Ratings based on 6,785 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from El Paso, TX

Great price for the location

Posted Feb 19, 2018
Clean motel, some street noise but wasn’t bad on my stay. The room was clean, the decor was modern and the bed was comfortable. Lots of good restaurants and Disney in walking distance.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LA

Posted Feb 18, 2018
Pleasant. Met our needs, close to conference. I would suggest you let people write as much or as little as they would like for their review
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to restaurant and Disneyland

Posted Feb 17, 2018
Staff are very helpful . Breakfast is good. Good location
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas, nv

Posted Feb 17, 2018
It was great. Nice cozy room not very spacious though. Friendly staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best bang for your buck!!

Posted Feb 16, 2018
Stay here if your the type that needs a place to sleep and shower. Meaning you don’t need the fancy junk when your on vacation. Perfect for people on the go. When your on vacation you shouldn’t spend a lot of time in your room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 17, 2018 by guest relations manager, Hotel Management
Thanks for the review. We are so glad to hear that you found we fit into your budget and you found us to be such a great value. We do look forward to your next visit!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from victoria bc

Terrible hotel/motel

Posted Feb 15, 2018
This place is horrible. We walked in to a room that felt like a make shift dorm The floor was dark probably dirty, there was a candy wrapper on the dresser, the bathroom was sketchy just a shower stall and there was no toilet paper on arrival We walked in and out within 5 minutes. I expressed my concerns with the front desk who then informed us that all four days of the room was non refundable. There was no way we were staying there we got another much nicer hotel. If you find you are absolutely stuck and your not worried about staying in a hotel room that doesn’t feel safe with only 2 floors 50/50 you’ll be on the first floor and you can have the parking stall right outside your window and enjoy the comings and goings of cars with their headlight directly on you then i feel bad for you
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 17, 2018 by guest relations manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for the review. We do want to apologize if you had an issue upon arriving. It sounds that you were in the room about 5 minutes and we then let you check out. We do want our guest's to be happy and it sounds as if this was not the case. We will of course make exceptions as we did with you and allow you to check out if you feel uncomfortable. We did follow up with housekeeping regarding this, and we did not find the candy wrapper on the dresser. Perhaps you had tossed it out prior to coming to the front desk. We do always have a spare roll of toilet paper in the room as well, besides the one on the dispenser. We do have some rooms that have shower only, although, we do have rooms with a tub and are more than happy to assign our guest's with a bathtub if they prefer. It is our goal to exceed our guest's expectation. We are sorry to hear that this was not the case. We would hope that you decide to return in the future. Thank you again for the review. We do appreciate your feedback.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cheap dirty motel

Posted Feb 14, 2018
Stayed here with my family including my two year old son. From the moment I put foot inside the hotel check in area, it just felt so disgusting and dirty and old. We were checked in, went to the room all the way in the back side of the building as it’s big. Our room was on second floor - but there are no elevators so everything must go manually through the stairs. We come to the room just to find out that the keys weren’t working so we had to call the office and wait for the maintence to bing the keys that work. From the moment I walked in the room, it felt so dirty and cheap looking. Other than the wooden floor there’s really nothing about the place that feels clean. The ceilings are dirty, there are dirty patches that are visible. Overall room is old and ragged as well as the bathroom. It is beyond my understanding why in the world they turned a motel room into a “breakfast room”. Have they not been elsewhere to see what a breakfast room feels and look like?? They literally took out all the furniture from one of the motel rooms and labeled it “breakfast room”. I wouldn’t have high hopes for a decent breakfast if you choose to stay here. At most you’ll get dried pieces of bread slices, cereal and waffles. They put one lady in front of the waffle makers, you line up to beg for waffles (and the lines go out of the so called breakfast room because the room is so freaking tiny). There’s no way you can sit and eat there because once again it’s a tiny hole with only 5 small Tabl
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 17, 2018 by guest relations manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for the review. We are sorry to hear you had a bad experience during your stay with us. We do not have an elevator as you say, although, for those how have an issue climbing stairs we are more than happy to put you on a lower floor if requested. We do apologize if you had a problem with the key not working. It is good to hear our maintenance staff was able to assist you. We do apologize for any inconvenience this might have caused. Sometime something as simple as putting it by your phone can deactivate it. We have replaces all our carpeting with new flooring. It is good to hear you found this to your liking. We have replaces all of our furnishings, put in new granite counter tops, added additional electrical outlets as well as all new lighting. We have new tile flooring in the bathroom as well as all new shower fixtures, water saving toilets, as well as curved shower curtains. We have a brand new AC unit in all of our rooms, and our currently replacing the windows in all of our rooms to be more sound proof and more energy efficient. We have all new mattress and boxspring, new bedding and all new linens. You state that the ceiling was dirty? We have looked at our maintenance request's and complaint log and do not see anything mentioned at the front desk regarding this. We assure you we would have followed up on this as quality is so important to us. We have an inspection by our housekeeping manager prior to every check in to ensure each and every room is ready for our guest with out any issues. Other than the ceiling being "dirty" you do not mention any other area that was dirty, so we would assume that you did not find anything else dirty in the room. We are sorry to hear you had a bad experience when partaking in our complimentary breakfast. We do want to clarify that we did not just take a motel room and turn it into a breakfast room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 14, 2018
Close to the parks. About a 10-15 minute walk. Nice renovated rooms. Only bad part was they never replaced the windows, so you hear every conversation outside and all the car alarms from the parking structure next door...which is not the hotel's fault, but new windows would make a huge difference.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 17, 2018 by guest relations manager, Hotel Management
Thanks for the review. We are glad to hear you had a good stay and you found our location to be so convenient. We Do apologize for any issue you experience regarding outside noise. The good news is we are replacing the windows this week! Next visit it will be a huge difference. We look forward to your next visit.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Terrace, BC

Good Location and Value

Posted Feb 14, 2018
If you’re looking for an affordable hotel near Disneyland this is an excellent choice! The room was clean, comfortable and recently updated. The staff were friendly and helpful. I really like the location because it is close to Disneyland but also right beside Anaheim Garden Walk which has several great restaurants. It is also only a block away from CVS, Walgreens and a strip mall with Subway, a pizza place and other affordable food options. My only complaint is due to the proximity to the parking garage for Anaheim Garden Walk there were car alarms going off until late in the evening. Other than that I enjoyed the stay at the King’s Inn and would day definitely stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 17, 2018 by guest relations manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for the review. We are so glad to hear you found our location so convenient. It is true we are just a quick 15 minute walk to the Disneyland park entrance. We want to thank you as well for the compliments to our staff. It is great to hear you found them to be so friendly and helpful during your stay. We are sorry to hear you had a bad experience regarding the noise from the Anaheim Garden Walk parking garage. We assure you we are looking in to this to rectify the problem. We are looking forward to your next visit!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, Canada

Excellent hotel close to the convention center

Posted Feb 14, 2018
We stay at this hotel during a trade show. It is clean inside and newly renovated. Breakfast is amazing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 14, 2018 by guest relations manager, Hotel Management
Thanks for the review. We are delighted to hear you had a great stay. It is true we are the perfect location when attending an event at the Anaheim Convention Center. We are just a quick 5 minute walk from there! We are glad to hear you liked our renovations and you loved our complimentary breakfast. We are so excited for your return.