Ratings based on 157 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Gardena, CA

A general review

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Pros: The food......a good selection at the bar and the restaurant. The level of service was also good. We were able to wander around without supervision.
Cons: The hotel could do with a renovation. Loose fittings, paint peeling on the Windows, etc
We were given a very informative (and free) group tour of the hotel after dinner. The tour guide (Rodney), who was also our waiter, was full of historical knowledge and made the tour extremely enjoyable. As we are members of Clan Davidson he was able to go into a great amount of detail about the Clan Chiefs, both the positive and the negative, which really brought us closer to our distant ancestors.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

There are parts that are wonderful!

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: Common areas are fantastic! Food in the bar is wonderful and the bartender and assistant manager are awesome! Cons: The room needed some TLC, the bathroom was disgusting and the girl at reception is a little more interested in playing on the internet than paying attention to what is going on...BUT, in all honesty, the pros outweigh the cons and we did enjoy our stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Baltimore, MD

Castle hotel with some unique history

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: If you arrive at night, you won't get to see the great architecture until you're checking out in the morning.
Cons: Interior of the rooms are a bit outdated - and not by design, just a bit old - 1970s-ish.
Location: Lovely view of the valley. Sheep can be heard until about 10:30PM.
Nice old castle. If you want a 5-star hotel, this isn't for you. If you want a historic castle, then read on.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Authentic Castle Experience

Posted Jul 16, 2016
Pros: friendly staff, great food, clean & spacious rooms, rich history and decor of castle
Location: This castle is very close to Inverness and also the Loch area in the highlands.
We stayed in the MacKenzie Apartment which is amazing and spacious. The master bath has a nice clawfoot tub and there are separate dining and living rooms along with a stone spiral staircase leading up to the suite. The style of the castle is very traditional and we could appreciate that they have tried to stay true to the history of the castle while making it comfortable with modern day amenities. We were pleased by how great the food was in the pub. My steak and ale pie was one of the best I had while traveling in Scotland. We also really enjoyed the Ghost Tour which provided some history on the castle and allowed for a glimpse into the dungeon and function halls. The view from the grounds is beautiful and we found the staff very friendly. We would definitely recommend this hotel and hope to visit again someday.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Deutschland

Altes Schloss

Posted Jun 22, 2016
Ein Schloss, wie man es sich vorstellt. Duster und verwirrend.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Townsville Australia

Loved the Haunted Castle

Posted Jun 5, 2016
Pros: The ghost tour and the bed was most comfortable
Cons: Not Sure
Location: Dingwall is a lovely town on a loch.
I loved the hotel and the fact it's history of be haunted by at least 6 ghosts. I loved the ghost tour. We stayed in room 7. Room 8 is said to be the most haunted. During the ghost tour I mentioned that there were people staying in room 8 because I heard them moving around and found out if was vacant. I must admit I snuggled into my hshband when I went to bed, but didn't hear anymore noises from next door. Our room was beautiful with a 4 Posted Bed, it was very large and had a great view from the bathroom.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 5, 2016
Pros: Das Burgfeeling.
Cons: Die Duschabtrennung über der Badewanne ist kaum benutzbar
Wir hatten ein riesiges Zimmer mit Terrasse unterm Dach mit Himmelbett. Das war himmlisch!!! Das Haus ist zwar schon etwas in die Jahre gekommen - macht das mit seinem Charme aber wett. Nach Barschluss, seltsamerweise schon kurz nach 21:00, gab es eine amüsante "Geisterführung". Das Frühstück war Klasse - für jeden Geschmack war etwas dabei.
4 out of 5
by Naomi

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 22, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Glasgow

authentic reception

Posted Apr 21, 2016
Pros: the staff very pleasing
Cons: everything
Location: location ok nothing at all to do nearby
not for the elderly room large clean chairs upholstory all ripped not a picture on walls a gaping hole authentic fireplace not even a flower arrangment in front of it horrible mediocre turrets restuarant green lady lounge less than mediocre not good at all table in room used for tv instead of tea 3 lamps all with different broken shades outside of window filthy but view was awful anyway so dirt didnt matter had to go on knees to plug in hairdryer under dressing table so as to get the mirror not enough hangers pillows paper thin all lights very dark even on the stairs and thier is a lot of stairs no signs on taps to say hot or cold £10 dearer in restuarant for the same 2 coarses for 2 people you can get in the horrible green lady lounge the staff were pleasing and the place was clean thats about all i can say good the continental breakfast table was shocking 4 bits of thin ham and 6 cubes of chedder cheese good juices and cereal been in hotel in dingwall and all hotels in strathpeffer tulloch castle the worst of all will never ve back there
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nîmes, France

Hôtel cosy et chaleureux

Posted Apr 19, 2016
Le Tulloch Castle par son histoire et ses légendes sur les fantômes est très intéressant. C'est un endroit cosy et chaleureux où le personnel est extrêmement accueillant et prend soin de ses clients. On peut manger sur place. Il est un peu éloigné de la ville principale. Prévoir soit de rester à l'hôtel, soit un véhicule ou un taxi pour se déplacer. Dépaysement garanti dans cet hôtel ! Tout en se sentant comme à la maison. J'adore !