Ratings based on 983 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel and location

Posted Sep 18, 2017
The room was updated and very nice. The hotel was undergoing renovations but was not noisy. The hallways and carpets leading to the room were rather disgusting. The walk to the room made me a little jittery what the room would be like as the hallways were horrible. I am assuming they will be upgrading those next. The location was perfect if visiting the U of M. Train station right next to the hotel so easy access to the cities. Only two stops to the US Bank stadium. starbucks in base of building. lots of decent eateries near by.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fulton, MS

Twins game

Posted Sep 16, 2017
Pros: Clean rooms
Cons: Hallway carpet is old and worn but renovations are ongoing
Location: On the UM campus area but public train is just out the door and will easily get you anywhere
This hotel is renovating so there are several things going on in the hallways and lobby area but the rooms are A-1. Clean, up-to-date and comfortable. Easy access to public transportation that will carry you easily to Target Field. Parking is $20 and you park behind the hotel is a small inconvenience. Overall very nice hotel located on UM campus.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from H

Posted Sep 14, 2017
Was real close to the tram so I could get to the new US Bank Stadium so I could go and watch my Viking s play on Monday night, the rooms were nice and clean , and the staff was there for me when I need them I would recommend to anyone to stay with them...
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Hotel Under Construction

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Offer less expensive parking options and include a few amenities with the hotel charge (like coffee in the room).
This is the third time I've stayed at the Commons. I was unaware that it was under construction. The fitness center was inaccessible. We had access to the University fitness center, but it didn't open until after check out time. The parking was very inconvenient because the door closest to the parking lot was blocked off. Additionally, there were charges for everything including a cup of coffee in the room. I feel like we should have been given a discount for our numerous inconveniences!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 8, 2017
Hotel is under new ownership and is being renovated.....a good thing as it needs a lot of improvements.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Good value for money. Good location and lot of parking space.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MN

Posted Sep 5, 2017
We needed a place to stay for the night while in the area and found this hotel on the expedia app. It was an excellent place to stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Madison

Location location location

Posted Sep 3, 2017
I wouldn't recommend this hotel if the location wasn't so good. I've stayed here a few times and have had issues each time. From alarm clocks that went off ( I never touched them) at 3am to room keys not working multiple times. Imagine lugging up a bunch of things to your room tired and exhausted to only have neither room key work, not once? but 2x during a one night stay. With both the room key and the alarm clock situations I discussed the problem with the front desk only to have people in line behind me say the exact same thing happened to them. parking behind the hotel for $20 night has no convenient entrance or exit. So you are walking around the large hotel to the front, at night alone this is kind of unnerving. Other small problems include loose plugs on the bedside tables that meant if I moved my phone at all the charger was no longer plugged in. No cream/sugar with coffee was a small touch that is missing here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Great location, renovations in process

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Great location for my needs - UofMN. Renovations are in process which are definitely needed but they seem to be working on this very diligently. Staff friendly and helpful. Room was clean and comfortable. Will definitely stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Madison, WI

Nice hotel, close to plenty of restaurants

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Pros: Its proximity to U of M
Cons: Halls could use some updating but this could be happening already. Part of the Lobby was under construction.
Location: Walking distance to everything campus related. i.e...stadiums, auditoriums, etc.
Room was clean, check-in was quick and hotel was nice. Seems to host a lot of wedding parties, but room was quiet and parking was convenient. Public transportation and plenty of restaurants/bars are right out your front door. We always stay here during the summer months. During the school year, this hotel can be fairly expensive.