Ratings based on 11 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Glastonbury, U.K.

Great location.

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Pros: The location on the Coast Path and right next to the cliff railway, and the wonderful views across the Bristol Channel.
Location: Very close through the hotel garden to Lynton and the top station of the Cliff Railway to Lynmouth, or along the coast to the Valley of the Rocks.
The hotel is easily accessible by road or on foot, the greeting and care we received were excellent and we were made to feel comfortable and welcome. We ate dinner in and the food was very good and great value.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from UK

Very Nice Comfortable Hotel

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Pros: Quite, comfortable, great food and stunning views
Cons: An information pack about the hotel in the rooms would be helpful.
Location: Lynmouth, Cliff Railway, Watersmeet, Exmoor, Valley of the Rocks, walking, horse riding, cycling etc......
We stayed here back in 1987 for our honeymoon, so we were keen to see how much it had changed. Some modernisation had taken place, but the building still retains is unique character despite having seen a change of owners. We stayed in the Countisbury Suite, a very large dual aspect room with fantastic views across Lynmouth Bay. Owners and all the staff were great, very friendly and very welcoming. The owner even dug out the guest book from 1987 and found our details from 29 years ago :) We dined there in the evening and the food was excellent, as was breakfast the following morning. We really enjoyed coming back to this hotel and I am sure it won't be another 29 years until we return again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bolivia

Beautiful hotel in beautiful set. Lovely hostess.

Posted Jun 24, 2016
Pros: I liked the house, the decoration,the large and comfortable room and the setting over the sea.
Cons: I can't think of anything!
Location: I already mentioned them previously.
We had a marvelous stay at the Seawood Hotel which is set in a beautiful location next to the two town's main attractions, the old railroad to Lynmouth and theValley of the Rocks, an AWESOME coastal path with amazing views. The hotel is a prettily decorated Victorian house with modern and comfortable accomodations and the owner is a lovely hostess who offers you a warm welcome and very nice food. My only regret is not having stayed longer!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from herts

Victorian property in need of more hands on deck

Posted Mar 22, 2016
The hotel is run by a lovely lady who is running about to be in all areas at the same time. She needs extra help. She had to run up stairs with a lead for our kettle and was not able to make my husband a coffee prior to breakfast as too busy. However the house is beautiful clean and traditional and dinner great. Go for a quiet break .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Mike from Eastbourne, East Sussex, UK

Smart clean and friendly

Posted Sep 30, 2012
Pros: Location sea views smartness
Cons: Bit difficult to access car park around sharp bend
Location: Ideal location near the cliff railway down to lynmouth and within walking distance to lg ton town
Smart clean and friendly this hotel has been tastefully furnished to a high standard
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Cathy and Paul from Norwich

Back after 25 years

Posted Jul 29, 2012
Pros: Very friendly owners who obviously love what they do
Cons: Cannot find fault
Location: Picturesque and quiet with easy access to the surrounding areas
We returned to the Seawood Hotel after 25 years marriage. It was our honeymoon hotel. The Hotel had changed owners and had been refurbished to a very high standard, everyone in the hotel were friendly and obviously worked really hard to make this a very comfortable and enjoyable stay for us. Breakfasting on the terrace every morning gave us a wonderful start to our day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Ty from London, UK

This is simply the best hotel we've stayed at...

Posted Jul 17, 2012
Pros: Food, Atmosphere, Walks, Views, Sauna, Hosts.
Lovely hotel, clinging to the cliff, above the Bristol channel. The hosts gave a warm welcome, the rooms were clean, warm, modern and comfortable. Just a few hundred meters via a small back path to the local village, Lynton, or to the local cliff rail down to the other local village, Lynmouth which rests on the coast in the valley. Both local villages are quaint and have all necessary amenities. You can also choose to go down a few steps to the coastal path which leads to magnificent walks along the coast, some really spectacular views. The hotel itself serves a very tasty cooked breakfast and you can choose whether to eat dinner there as well, which is also remarkably good, or the hosts may recommend some of the local restaurants or pubs, one in particular down in Lynmouth, the Rising Sun, served some delicious food and good local Ales. All round, the hotel had everything we needed, including a newly installed Sauna you can use to relax in after a day's walk, or a small reception bar area which seemed to bring the other residents together like something out of an Agatha Christie novel... make sure you sit in there and listen to the rail bell's toll...... we didn't hear any screams, you should be safe!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Steve and Maria from West Midlands, UK

Exceeded Expectations - highly recommended.

Posted Jul 11, 2012
Pros: Comfort, quality, friendliness.
Location: Unbeatable location for Lynton.
From the moment we arrived to the moment we left we felt completely at home in the Seawood Hotel, and were impressed by all aspects. Very friendly atmosphere, very nice decor, excellent food (for breakfasts, evening meals and bar snacks), and owners make you feel welcome and are helpfull and efficient in every way. Our bed was extremely comfortable and out bedroom was very quiet at night.There are good sea views from both the hotel, and from the patio area at the front (which in good weather would be a good eating area). The location is very close to the cliff-rail link to Lynmouth (reached via the garden), and to the path that leads to Valley of the rocks. I would highly recommend the Seawood to anyone wanting a comfortable and welcoiming base to explore the area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great hotel and staff

Posted Mar 5, 2012
Ar eally lovely hotel that is in an excellent location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Dorset

excellent and very friendly hotel

Posted Nov 16, 2011
The Seawood is an extremely good hotel. It has an excellent position, with wonderful views out to sea, but within walking distance of the centre of Lynton, our room was spacious and comfortable, and the meals were excellent.