Ratings based on 964 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Needs new carpet

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Yuck - carpet is terrible. Time for a renovation. Good restaurant, good location for U activities.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Clean, great location

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Pros: We loved the location, it was perfect for us. The hotel has a fun decor and quiet comfortable rooms.
Location: Right on the UMN campus and just minutes by light rail away from downtown, lakes, and easy access to the Mall of America.
Our stay at the Commons was great. It was in a perfect location, right across from the light rail and multiple bike rental spots. The staff was professional and very willing to be helpful, the room itself was super quiet (although we did hear that this was a slow time for the hotel, so that probably helped), clean and comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Beautiful hotel,next to green line public transport. -Starbucks connected to hotel. -Amazing staff -Clean -Great fire place. -Lobby is so relaxing
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worst customer service I've ever seen at a hotel

Posted Jul 4, 2017
They downgraded our room. Refused to honor 3rd party (Expedia) reservation for room type. Also made us wait 3 hours to check in after arrival even though they told us when we called the day before that it would not be an issue. Their shuttle was late one day and failed to show the next. Never asked us once how our stay was or if we were satisfied.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Loved the Commons!

Posted Jun 28, 2017
My short stay in Minneapolis was wonderful thanks to The Commons Hotel. First, the decor made me feel right at home! The hotel is more picturesque than the online photos can convey. The staff members were courteous and helpful. I was very pleased with the reasonable room rates. The Beacon Public House restaurant at the hotel has a unique food selection, and the food was delicious.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Great location and wonderful staff

Posted Jun 27, 2017
Hotel entrance is confusing and the registration area is not clearly marked. Once I found registration the staff were awesome interested in my reason for staying and gave great information for where to go. Hotel room was clean and neat. Hotel upgraded our room, to our surprise. Parking was okay. Would definitely recommend and stay there again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 1, 2017
Pros: They didn't say during checkin but as a guest to can request for a pass to the multi fitness huge facility of the U of M located next to the hotel
They didn't say during checkin but as a guest to can request for a pass to the multi fitness huge facility of the U of M located next to the hotel. The location is excellent . The restaurant was very good and great breakfast buffet
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 1, 2017 by Jerrod Simkins, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write and share your experience with us. My sincere apologies for the staff not mentioning the use of the U of M Wellness and Recreation Center. We do offer complimentary access to this fantastic 65 million dollar renovated fitness center. I will be sure to review this with the staff to make sure that they mention this as part of the perks that our guests have access to! Thank you again for the great review and we hop to see you again! Jerrod Simkins Director of Rooms
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from J

Posted May 31, 2017
They always extra charge the clients for using the services
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 3, 2017 by Jerrod Simkins, Hotel Management
John, Thanks for taking the time to write! I would love to hear more about any questions you have about our services. please feel free to reach out to me directly as I would love a chance to speak with you. Thank you again, Jerrod Simkins Director of Rooms
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The hotel was beautiful, upscale and very clean.

Posted May 30, 2017
Pros: The upscale décor and restaurant. Staff in restaurant were wonderful.
Cons: Parking
Location: We were there for a concert.
Disappointed in late night staff, very young, very loud, and inappropriate behavior behind registration counter May 24th. Should have older manager in charge, as I would have felt more secure.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel near the U of M.

Posted May 30, 2017
The lobby and rooms were modern and comfortable. The carpet in the hallways is worn and needs replacing. One nice feature about the rooms is that the windows open. The workout facility was spacious. It's a great hotel overall and I would recommend it to anyone wanting to stay in a central location. Close to tons of restaurants and shopping. Good hotel for the price.