Ratings based on 132 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, ON

Trendy hotel

Posted Feb 25, 2018
Loved that the lobby was also a bar, and the bartender/receptionist was extremely helpful. It was nice to be able to use the free airport shuttle! I would definitely not stay here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canadian living in Belgium

Last minute

Posted Dec 20, 2017
Needed a hotel close to the airport and is was very cost effective. It seems to be trying very hard to be trendy and has a loud lobby...which is actually the restaurant/bar and the guy who checked us in was processing food orders from the waiter. I think they pump Axe Body spray through the vents because the whole place smelled. It was way too strong. The room was clean and comfortable. Great walk in shower. Bedding (sheets) need to be updated as they were wet worn out. Same with the bath towels. It was a €24 Uber ride to the Grande Place and €25 bacK. I would stay there again, as it was the most cost effective hotel airport. Or it was at the time I booked.
5 out of 5
by Howard

Group meeting

Posted Dec 7, 2017 on Hotels
2 nights stay - nice relaxed décor and all staff friendly and helpful. Restaurant food really good, especially the steaks. ideal place for a group get together (8 of us). Wifi very poor though
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Posted Oct 23, 2017
Very easy check in and check out, very close to the train that goes into the city. Very nice hotel to stay at. Will definitely recommend to friends
4 out of 5
by Jochen

Great overnight stay at airport

Posted Oct 6, 2017 on Hotels
Nice hotel for an overnight stay, liked the vibe and funky decor, also nice food and vibe at the restaurant, no complaints really. It is in the middle of nowhere, but what do you expect from an airport hotel and at least it was quiet. The shuttle-bus, servicing 4 hotels, went a little too infrequently (only every 40 mins) for my liking.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from GLASGOW

nothing close by isolated

Posted Oct 4, 2017
Pros: nothing
Cons: staff hospitality breakfast times also more amenieties in rooms
Location: not a good location nothing nearby
staff very unpleasant hardly spoke two words to us room hardly big enough for one person no kettle or mini fridge for price would not stay here again ,
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 17, 2017 by K. Law, Hotel Management
Dear Lisbon67, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us regarding your stay in our hotel. We are sorry to hear that our hotel did not exceed your expectations. Your comment about our staff has been shared with them and remind them about the hospitality. Our amenities are sufficient for 1 to 2 days stay in the hotel. In case you would need extra, additional will be happily given to you at the reception. Our rooms are indeed not the biggest but they were carefully designed to optimize guest’s comfort and to give them a contemporary design. As our hotel is located near the Brussels Airport and the business discrict of Diegem, we do not have any shops or tourist attractions nearby the hotel but Brussels city centre is reachable by train. Please consider for your next visit in Brussels for our pentahotel Brussels City Center which is located in the uptown center of Brussels. We truly hope that we can welcome you back in our hotel in the near future and assure you of our best attention to your comfort and pleasure. Kind regards, K. Law Operations Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Decent stay close to airport

Posted Sep 5, 2017 on CheapTickets
I enjoyed the cleanliness and comfort of the room but I didnt like that they dont have free breakfast, microwaves or fridges in the room. The front desk staff are nonchalant as opposed to attentive when we needed help. It was just ok.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 22, 2017 by Kristof, Hotel Management
Hi, Thank you for your feedback. Great that you appreciated the cleanliness and bedroom comfort. We offer 2 possibilities to satisfy all guests: a breakfast exclusive rate, so guests can decide on the spot if they want to take it or not, or a breakfast included rate. Concerning the non attentiveness of our staff, we will discuss this internally to avoid future occurrence. We hope you come back to us and we can proof to you that this will not happen again. Best regards, Kristof
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Belgium

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Pros: TV (free premium channels and free on-demand movies and series)
Cons: Pretty much the whole staff that was on duty Wifi
Location: Station and airport very close by. Distance to station is walkable if you don't have much bags (uphill) and the airport is a mere 5-minute drive away.
Fancy hotel with a nice lounge and games area but very disinterested and unfriendly staff. Both check-in and check-out took place with less than 5 words from the front desk staff. On top of that, check-in lasted more than 10 minutes (in total silence) and I was charged city tax twice. The only (literally) staff I encountered was my room attended who I've seen down the hallways a few times. I've only stayed here for 1 night and am certain it has been my last one as well. I often need a hotel near Brussels airport, but I won't return for free with staff this lacking in hospitality. I work in the tourism industry as well and would be very ashamed to have such an unfriendly team at my disposal. The room itself was basic with a very good TV for entertainment. Wifi however was disgraceful. Loading an e-mail (without any attachements) took several minutes and would often disconnect. 256KB/s is a horrible speed to offer nowadays. Especially for a hotel that sits right in the middle of the business park and tries everything to attract business customers. 24 hours of internet will set you back a whopping 14 euro. This is a big no-no in this day and age.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 7, 2017 by K. Law, Hotel Management
Dear Kefren, Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us, so we can constantly improve our services. We are very sorry to have learned that you have not received the treatment and service you had expected from us. Regarding your experience at the reception, we have shared your comments with our front office team and the necessary improvements will be applied. Furthermore, we are currently in examinating the possibilities to increase the wifi speed. We truly hope that we can welcome you back in our hotel in the near future and assure you of our best attention to your comfort and pleasure. Kind regards, K. Law Operations Manager
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Good location, clean hotel. Room on the small side, basic but clean. Friendly and helpful staff always on hand to help. Lovely food, cooked to order. Expensive to utilise car park especially for a short stay. Overall good facilities and pleasant stay 😀
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dubai

Below Average

Posted Aug 26, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: everything
Location: no restaurants, no super markets , nothing around, Just close to the airport
Hotel well below average. Poor check in facilities. Excuse was system is not updated, I can see the booking but its not in the system. Then a staff comes past 1.30 am, wakes me up, saying the booking is cancelled, we have to pay for the room again for a room that is already prepaid. Then takes a deposit in the middle of the night.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 30, 2017 by Kristof Lemmens, Hotel Management
Dear Huzaifa, Thank you for your comment. I apologize if we did not meet your expectations. We hope to do better next time. Best regards, Kristof Lemmens / General Manager