Ratings based on 115 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
63% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from D

Very bad hotel

Posted Oct 6, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Decor , no wifi,no suitable for business travellers.
No wifi , very old dated decor,small and dated room. Very small and dark bathroom.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Close to Torquay city and coast

Posted Sep 3, 2016
Pros: location
Cons: everything
Location: Good spot to explore Devon and even plan Cornwall day-trips.
The best thing about the hotel is the location and the garden. Also quite OK buffet breakfast. Staff seem uninspired and some even rude. no minibar, no internet and no proper room service. Hotel desperately needs a facelift.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lancaster UK

A step back in time

Posted Aug 3, 2016
Cons: The wifi availability could be improved as could access for those less able to access the gardens and facilities due to disability.
The Palace is a wonderful venue. The facilities,although a little tired, are very good indeed. The staff are fabulous, always helpful, smiling and good at their jobs. The breakfasts are very nice too and the service is polite, friendly and helpful. The gardens and garden staff are lovely. It was a pleasure to stay at the Palace Hotel. A few drawbacks may be... the steps in the hotel for disabled guests, very little wifi ( some say that is a good thing!) and the distance from the centre of Torquay.. but these are minor issues. The hotel itself was wonderful. I thoroughly enjoyed the experience of a hotel which gives the feeling of the days when service and facilities were seen as a priority!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from g

Lovely looking hotel and well sotuated

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Lovely hotel building. Excellent facilities but the standard rooms look tired. I had problems with my tv which didn't work because j was told the arial on wrong side building took 2 days yo fort this and curtains coming off the rail and weren't able to be fixed at ends or close in middle, staff very polite but seemed short of staff
4 out of 5
by James from london

Dated but pleasant.

Posted Jul 18, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel is in need of updating. My gf visited 22 years ago and says it's almost exactly the same as when she was last there. It's very characterful though and easy to embrace it. The facilities are good - 2 pools, tennis courts, golf and beautiful garden views. No wifi anywhere except the ground floor?? No safe or minibar in the room in a 4* hotel?? Newspaper wasn't complimentary. Breakfast is nice. Decent selection and a nice breakfast room.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful setting great grounds excellent 4 price

Posted Jul 14, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely hotel for the price. The rooms need a refurbish but for the price everything was fine beds very comfortable and spotlessly clean room every n if the divan base was frayed and some of the fittings were a bit tatty. But you can't fault the hotel on cleanliness, comfort and service.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

2 night stay

Posted Jul 8, 2016 on Hotels
No Internet or phone reception in room. Beds could really do with an upgrade from old fashioned bedcovers to a duvet (in all rooms) please! No access to the sauna (in two separate visits now!) It's a rather grand old fashioned hotel which in some ways I like, but could do with some modern touches that would make all the difference. Great location for me so still I would come back. Service as nice as ever...
5 out of 5
by Dan from Malmö, Sweden.

Posted Jul 4, 2016 on Hotels
Underbart gammaldags engelsk charm, när den är som bäst. Vänlig och hjälpsam personal, välstädat, god traditionell engelsk frukost och en helt fantastisk trädgård/terass. Mitt enda minus, är att det inte var wi-fi på rummet.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler


Posted Jun 23, 2016
Needs an overall refurbishment. Nothing of any significance has been done to the hotel since I first stayed there 42 years ago. The culinary standards however have remained high.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful grounds

Posted Jun 23, 2016 on Hotels
Great hotel with a lot of history my only problem whilst I stayed there was one particular receptionist that had the people skills and helpfulness of a trout, all the other staff were great though