Ratings based on 193 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wareham, Dorset

a getaway but not too far

Posted Nov 21, 2016 on Ebookers
Pros: friendly, attentive, helpful, without being intrusive.
Cons: one minor point, the lighting in the bedroom would benefit from a dimmer switch (I emerged with a tan on the top of my bald head).
My wife and I had decided on a few days away from work and the demands of grown up children. We were met (in the car park) by Peter and Helen who immediately made us relaxed and at home, showing us around the guest house and expanding upon historical details when required. Five days flew by assisted by ample breakfasts, complementary home made cakes and valuable insider information on places to visit and dine; the room was comfortable and was miraculously tidied and cleaned during the day. We accomplished the peace and relaxation which we had intended and we look forward to returning.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great little hotel

Posted Nov 21, 2016 on Hotels
Amazing. Great room with lots of nice little touches. Breakfast was amazing, lots to chose from both buffet and cooked options. Very attentive staff. Highly recommend this hotel, deserving of 5 stars.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient,welcoming and very friendly Hotel

Posted Nov 14, 2016 on Hotels
Very nice place to stay.It was central for the whole of Torquay.The owners could not do enough to make our stay pleasant and enjoyable.The breakfast choices are the best we have come across all you could ask for.The whole place was spotless and relaxing.Can see why people go back time after time.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 12, 2016 on Hotels
Beautiful hotel, stunning rooms, great breakfast and fab hosts
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hereford

A touch of class

Posted Nov 7, 2016
we went for a 50th birthday treat family member weekend. everything was perfect from the Greeting and complimentary tea while checking in, the rooms are roomy and luxurious, lots of little extras, and breakfast to die for so varied and wide choice. Peter the genial host, nothing to much trouble and helped with bookings for evening meals and theatre. we were a party of 2 couples and a single and no complaints from anyone. will definitely return and recommend to anyone wanting a touch of luxury stay within close proximity to torquay centre.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Barry Island

A brilliant experience

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Location: Get the Ferry over to Brixham. Its a lovely little fishing village. Some lovely little shops and some nice little pubs. Ferry only £3.00 return.
I could wax lyrical about this Hotel all day. From being picked up at the train station all part of the service. The Breakfast was second to none. Rooms so clean what ever you needed was provided. All the staff were so friendly. No problems to report. Next time in Torquay no trawling though the internet for me. Its the Somerville all the way for us.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 28, 2016 on Hotels
Very friendly and welcoming. Fantastic breakfast and brilliant location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 28, 2016
Location: Centrally located. 5 min walk to harbour & buses pass the door.hote
Hotel, room, breakfast, hosts all excellent. Very good location.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay

Posted Oct 24, 2016 on Hotels
we had a great stay, accommodation comfortable and spotlessly clean. Very welcoming hosts. Breakfast was lovely and lots of choices. We are looking forward to returning. Felt more like a good hotel stay rather than B and B.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Would recommend this excellent hotel,

Posted Oct 18, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent service, great and friendly welcome, very good room with everything you would require for a weekend break, free water in fridge, quality toiletries with free use of bathrobes and slippers, breakfast menu to die for with wonderful table service.