Ratings based on 2,593 Verified Reviews

2.5 out of 5
40% of guests recommend
2.5 Room cleanliness
2.8 Service & staff
2.7 Room comfort
2.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Did not stay there after seeing the condition

Posted Oct 28, 2017
The hotel is a building site currently, it is worst than abysmal. It’s not even worth $10 per night. There is no pool, rooms stuck and they are renovating which doesn’t look set to complete anytime soon. Do not book until hotel is operational. Check first.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Do NOT choose this hotel.

Posted Oct 26, 2017
Pros: The EXIT door
Cons: EVERYTHING
Location: Location acceptable within easy reach of theme parks
Checked in late Friday evening, receptionist friendly and efficient, however the problem started on opening the door to the room, when the smell of mold hit you in the face. Being late at night and with a 3 year old in tow, we thought we might be able to tolerate it. That thought quickly changed after washing my hands and picking up a towel, it was DISGUSTING. Someone must have washed the floor with it!! On inspection all the other towels were exactly the same. I called the desk and requested a room change. The receptionist apologized and changed our room, However, the second room was the same moldy smell and the towels unfit for use, hairs were found on bed sheets, everything was appalling. Even though it was late at night there was NO way I was staying here and immediately checked out. Shame on Howard Johnson chain.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 24, 2017
Dirty, unfinished room. Unlike the pictures at all.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Sucked except front desk crew awesome other than that it was bad
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Never again!!

Posted Oct 13, 2017
fatal! the hotel is in the middle of construction, full of construction employees. solitary, only rent 5 rooms because the others are under construction. dirty, and rude cleaning clerk at check out was yelling at me and knocking on the door shouting in another language because he does not speak English. fatal!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami

Very disappointed

Posted Oct 12, 2017
Pros: Closer to everything.
Cons: Cleaning and furniture at the checkin area needs to be upgraded.
Location: It was very convenience area. So many things are within a minute away.
I will have to say this was the first and last time staying in Howard J's. There was garbage on every corner of the hotel. The first time I used the bathroom, the top was flooded and toilet water all over the floor the cleaning lady came to clean that up next thing I saw was her throwing what she was cleaning the bathtub with on the hotel driveway from the second floor. That was disgusting.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston

Not 3 Star

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Old roo, coffee maker dropped water everywhere, towel rack fell of and bath tube need cleaning.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 9, 2017
The room smelled moldy. It was not clean...floor was filthy. Bedding was from the 70's and we slept on top with our own pillows and blankets. It was gross. Front desk person was rude and said that is the only room they have for expedia customers. That was not true.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from los angeles, ca

bad smell from the bathroom, noisy air-condition

Posted Sep 13, 2017
You can smell bad smell from the bathroom and hear the noisy air-conditioning on and off all of a sudden.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from tampa, fl

Friendly staff and a great price.

Posted Sep 8, 2017
I was perfect for the one night stay to be close to the theme parks.