Ratings based on 330 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Don’t guarantee room

Posted Nov 15, 2017
Book a room and when you goto check in they tell you, sorry we don’t have room for you. Even though you have a confirmed reservation and a email confirmation.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 26, 2017 by FO Team, Hotel Management
Dear Mr Bharat, We would like to take this opportunity to apologize for the inconvenience that you have experienced during your stay recent stay at Hilton Doha. We would like to thank you for giving us the opportunity to address your concern.Our Management takes concerns such as yours with utmost importance. We thank you for your feedback and will certainly look into making improvements. Regards, Front Office Team
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Uk

Decent Hotel with private beach and swimming pool

Posted Nov 12, 2017
The hotel is well positioned, with its own small beach and very clean swimming pool, There's enough room, though both get busier at weekends. Staff are helpful and friendly, and facilities are good. Extras are expensive (refreshments by beach and pool, but Doha generally is pricey. Room was comfortable and a good size. Let down a bit by a slight but persistent aroma of tobacco (non smoking room); and we had to move rooms when an open air nightclub within the hotel complex started up half way through our week's stay (2am finish).
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 18, 2017 by FO TEAM, Hotel Management
Dear Mr. Simon A, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. It was truly great to read that you appreciated the premium location of our property and enjoyed the facilities, but most importantly the service offered by our staff. On behalf of the team, we would like to sincerely apologize with regards of the noise and the smell condition of the room; and with that, we managed to allocate another room for you in which we hope that the new solution is fulfilling all your expectations and needs. Once again, thank you for your feedback. We are looking forward in hosting you in the near future. Regards, Front Office Team
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from maidstone

is it a holiday hotel ?

Posted Oct 21, 2017
Pros: Nothing particularly stood out . But it was convenient for the City Centre Mall.
Cons: Sound proofing to the nightclub. Also staff need to be trained t h
Location: Location commented on above. Tall tower block which effectively. Blocked out the sun for most of the afternoon.
Management were very good but the troops could not really be bothered to serve you - mainly thinking of the pool/beach staff. The nightclub was a real pain - virtually every night until 2am - even on the 20th floor you could still the thump of the music
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 23, 2017 by Heni, Hotel Management
Dear Stuart, We sincerely value your feedback towards our hotel location. Concerning our service specially at the pool/beach staff and the sound proofing at the night club we do apologized for the inconvenience caused,rest assured that it was taken into consideration for improvement and correction to meet and exceed our guest’s experiences. We sincerely hope to welcome you back soon at Hilton Doha. Please do contact us at doha.info@hilton.com for your next visit. Kind Regards, Guest Relations
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Loud

Posted Oct 19, 2017
Terrible hotel the floor was loud with music i couldnt sleep i told them to talk to the person who had loud music 5 times and they didnt do anything and i told them i want to change my room and i had flight in 4 hrs and i couldnt even sleep. I wouldnt recommend anyone to go there!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 5, 2017 by Lisl Camille Cabantugan, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your valued feedback. We deeply apologize for the experience you encountered during your stay in our hotel with regards to the noise from our clubs. Rest assured we have addressed your concern about the noise and will ensure the permissible sound levels are met. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to regain your confidence with us in the near future.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

My review

Posted Oct 9, 2017
1- The Hotel visitor at night are mostly who is looking for prostitution, as aresult the lobby at night is crowded with this type of segment. In addition to the night club and bar frequent visitors. 2- The water in the shower it take time to be hot and when I started to take bath, it suddenly becomes cold water then it returns to be warm.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 5, 2017 by Lisl Camille Cabantugan, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Hilton. I am sincerely sorry to hear of your unpleasant experience. With regards of your sentiment about the hotel visitors and the water issue in your room during your stay, please rest assured that your feedback has been shared with the appropriate Department Heads for their review to fix them right away. We do hope to welcome you back to experience our improvements. Once again, thank you for your feedback.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Qatar

Amazing Hotel

Posted Sep 25, 2017
Its very nice hotel, clean, comfortable with nice views, GYM, wonderful beach and swimming pools. It has amazing rooms,restaurants & Lounges,.. I want to thank "Mr.Hosam" who welcomed me during the check-in process and to appreciate his professional attitude. Also i want to send my regards to the girl who was during the check-out "Heni" who treated me in a nice way. Thanks & Regards,
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 3, 2017 by Guest Relations, Hotel Management
Dear Aiman, Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. We are happy to know you had wonderful experience and were satisfied with our service provided. Thank you for your kind words about our team members Hossam and Heni, your positive feedback has been shared with the team. We are looking forward to welcoming you again.
2 out of 5
by Penny

Our disappointed stay at the Hilton

Posted Sep 6, 2017 on Hotels
As a Hilton member I expected more from the Hilton in Doha. Our plane arrived early and we asked if we could leave our luggage there and could change in the toilets so we could go to the beach but we were told that our room was ready but we had to pay an extra 300 Doha currency to have access. I showed them my membership to no avail. We paid the money as we were tired. We then went to the beach and my gosh this was certainly the bottom end of the Hilton chain as the chairs provided were very uncomfortable and tacky. There was absolutely nothing there. We then went to the swimming pool which was great. At night there was no bar we could get a drink in the hotel unless my husband paid $50.00 to gain access and I could get in for free. We then walked outside and found a bar outside in the beach which was okay but very expensive. It belonged to Hilton surprinsely. The location of the hotel is far away from everything and you need to go by taxi. All and all not impressed by the standard of this so called 5 star Hilton Hotel. It has a lot of work to do so guests can entertain themselves as the heat is too much outside after 10.00 am. We had to check out 2 days earlier due to personal issues at home which needed our urgent attention but no refund was given (which was not an issue) but we still had to pay for the early arrival. Very disappointed
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 5, 2017
Dear Penny, Thank you very much for choosing Hilton Doha and taking the time to share your comprehensive run down of your recent stay. We regret to note your disappointment with regards to the early check-in fee, the beach chairs, and the menu prices that was offered. We deeply apologize for the experience you encountered during your stay in our hotel and we will definitely look into the concerns you have raised to improve our services. We hope that the inconvenience you have experienced will not prevent you from considering a repeat stay with us and we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 31, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 5, 2017
Thank you for your respond
3 out of 5
by mike from doha

Swimming pool water

Posted Aug 12, 2017 on Hotels
the swimming pool water was very hot. also the tape water and shower water were very hot so you can not take a shower easily. we couldn't swim in the pool due to the high water temperature.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 6, 2017
Dear Mike, We sincerely value your feedback towards pool & beach facilities concerning the water temperature and the services provided, please rest assured that it was taken into consideration for improvement and correction to meet and exceed our guest’s experiences. We sincerely hope to welcome you back soon at Hilton Doha. Please do contact us at doha.info@hilton.com for your next visit. Sincerely, Guest Services
3 out of 5
by robert

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 9, 2017 on Hotels