Ratings based on 86 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester area

Nice country hotel

Posted Sep 15, 2017
Low stress, very relaxing hotel. Very pleasant and helpful staff. Great on site restraint
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Peaceful with amazing views of the countryside

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Pros: Comfort and peaceful location.
Cons: Availability of evening meal. After a long drive to arrive there no one wants to have to drive out again for dinner.
Location: Tour the Black Isle area. Town of Cromartry is specially interesting.
All good, except that there was no dinner available in the restaurant, which now closes for 2 nights a week. This information was not on the website when we booked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Falkirk, Central Scotland

Excellent stopover en route to NW Scotland

Posted Aug 25, 2017
Pros: See above.
Cons: The receptionist we met on arrival was new and could have been better informed.
Location: It is in a small country village and there is not a lot to do on an extended stay (apart from specialists like golfers or birdwatchers).
Restaurant staff and meals were excellent. Restaurant, bar and public rooms had a very pleasant ambience and the garden has a fine view over the Cromarty Firth.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

First Class in all departments.

Posted Aug 24, 2017
A lovely stay in a magical suurounding, with friendliness from the time of our arrival until we departed. Couldn't ask for more. Thank you. Will be back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 23, 2017
We stayed for a wedding & the wedding party took over the whole hotel. It was very homely & the staff were excellent. Breakfast in particular was delicious.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Valencia, Spain

Excellent experience

Posted Aug 23, 2017
We stayed at a family room, were traveling with a 9 year old kid. After a long ride trip, Kinkell House was just paradise. A local beer on the terrace while sunset (Happy Chappy!) and an excellent dinner in the restaurant. Quite ambiance and wonderful room. Breakfast was also amazing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kirkcudbright

Lovely location friendly staff.

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Lovely location and surroundings. Excellent value for money.
Cons: The bathroom in our room needs upgrading. Reception staffed to greet you. Bar should be kept open for residents.
Location: We were only there for one night so cannot comment.
Slightly awkward start as nobody at reception to welcome us. However waitress from restaurant took it in her stride and found our booking and sorted out our room key. Owner came to our room later to apologise which was a nice touch. Our room was very pleasant with lovely views over the countryside and was quiet and relaxing. Bed was very comfortable and room was bright and spacious. Bathroom was a little tired and would benefit from an upgrade. Breakfast was very good and plentiful. The restaurant was run separately from the main hotel and this could cause a problem at busy times in getting a table for dinner. The resident lounge areas were well furnished and gave a nice atmosphere for a quiet drink. A word of warning if you come back late evening and want a nightcap the bar can close early with little or no warning.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Very comfortable country house hotel in quiet lication but close to main roads, with excellent restaurant and friendly staff. Good centre for touring.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Surrey

Kinkell House

Posted Jul 3, 2017
We stayed here for 1 night, br3aking our journey from John O'Groats to Glasgow. We were travelling with our 2 dogs and the hotel were fine with having these stay. We were in the ground floor room which is right next to reception so I was bit concerned about noise from people coming and going but this was fine. The room (twin beds) was comfortable and clean with excellent views.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely views

Posted Jun 30, 2017
A very enjoyable 1 night stay - room had lovely views and was clean and well appointed. The restaurant food was excellent, but found it a little off-putting that hotel and food were not as one and having to pay for dinner and then breakfast separately was not ideal.