Ratings based on 128 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
61% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Saratoga Springs, Utah

Posted May 30, 2018
I promised my wife 26 years ago that I would take her to Dinkelsbuehl and I needed to perfect hotel to do it. This was it! The rooms are large and comfortable. The staff is excellent, and so is the food from their restaurant. We had a nearly perfect experience. The only warning is that the hotel is right on the market square and right across from the church which has the town clock which rings loudly, on the quarter hour. Some earplugs would be worthy of anyone staying in this area (fortunately I had some with me).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Idaho

Nice old hotel on main city square.

Posted Apr 18, 2018
We really enjoyed this old historic hotel and especially Bernd, the proprietor, who has a great sense of humor. Queen Victoria stayed here! Only 6 Euro to park behind hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 24, 2018 by Bern Ollmann, Hotel Management
Thank You for your positive rewiew.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oklahoma

Great Anniversary in Dinkelsbuhl, Germany

Posted Oct 19, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: We like staying in a 'historical' facility.
Cons: Already mentioned above.
Location: Good central location.....much shopping and sight seeing near by.
Hotel was very nice....clean...comfortable.....staff did a nice job. Knowing this is an OLD facility that has been well kept there are a few things such as lighting in the halls, doors locks, and etc that could be a bit better..........but all in all an excellent hotel. We would stay again when visiting there.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 12, 2017 by Martin, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your rating and your suggestions! We always appreciate comments helping us to improve!
3 out of 5
by Michele

Posted Oct 17, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 12, 2017 by Martin, Hotel Management
Thank you for your rating. Since we only got 3 of 5 stars, we would have loved to hear what we could have done better directly in the hotel, so we had a chance to react and make your stay as enjoyable as possible!
5 out of 5
by George

You will like it

Posted Sep 25, 2017 on Hotels
My wife and are late 70’s, like our comfort, have traveled extensively and try and stay in non US hotels that match the area when possible. The goldene Rose is in great shape for being over 500 years old, lovely old woodwork adds to the ambiance. Bathroom modern and great considering the building. Much easier city then Rotenburg so recommend staying here while visiting there. One of our best two European hotels.
5 out of 5
by Frank

Posted Dec 25, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely hotel in an superb small medieval town
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 28, 2016 on Hotels
It was amazing to stay in a building nearly 600 years old. The staff were delightful and extremely helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 9, 2016
Very historic beautiful building. Rooms are all renovated and clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 11, 2017 by Martin Ollmann, Hotel Management
Thank you very much, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay.
4 out of 5
by Paul from California

big family, with little ones!

Posted Feb 15, 2016 on Hotels
Overall it was a great stay! We are a family of five, three kids under five. We had to have the family room...which was not very family friendly. It was on the fourth floor, then we walked up a set of stairs once we unlocked our hotel door, which isn't convenient for a family like ours. The floors in the room were slanted and so the floor beds were slanted. There was not a block off for the stairs in our room and since there was a bed right there we were terrified to have our kids playing around it. We had plenty of room though and liked the separation from the kids and us adults. The hotel is a very old hotel which was amazing for its charm! We enjoyed that alot! Eat at the restaurant!!! The food was delicious and our waitress Valeria was awesome with us and helped us translate when we needed to do so. The Toast Golden Rose was amazing! Yes the church bells will wake you up! The church is literally right across the street! We originally thought this hotel was in Rothenburg and it is not, but it was a pleasant surprise for us! Not sure we'd stay again because of the room we'd have to stay in but it was overall a great experience!
5 out of 5
by Tischa from Indiana

Posted Oct 20, 2015 on Hotels
Old world charm
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 8, 2015 by Martin, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for rating us!