff are very friendly and a credit to the hotel. We were very lucky and stayed friday night when the weather was the hottest may day so far (date of stay 26th May 2012). Ignore the sat nav (garmin maps up to date) it took us through some very narrow roads when it could have stayed on the main road when arriving from the Tavistock road from Plymouth.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Ausgasse, 68307 Mannheim, Deutschland

Immer wieder

Posted Apr 25, 2012
Pros: Ein sehr schönes Hotel mit super Aussicht.
Location: Ruhig mit super Aussicht.
Das Hotel war sehr schön, das Zimmer war sauber und gemütlich eingerichtet. Das Personal war sehr nett und das Essen war ausgezeichnet. Das Hotel ist ziemlich schwer zu finden aber es lohnt sich es zu suchen. Die Aussicht ist einmalig und wunderschön. Wir werden immer wieder gerne dahin fahren.
2 out of 5
by Allan from Lincolnshire, U,K.

overall opinion

Posted Mar 18, 2012
Pros: meals o,k.
Cons: overall ambience
Location: room 9
Blocked toilet on arrival, Partition wall at rear of bed noise coming from adjoining room headboard banging against wall, patio doors very dirty, fire door light passing through badly fitted, bathroom door on inside very poor. Room number 9 second floor. Waitress very rude when my wife asked for something at breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from poole , dorset

the moorland a hidden gem

Posted Apr 1, 2011 on Hotels
we arrived to a view of the moors from our bedroom window as the moors stated accross the road from the hotel. the staff are sooo friendly great beer and the steaks are superb and very reasonable. for the price ( via hotels .com ) of a travel lodge yo get a real freindly welcome in a comfortable hotel. full freeview on tele in room a bonus. WE WILL STAY AGAIN.