Ratings based on 70 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel was within easy walking distance of the sea

Posted Aug 3, 2016
A very welcoming host and the hotel was clean and spacious.Breakfast was excellent with a variety of choices.Even though the hotel is up a hill it wasn't difficult to walk down to the front.The only downside was that parking could be a problem when the hotel is full.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Just up the hill, but close to everything!

Posted Jul 2, 2016
Pros: Quiet & comfortable.
Loved it! Great hotel -- and Nick was a great host. It's just up the hill from the 'Hole in the wall' pub, the aquarium, and the harbor.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

Could have been a disaster- but quite the opposite

Posted Jun 28, 2016
Pros: Friendly approachable staff with good local knowledge and great quiet-but-central location
Cons: Clean up confusion between Expedia and hotel re- suitability for children and clear identification of potential risks.
Location: Just off Babbacombe Rd- near to Kents Cavern, cliff railway, model village, Living Coasts, Brixham Ferry, bus links, restaurants/bars
While booking online through Expedia it was not clear at any stage that this hotel was not deemed suitable for young children. So when we turned up with a 5.5 yr old we faced the prospect of having nowhere to stay after a 7 hour train journey. The owner was calm and flexible and explained he was happy to take us and explained possible safety concerns- these were minor and we have a sensible daughter so we were happy to stay. Room was clean and regularly serviced to a good standard. Breakfasts were above average with plenty of options. Good quiet location but very close to amenities and attractions. The staff were friendly and very knowledgeable about local attractions, transport, etc. Would happily go back and would recommend to others- But shame on Expedia for not flagging up the issues with children. Would advise all parents to contact hotel directly when travelling with children- Expedia search engines don't always filter out the unsuitable locations.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Perfect base to eplore the English Riviera

Posted May 23, 2016
Cons: Most rooms have queen size beds and there is little space in the bath rooms. However, I've experienced even smaller :)
Location: The Hotel is only a short walk away from the Harbour and Torquay city centre
We've had a very friendly welcome and pleasant attention from the new owner, who took on the business just a week prior to our arrival.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

フレンドリーで静かなホテル

Posted May 8, 2016 on Hotels
とてもフレンドリーに出迎えてくれて、快適に宿泊できました。食堂もこじんまりとしていて、静かで、朝食のフルイングリッシュブレックファーストも美味しく食べられました。
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bristol

Lovely staff and extremely comfortable rooms.

Posted May 3, 2016
We stayed for 2 nights and found The Shirley extremely comfortable. The staff were very friendly and helpful and made us feel at home. I would definitely recommend it as a place to stay.
4 out of 5
by Matthew from St Austell

Very satisfied

Posted Apr 28, 2016 on Hotels
Very comfortable and VFM. Be careful if you use the guest house parking, it's limited spacing and the incline is fairly steep. However that doesn't take away the enjoyable stay.
5 out of 5
by Nicole from Birmingham

Fab short stay!

Posted Feb 18, 2016 on Hotels
Second time we have stopped at the The Shirley and it was great. Anything we needed hosts were accommodating and nothing seemed like trouble. Definitely recommend! Will be back again!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 7, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Phillip from South Wales

Posted Jan 2, 2016 on Hotels
Very enjoyable