Ratings based on 2,198 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not quite the special Disney treatment.

Posted Feb 18, 2018
I chose the Grand Hotel since I've never stayed there, I wanted to make it special for my girlfriends birthday. The room I was expecting was not avail and we had to get a manager to find us a room with a king size bed. For the expense of this 'luxury' hotel I was expecting the employees to treat us as though we were special, that's my previous experince at other Disney resorts. Nothing... I would have rather stayed at any of the neighboring hotels and saved a ton of money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Good location close to park

Posted Feb 17, 2018
Hotel is connected to California park. It is so easy and time saving to go the park. When we are tired, we can come back to hotel to rest. It make our lives much more easier. And staffs are very friendly and helpful. Great place to stay!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Springville California

They would not let us reschedule our stay.

Posted Feb 16, 2018
Grand Californian and EXPEDIA do not work with you! Greedy selfish never book hotel only with EXPEDIA ever! Grand Californian didn’t even give us our king size bed and made us pay over $120.00 per night which I think they were cheaper the day we had already paid I paid 571 and they were going for 491 who cares it was 3 days prior and no help with either blah blah blah!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Slipping

Posted Feb 10, 2018
Pros: Location
Cons: See above
We’ve stayed here several times over the years and have had a great experience but this time not so much. We had two adjoining rooms and both are getting a bit tired. We were given an accessible room, which would be fine but the beds were the softest most uncomfortable we have had anywhere. The tub would not hold water for our grandkids baths and the overhead “rain shower” dripped when we tried. The bathroom sink was so tiny it was really difficult to even get hands in and wash them. Our adjacent room was not properly cleaned when we checked in. Shoes left from a previous guest, food wrappers on the floor and the two robes were not in the room. A call to guest services appeared to go unanswered as the robes were never replaced, the tub continued to leak and the overhead shower dripped. Our last night we decided to sit in the Hearthstone Lounge and have a drink by the fire. It did not work and the a/c was so cold we couldn’t stay. Finally when checking it, our rental car which we had valet parked on arrival and not taken out, came back with damage. Staff as always was pleasant and the location is fantastic but for what Disney gets for a standard room not sure I will use again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location!

Posted Feb 9, 2018
Fast security to Downtown Disney and also the Park.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from san diego, ca

nice hotel but way overpriced

Posted Feb 7, 2018
stayed one night because of cost and only spent about 10 hours in room and didnt get to get moneys worth. way over rated
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Anaheim Ca

Lexis birthday

Posted Jan 28, 2018
This hotel is a 5 star rating!My granddaughter had the best time ever !Everyone was so awesome from our valet guy to our receptionist Iris to the housekeepers!Great place to visit! Truly a must visit!The view of downtown disney on our balcony was so great u can see everything!Love it here!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to California adventure

Posted Jan 27, 2018
We did not have hot water for several periods of time. We did not have a king bed and we did not have a garden view room.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 26, 2018
Horrible checkin. I called to check in early because my wife was sick and she just wanted to get in the room. They promised me they would put our room on priority cleaning. When we showed up 2 hrs later they still hadn't cleaned it. Then we waited another hour eventhough my wife was in horrible condition. I know checkin is 3 put they could have done better. They seemed proud they got us in our room at 2:30
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

We Have to stay here!

Posted Jan 25, 2018
The grand Californian Hotel is the only place to stay in Disneyland if you’ve ever stayed there before. It is right there in the middle of downtown Disney with the media entrance to California adventure. Do you only complaints I would have is that the towel in the room or a little cheap , They feel a little like sandpaper