Ratings based on 335 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
58% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Outside hotel is very dirty, need to repaint, but inside is nice and clean!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 6, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orange County

It was oK but wouldn't spent the money to stay the

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: The water pressure and the bed was comfortable.
Cons: Everything mentioned above if fixed would be an improvement. I feel I wasted my money for what I was looking fo in a hotel room.
Location: Not a tourist, just needed a much needed get away.
lamps were missing bulbs, refrigerator and microwave were unplugged and so was the standing lamp. There was only one trash can and it was in the bathroom. There was NO WAY to plug the shower.tub drain for a decent hot water bath soak after a long day. However, the water pressure was satisfactory. The air conditioner was VERY loud throughout the night. The continental breakfast was their saving grace.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We unplug our appliances to save energy. We will look into your issues with our maintenance and housekeeping staff. Thank you for letting us know.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

California 2017 Vacation

Posted Aug 12, 2017
Love the location, close to a lot of places to eat, close to a major highway to visit California. The staff was great especially at 2am. Will come back
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 14, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a guest-focused experience.

Posted Aug 3, 2017
Arrived after a long day of travel to find no ramp to the sidewalk to access the lobby for when you are pulling multiple suitcases behind you, nor an automatic door so you don't have to put your bags down to hold the door open for yourself. Not a great welcome. The reception staff were not overly friendly when checking in or out. The bed was comfortable but that is about the best that I can say. Clearly they are trying to make some renovations, but the hotel is not kept well overall. Grassy areas are overgrown and the tiny patios outside the room are not even large enough for the chairs on them. The patio doors are old and stained, wallpaper is peeling and tiles are broken in the bathrooms. Maid service is awful. One day I came back and my bed was not made. Floors were not clean when I arrived nor were they cleaned as I was staying there. In addition, the air conditioning was turned off daily so when I came back in the evening the room was hot.This hotel could be much better than it is, but right now, it is not a place I would recommend.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 7, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
We turn off air conditioners and all appliances when the guest is not in the room to conserve energy. If the "Do Not Disturb" sign is on your door, our housekeepers do not enter your room. We also have no control over how small our patio areas are built. Thank you for your feedback and we will look into all the issues that you have stated in your review.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 27, 2017
All the carpets in the room and hallways were stained bad. Hotel needs paint in the room and exterior
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 28, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
We completely agree! Thank you for letting us know. We are currently waiting for the busy season to pass to continue with our renovation.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mesa, AZ

Rundown Hotel

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Hotel needs to be torn down completely or go out of business. Bathroom is for handicapped people, drapes are worn and hairdryer almost caught fire. HBO did not work. Staff was very pleasant, but hotel conditions was completely uncomfortable. Bath towels were so thin that it got so wet you needed a second one to dry yourself. Toiletries were minimal and for the money we paid we would talk people out of staying there.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 18, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
We are sorry that you were unhappy with your stay. The HBO issue was fixed within a couple of hours Unfortunately, it was out of our hands due to faulty Time Warner (Spectrum) equipment. Did you contact the front office regarding any issues? We may have had limited rooms due to the Vineyard Conference. Thank you for letting us know.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Nice hotel for a one night stay.

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Hotel was ok if your only staying for one night. Breakfast was very limited. Beds were not comfortable but room seemed clean
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 11, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us. We are currently trying to renovate our hotel and we hope that you stay with us again in the future.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needs a thorough cleaning

Posted Jul 3, 2017
This hotel is very decent price so I didn't expect to be wowed however I did expect cleanliness. Although it has recent updates it needs a very thorough cleaning of rooms (walls, baseboards, bathroom) and outside hallways. Also they should make sure all appliances etc are plugged in when room is going to be occupied. Ants in bathroom so staff kindly switched us to a suite.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 7, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for letting us know. We understand that our hotel needs a thorough remodeling and we are currently working hard to make it happen.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 30, 2017
Not bad I will stay in this hotel again breakfast was good also.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 3, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us. We are working hard to improve our hotel and we appreciate your comment.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

You get what you pay for

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Pros: Price
Cons: The entire facility
It's an ok place to spend a night at a decent rate but I wouldn't plan a vacation there. It's very noisy and outdated. Front desk is very nice and helpful. Breakfast is boiled eggs, breads and a couple pieces of fruit.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2017 by manager , Hotel Management
Thank you for your comment. We are currently improving our hotel. We hope that you stay with us again once it is completed.