Ratings based on 23 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice breakfast, gluten free options available

Posted Oct 18, 2016 on Hotels
Car parking was available but needed caution to access owing to narrow ingress/egress and a steep hill. Steepish stairs meant that I couldn't carry my suitcase upstairs although I'm sure had I asked for help it would have been forthcoming. The shower was nice and large and hot, but not the most powerful. Didn't quite need to run around to get wet but I've enjoyed better.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very comfortable, great breakfast!

Posted Oct 1, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed at The Woodlands for 3 nights and were so pleased we booked it. The location is great - a 5-10 minute walk to the high street / harbour / centre of Ilfracombe or the Tunnels Beaches. Everything was spotlessly clean and the room was very comfortable, plenty of space and with a cute little balcony too. The breakfast was delicious, with lots of choice. I only wish we'd had a chance to relax in the lovely gardens, too!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Sussex

Woodlands Hotel very nice

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: everything
Cons: nothing
Location: very good town for restaurant's lovely scenery
Lovely Hotel excellent staff very clean good breakfast and close ton all the towns amenity's. would highly recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Friendly small hotel in a good location

Posted Sep 7, 2016
Pros: Location, friendly staff, tasty breakfast
Cons: No bath in the small bathroom, but we hadn't expected one.
Location: Tunnels beaches - 5 mins South West Coast Path - easy to find, with walks along to Lee, up to a viewpoint, or towards the town centre.
We were very pleased with this hotel. It was nicely located a short walk away from the town - and only 5 minutes from Tunnels beaches - but secluded, quiet and out of the way. You could get up to beautiful views on the South West Coast Path very quickly. The staff were very friendly and welcoming. There was free parking outside and on the road. The room was relatively small but snug, clean and comfortable, with all the amenities we needed. Breakfast was lovely: a selection of cereals/toast/yogurts etc and either full English, continental with fresh fruit, smoked haddock, etc as well. It felt like a friendly little B&B, but with some nice up-to-date touches rather than feeling outdated. We would stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

A secluded gem, yet not isolated.

Posted Aug 19, 2016
Welcoming, easy-going hosts. Lovely Victorian house with modern facilities. Clean, comfortable room with peaceful garden views. The garden is outstanding, wending down to a stream - with handy bench alongside! Good choice of breakfasts, helpful-yet-unobtrusive hosts.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Good hotel set up high in a quiet location a short walk from the town. Plenty of parking either on the premises or on the road (no restrictions). Large room, good breakfasts and friendly owners. Beautiful gardens.
5 out of 5
by Simon

Posted Jul 5, 2016 on Hotels
Great time.loved it.
5 out of 5
by Caroline from Andover

Great hotel.

Posted Apr 6, 2016 on Hotels
Just come back from spending 3 nights at The Woodlands with my husband, don't let the out of date pictures put you off, it's just been completely redecorated. John and Caroline can't do enough for you, very friendly and knowledgable about the local area. The room we stayed in was very clean and very comfy, view from balcony was great. We'll definitely be booking again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from toronto,canada

Good accommodation close to the town centre

Posted Jun 9, 2015
Pros: See above
Cons: Bit of a challenge parking at the hotel but can always find parking on the road at the top of the hotel driveway
Location: Good location near to town centre .town is right on the sea with very good views
Good accommodation .close to town centre right on the sea which was great . Lots of good restaurants in the town and quite spectacular scenery . Owners are very friendly and helpful
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 1, 2015
We stayed for two nights and the service was wonderful.