Ratings based on 8 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.0 out of 5
2.8 Room cleanliness
1.6 Service & staff
2.1 Room comfort
2.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by partypete from greenford

Posted Jun 17, 2013 on Hotels
Needs a good overhaul painting etc...and felt unsafe
2 out of 5
by WorldTraveler from London, UK

Good place for students.

Posted Mar 1, 2013
Perfect for students, but not ideal for young couple or family. Our room had no shower, the bathroom was communal. Very noisy at night as right in the University area. No hotel staff on reception, had we not phoned in advance we would have been left outside with no way to get in. On second day, two people were trying to get into the hotel and we had to let them in as there was no staff. Positive was that it is close to the city centre, food shops.
2 out of 5
by Hd

Basic accomodation

Posted Jan 13, 2013 on Hotels
Clean and basic, close to train station and town centre. Heating and customer service non-existent.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 29, 2012 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Carrie

Cheap and cheerful

Posted Oct 31, 2012 on Hotels
Stayed here for two nights, we opted for the shared bathroom option which I was unsure about at first. But it was better than I thought it would be! There wasn't really many people there so we had the bathroom to ourselves. The room was a good size, and really warm! Perfect location for what I needed it for, going to stay there again this weekend!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not comfortable without heating

Posted Apr 23, 2012
Pros: original design, british old house
Cons: moody smell on ground floor, even and especially in the rooms, also very uncomfortable without heating
Location: Very good, close to University, downtown and harbour
Heating was not working, Restrooms are on the floor, moody smell at Rooms at ground floor. In summer time and on first floor it might be better.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cambridge, UK

An unfriendly welcome

Posted Sep 14, 2011
We arrived at a reasonable time (between 6.45-7pm on a weekday evening) to find a door with a sign advertising the Welcome Rest Guest House. The sign had an 0800 number and e-mail/web address details on it, but nothing further. We located some bells, and in the absence of any other instruction, pressed both several times. Eventually, an extremely surly man answered the door and let us in, while saying "Go on, press that bell one more time, I dare you" in a very hostile manner. It turns out Steve-o (the name he gave me) is a long-term tenant and not even employed by the company! He explained to us that we were supposed to have been contacted in advance with a code to unlock a key-safe outside the main door. In the absence of this, he contacted the day manager (who had gone home for the evening) and eventually she texted back with the code and we had the keys to our room. The running of this place for evening arrivals is an absolute nightmare - apparently we were supposed to ring the 0800 number for an out of hours call centre, but there was no indication of this and it would've been an expensive call from a mobile phone. The room itself was basic, clean, and reasonable comfortable. The location isn't bad for the train station or the university, and most places in Plymouth are walkable. Be warned, though - if you're arriving after 5pm, Steve-o may let you in, may be unfriendly, and may make you feel less than welcome. What a joke!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

not fit for a dog

Posted Aug 22, 2011 on Hotels
we walked into the room and virtually walked straight back out again, after taking photos of stained sheets and a scab in the bed, it was disgusting and we left as soon as we arrived, so this rude greasy man gained 38 quid out of us, so he is laughing and we r out of pocket. seedy dirty place do not recommend!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!