Ratings based on 33 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No sleep

Posted Jul 15, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Location: See above
You would think with its isolated location it would be peaceful, oh no. The house next door have a pack of dogs which are left outside at night and continually bark, all night. I had no sleep at all. I had to put the TV on to drown out the barking but I had to put the volume on so high it kept me awake. When I complained in the morning I was told the house is actually the hotel managers house. For me, this makes it even worse. They must be able to hear the barking! Do they not think it will be disturbing their paying guests? This is a total lack of respect for guests paying good money for a good nights sleep. I asked if the manager could give me a call to discuss and left my details with the lady on reception and, guess what? Yep, you guessed it, no call. Pathetic.
5 out of 5
by Anton

Posted Nov 24, 2015 on Hotels
Located on South Dartmoor with fantastic views, we had a nice welcome. Check in was quick and efficient. Our rooms were well decorated and had all the amenities one would expect from a hotel with this classification. We had dinner in the restaurant (advanced reservation recommended). The food is obviously cooked to order and delicious. The meals were definitely something to take time to savour over. The cooked breakfast was the same. All in all a great stay, thank you!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from France

superb views (normally)

Posted Nov 9, 2015
Pros: Staff and atmosphere
Cons: number of guests restricts restaurant ours but I would like to have been able to east later than 8:30pm
Location: You have the wonders of Dartmoor in one direction, Plymouth in another and the South Hams in another.
Having stayed here before I knew what to expect. It is after all a small privately run hotel on the edge of Dartmoor,and has all the charm and views you would expect. This time the weather was foul and seeing acros the car park was the lmit of the view, but even then the hotel has a friendly way of making you feel comfortable. Being a single traveller I expect a smaller room and just wish it wasn't always so much smaller.
5 out of 5
by Ross

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 6, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Tucked out of sight

Posted Oct 25, 2015 on Hotels
Comfortable and very clean room and hotel. Near to city of Plymouth yet tucked on edge of moor so transport needed. Staff were friendly and knowledgeable. Happy to stay again.
1 out of 5
by paul from UK

Dont expect much & you'll be happy.

Posted Sep 21, 2015 on Hotels
3 night business trip, cheapest in area which did fit the criteria, however didnt measure up to www claims. Wifi almost useless - so end of day office work was impossible. Breakfast - cold bacon & sausage first day, so dared eggs only next 2 days. Some electrics not working in room, old place, very dusty room. Clean sheets & towels. Never saw anyone in restaurant on an evening, wouldnt eat there. Plymouth approx 8 miles.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hayling Island

Great views

Posted Aug 27, 2015
Pros: Most things.
Cons: Nicely equiped bathroom, but not too well put together, evrything squeeks, and toilet poorly positioned.
Location: N/A
Pleasant, friendly, clean. Only stayed one night, but woul use it for a longer stay.
4 out of 5
by Sue from Croydon

overall good stay

Posted Aug 25, 2015 on Hotels
room was comfy and clean ,nicely decorated but the wallpaper was coming off in places.fantastic views lovely peaceful location ,nice bathroom but a little compact. Patio doors and room door could have done with adjusting, there were a lot of signs saying shh after 10pm, the only noise we heard which kept my husband awake was the banging of the doors because it was impossible to shut them quietly.over all I did enjoy my stay and i would visit again.
5 out of 5
by Neil from Southampton

Posted Aug 24, 2015 on Hotels
Lovely hotel and location. Be aware using sat nav as took me through some very narrow lanes.
5 out of 5
by Lee

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 19, 2015 on Hotels