Ratings based on 52 Verified Reviews

4.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 10, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Birmingham

Nice hotel Near to plenty of walks

Posted Apr 3, 2017
Pros: What was not to like We liked the room . The breakfast was most enjoyable. The staff were friendly and efficient.
Cons: Tea bags in the room. Didn't like having to pop across the hall for them and boiling water
Location: Near to the Moors. Not far from the sea. Plenty to do in Plymouth
It was very convenient for us to visit family. The hotel was peaceful and a very welcome place to return to after a busy day. We liked the facilities and enjoyed our stroll around the lake. We particularly enjoyed the late breakfast times. The staff went out of their way to assure us they would fit us in for an evening meal if we needed one. They moved us to another room when we asked for one with just a shower with no problem.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Buckinghamshire

Excellent for overnight stay

Posted Mar 23, 2017
Pros: See above
Cons: Loose rugs in the bedroom corridor are a slight hazard.
Location: Lovely location, extensive grounds with large lake with many varieties of ducks. Peacock and peahens in grounds. Large outside dining/play area.
We had eaten at the restaurant on a number of occasions, but had not previously stayed overnight. The staff are friendly and helpful. The room was very clean with good facilities and the bathroom fresh and clean. Excellent shower cubicle with up to date sanitary ware. The food in the restaurant was as good as ever. We were very impressed with the overall standard of the service and facilities. Recommended for overnight/short stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Luton, England

Characterful, comfortable, charming

Posted Nov 9, 2016
Pros: Good food and drink - plenty of choice on menu and great local ales.
Cons: Just a bit too close to A38, but would be a challenge to move! :)
Location: Excellent hiking on Dartmoor, almost on your doorstep
Characterful building - well renovated; comfortable room - not huge, decent bathroom - honesty bar in corridor (don't forget your robe!); charming helpful staff.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

First class comfortable hotel

Posted Oct 14, 2016 on Hotels
This was our first stay and Turtley Corn Mill is a first class establishment, run to a very high standard. All of the staff are obviously well trained and operate to a very high level of efficiency. we were very impressed. The food, including breakfast, is prepared to a high standard and is plentiful. We will certainly return. Our less than perfect score for property condition was arrived at simply because the upstairs landing carpet, covered with 'runners' or rugs with turned up corners gave a poor first impression. To be fair, a difficult area to deal with.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 22, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Roger from midhurst

A short but enjoyable stay at Turtley Mill.

Posted Aug 18, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed for 2 nights.Overall the hotel was excellent,Ihave two recommendations: 1/ A bar of soap in the bathroom would be nice. 2/ A selection of fresh fruit at breakfast would be perfect. The staff were very polite and helpful,the grounds lovely and the building itself was full of character.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from boring Bedford

beautiful stay

Posted May 12, 2016
Pros: everything
Cons: nothing
Location: Devon is the most beautiful place to visit and the hotel situation is great to be able to visit Cornwell and Devon.
could not fault staff,hotel or location , even being woken up to the sound of the peacocks was great,Will stay there again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel but check your credit card

Posted Apr 29, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel looks stunning, the rooms are beautiful (be careful not to walk into the bed frame though), lovely bathroom and the food is fantastic! My only issue was that I booked 3 rooms for my colleagues and selected to pay at the hotel as I didn't want to pay for their rooms. I had an issue with my credit card on the day we travelled to it and the bank rang me to list my transactions and the hotel had charged me for all 3 rooms in 3 transactions 2 days before we arrived. On check out the lad tried to charge us again, had I not had this issue with my card we would have paid twice. I would absolutely stay here again but will always check my credit card bill which is a shame.
5 out of 5
by Nigel from Hampshire

Posted Mar 9, 2016 on Hotels
Just a quick overnight stay. A good dinner in the restaurant - busy but service was good. Food quality and choice was excellent. Breakfast was similarly excellent.