Ratings based on 292 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York City

On the beach but the staff was impersonal

Posted Nov 28, 2017
Pros: The beds were clean with no bugs and the food was good in the hotel. You could walk around the whole hotel without needing your wallet
Cons: email explaining that we were booked into the MAYAN!!!! Caring staff, better excursions, hot showers, staff that knew what was available in the hotel
Location: beach and golf, very exclusive area so have to drive/taxi to do anything else
So when we arrived, we could not find the hotel. We have to ask 3 different people about where the hotel was and an hour later. It turned out that it was close until the high season, but they booked us a room in the Mayan Palace Playa with a free upgrade. All the Mayan staff understood what was going on. We did not get the upgrade though when we arrived, and when asked they replied that they gave us what was booked. The staff was nice, but impersonal. When you asked about where to find food no staff member knew. All their excursion were way over priced, double what you can find on travel sites (which already have a fee added to the price) and not impressive for the money. The room only had cold water for showers unless you showered at midnight and even had some mold in the corner of the bathroom. The 2 Mexican nationals we were with were head over heels with the hotel, but honestly I have been in nicer 2 star hotels. The beds were clean with no bugs and the food was good in the hotel. It was also nice that you could walk around the whole hotel without needing your wallet to pay for drinks and your room key was a wrist band.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Morelia

Nice hotel, great pool and amenities

Posted Jul 4, 2017
I spent the day in the pool with my wife having a drink, then we went out for dinner.
3 out of 5
by Citlali

For what I pay not a good service

Posted May 1, 2017 on Hotels
Everything is beautiful but the service was horrible. I have family there and they couldn't come in because i would have to pay for them just to come in and have fun in the pool. They weren't even going to stay in the room just the pool area.
1 out of 5
by Michael

Posted Dec 26, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel was close for remodeling. No body say anything about it. I was surprise when I arrived from Acapulco airport the hotel was close. They send me to Mayan Palace Hotel by the way the night clerk was not helping me. I have to pay in cash for the night. I made the reservation 3 months in advance WHY did not send me a message about this hotel before I arrived ?
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ocean Breeze closed in "Slow Season"

Posted Oct 29, 2016 on Hotels
The Ocean Breeze was "closed for business" . . . and we were transferred to the Mayan Palace Resort which was a 5-times upgrade, at least.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mexico DF, Mexico

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Pros: nothing
no WIFI Access and the hotel is not a beach front hotel. the map is misleading.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, ON

Pleasent hotel but no activities.Nice pool

Posted Jan 18, 2016
We had booked two separate days-Jan 12th and Jan 20th. We stayed there on the 12th but on Sunday Jan 17th the Hotel closed. Fortunately the Hotel is part of the Mayan chain and we are being given an extra day at the Mayan Palace Acapulco were we are staying for a week. So all turned out OK.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 10, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Mariel from Michigan

Mayan Palace Experience

Posted Oct 26, 2015 on Hotels
Ocean was under maintenance so stayed at the Mayan for same price.The experience was great. WIfii was not free and room came with coffee maker but no coffeee. They offered great activities and entertainment but there was no communication to guests about the activities available. The place has great views and it is a nice hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, but it wasn't the one I reserved!!

Posted Oct 19, 2015
Nobody told me that the hotel is actually under maintenance, the hotel isn't located where Expedia showed me. My reservation was valid on the Acapulco Mayan, a same quality hotel but with no beach!