Ratings based on 149 Verified Reviews

2.9 out of 5
36% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bristol

hotel in good location

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Pros: Location, parking, staff
Cons: Hotel needs updating
Location: Up a hill from the town but great views
Hotel as we expected, good location and free parking. Hotel is very dated and in a poor state in places however I understand it is closing in September for a year long refurbishment. All staff we very helpful and friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Brilliant budget option

Posted May 30, 2017
This is reasonable price. It has parking and you can walk downhill to beach/town in minutes. Breakfast is lovely and views from breakfast is awesome. Balconied rooms give fantastic view to beach. It is very dated and smells odd in places and the lift was out of order for years (working now!) but it compares very well on price and I hope it never changes. Don't expect rooms recently decorated (possibly not for 20 years) and you will not be disappointed!!! 5th visit for me.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Booked two nights left after one pretty bad.

Posted May 20, 2017
Pros: Leaving.
Cons: Everything except the staff.
Location: Did not stop long enough.
What can one say, lost for words it was bad. The hotel was very shabby and uninviting.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from U.k

Excellent location

Posted Apr 24, 2017
We arrived early to check in and were told our room was ready and we could check in early. Very friendly staff, good location and enjoyed a swim in the pool which was a nice temperature. Overall a very pleasurable stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

antiquated decor

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Pros: the food was adequate for the money paid and the staff in the restaurant were ery friendly
Cons: redecoration certainly of room 10 - balconies cleaned. flat screen TVs - we didnt know the TV in our room were still in use.
Location: we only had a short trip but had a extensive walk all around the bay and a trip to Marwood Gardens which were beautiful
rust in the bath - wallpaper in room 50 years old, very poor facilities. no facilities for disabled guests - plenty of disabled parking at rear of hotel but no dropdown kerb for access to hotel and once inside after my husband had to lift my mobility scooter up the kerb, there were no facilities whatsoever except for a 90 deg bend in reception area which was impossible to negotiate. approx 6 steps up to restaurant and again no disabled facilities.
3 out of 5
by Simon

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 10, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Vanessa

Comfy friendly hotel

Posted Apr 4, 2017 on Hotels
Tired decor. But comfy bed. Friendly owners. Good views. Locality in Woolacombe
5 out of 5
by lee

Posted Mar 13, 2017 on Hotels
Nice clean convenient place to stay Nice breakfast Could do wit a decor update bun no complaints
5 out of 5
by Terry

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 9, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Maureen

An overnight stay.

Posted Feb 6, 2017 on Hotels
I stayed overnight during a local weekend competition. The staff were helpful and courteous. The hotel was clean and tidy but extremely dated and could use a refurbishment soon. The food was well presented but it was disappointing not to be able to breakfast before 0830 as I needed to leave then. The car parking facilities were inadequate and the overflow car park had little hard standing. This meant my car was stuck in the mud and difficult to drive away as the weather was very wet. My colleague who also used this hotel found their room cold and bedding inadequate but my room was satisfactory.