Ratings based on 91 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rdedditch

Lovely guesthouse - with brilliant service.

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Pros: convenient to all local amenties / very easy to find. Great breakfast / lovely hosts
Location: about 5 minute walk from the seafront / pier / harbour / shops etc.
We stayed for a weekend for a wedding. From the minute we arrived late on Friday evening, the ladies couldn't do enough for us, from moving cars so we could park off road to making bacon & sausage sandwiches for my teenage son who didn't want a full English breakfast. The breakfast was amazing - my husband rated it as the best he had tasted in a long time and plenty to choose from. The only thing I would say as the guesthouse is a traditional Victorian style house if you have issues with stairs you would need to ask for first floor rooms - we were at the very top of the house which was a bit of a climb. The rooms were clean, bed is comfy and theres plenty of storage / great bathroom facilities, The complimentary bathroom goodies were of a high standard. The ladies has lots of local knowledge if you needed to know anything and there was a great guide book in the room with details of lots of local attractions with honest reviews on local eateries which was refreshing. Overall we had a great weekend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bristol, UK

Lovely hotel, close to friends wedding destination

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Attentive staff, good location for the propose of our trip, generally a good experience. hotel room was clean, breakfast was lovely- offers a good selection of breakfast foods
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A good B&B

Posted Jun 26, 2016
A good small B&B. The room and Breakfast were good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Attitude makes a world of difference.

Posted Jun 16, 2016
Pros: The owners were wonderful and very helpful tour guides. The breakfasts were full English breakfasts, cooked to order. The room was very clean.
Cons: The only things that could be improved might be improvements to the facilities, such as the Wi-fi or lighting.
Location: It is centrally located & the ocean is only a few blocks away. There are ferry rides, steam train rides, and various estates and gardens to visit.
We booked at the Norwood at the last moment because our trip to France was ruined by the terror alerts, the strikes, the flooding and the football riots. Our room at the Norwood was a little crowded for us. The bed was a bit smaller than we envisioned, but it was very comfortable. There was no elevator, but Tom was very helpful and carried our bags upstairs. I don't think there was any air conditioning, although its near the ocean and I doubt you'd ever need it. The building was older, and although the toilet made odd noises and the electric plugs weren't where I'd expect them, I just figured that I'd made a lot of odd noises at toilets over the years, and turn about was fair play - - and I just dealt with the electric plug location by taking the picture from in front of it and putting it aside to charge up the phone.
5 out of 5
by Shannon from Seattle

Wonderful staff made all the difference

Posted Jun 9, 2016 on Hotels
Stayed for two nights with three people in a cozy top-floor room of Norwood House. It's a steep four flight stair climb but the staff insisted on helping with our bags. There was a very nice view from the top. The room was clean and stocked with tea and biscuits, the beds were exceptionally comfortable, the shower was great. We had a bit of trouble connecting to wifi upon arrival but it was rectified immediately. Could not ask for more! Breakfast was very good and Mary and Veronica went out of their way to welcome us in every way. They recommended a great place for cream tea and gave us discount coupons for attractions. I would stay here again any time!
5 out of 5
by Helen L from Worcester

Best ever Hotel!

Posted May 25, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely hotel, so friendly and nothing was too much trouble! Really welcoming and dog friendly, our little Dachshund got very spoilt! Fantastic breakfast, the choice and quality was exceptional, we really look forward to returning and will be highly recommending to everyone. Many thanks again to The Norwood x
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic Guest House

Posted May 23, 2016
The owners can not do enough for you. Food cooked as you like, weather forecast printed out each day, nice, clean rooms. Top quality.
5 out of 5
by Martin from Leeds

Torquay bowling

Posted Apr 19, 2016 on Hotels
Short stay didnt see much as in competions most of stay but what we saw was very nice.staff at hotel very friendly and helpfull would stay again if in area
5 out of 5
by Steve from Staffs.

5 star service

Posted Mar 29, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel is kept very nice. Our room was very clean with lovely fresh bedding and towels which are changed daily if required. Food is cooked very well with lots of choice and plenty of extra drinks and toast if needed. Finally the hospitality is second to none and nothing is too much trouble. Brilliant !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 6, 2016
Fab stay. Very well looked after. Thank you :) Great selection at breakfast and everywhere very clean.