Ratings based on 25 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Lovely find.

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Pros: Peaceful and superb food. Near to beach(five minutes away by car) But eight miles fro Kingsbridge.
Cons: It was advertised as in Kingsbridge,but was about eight miles away in Slapton! It is in the area of Kingsbridge,but this is rather misleading.
Location: Slapton Sands five minutes drive and lovely village church.
Our room was lovely.The Inn is opposite a country church which was lovely to visit too. The entrance way in to the Inn is quite tight but once in it was just lovely. The food was top drawer and we would definitely stay there again.Staff were excellent and nothing too much trouble. We had planned to stay in Kingsbridge itself but the Inn is in Slapton,near Slapton Sands.Which is well worth a visit too.This should be made clear on the booking form.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very Dirty Room.

Posted Nov 30, 2016
Pros: The location is beautiful. The breakfast was very good. Restaurant staff were lovely.
Cons: The cleanliness of the rooms. The décor is also very tired and mismatched. Customer service could definitely be improved.
Location: This is a beautiful village, within walking distance of Slapton Sands and a short distance from Dartmouth and Totnes.
A lovely location but the room did not appear to have been cleaned - tea stains on the furniture, empty shower gel bottle in the shower, spilled gel in the soap dish, dirty paintwork, dust and cobwebs, badly stained mattress protector. Some issues were addressed during our stay but others were not. We have emailed The Tower Inn since our return and they haven't replied.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

An excellent find in stunning Slapton.

Posted Oct 25, 2016
A very warm welcome from our hosts. Comfortable room and free to come and go as you please. The rather quirky, cosy pub served a delicious 3 course evening meal at an extremely high standard and from locally sourced produce. All much enjoyed and would definitely visit again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 16, 2016 on Hotels
Pub may be closed on a Monday night stay, but the alternative pub in the village makes up for it...
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great food and location

Posted Oct 4, 2016 on Hotels
Absolutely brilliant food, and good local beer. The only downsides to our stay were the very tight access into the car park....which meant once we were in we didn't want to move again before departure...and the very small en-suite.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely village setting

Posted Sep 2, 2016
The staff are friendly and very attentive. The pub setting is beautiful and can't wait to visit again.
5 out of 5
by Emily from Kent

Great little b&b

Posted Aug 8, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely little b&b and an amazing breakfast. Large cars might struggle to get into the carpark but you can park nearby on the street instead if this is an issue. Also ate in the restaurant here which was lovely. Only suggestion would be to extend the wifi to the guestrooms too, as I didn't have any 3G mobile signal my entire trip!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from somerset

Great location

Posted Jul 1, 2016
Really nice stay, great food on one of the best pubs Devon
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Frome, Somerset

An historic inn in wonderful rural Devon.

Posted Feb 11, 2016
Pros: We loved the welcome and the food as well as the fascinating history.
Cons: Nothing comes to mind.
Location: We love this area of South Devon, especially outside the main summer holiday period. Slapton Ley is a unique freshwater nature reserve.
Slapton is a classic Devon village near the Ley. The Tower Inn was originally built in the 14th century for the workers building the adjacent monastic college, which is now a ruin. The accommodation is small but very comfortable and clean. The Inn is a very cosy traditional pub with beams and log fires. The menu is definitely not standard "pub grub" - it is very original and delicious! The chef is French and this place is worth visiting just for the food. The owners are very friendly and helpful. The surrounding countryside and coast are stunning and the beach is about fifteen minute walk away. It is a walkers paradise with the South West Coast Path nearby.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Shropshire

An absolute Gem

Posted Jun 30, 2015
Pros: The quiet location and friendly staff.
Cons: Nothing....it was just perfect
Location: A bit far to walk to the beach but located in an interesting and pretty village.
This was an unexpected surprise. An old quaint building with forecourt approached by a somewhat narrow and precarious entry. Obviously very popular with the locals & visitors alike. The rooms were spotlessly clean, well equipped and really comfortable . The breakfast was excellent ,cooked and served by a friendly chef who catered for our every need. A lovely quiet location perfect for a special weekend. Evening menu not extensive, but interesting with good and well presented food.