Ratings based on 2,118 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Good deal

Posted Dec 22, 2017
Great to have full kitchen and separate bedroom at reasonable rate. The hotel sits back a block from the street, so it was hard to find in the dark. Shuttle schedule can be limited, so plan ahead. Staff all very friendly, relaxed atmosphere. Concierges were generally good, but one did not understand English very well or have much information about area attractions. Laundry room was in different building but had large capacity machines and was not too busy. Pool was nice and used even in December. .
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 9, 2018 by Lorena , Hotel Management
Dear Marie, Thank you for your review on Expedia. Great to see that you enjoyed some of the amenities on our property. We are actually in the process of converting our infinity pool from chlorine to salt water very soon! Hope you can come back and check out the upgrade.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Gilbert, AZ

Adjoining rooms aren't private.

Posted Dec 20, 2017
Pros: Nice location, quiet.
Cons: Better sound isolation between adjoining rooms.
Location: There is an onsite restaurant but nothing else within walking distance.
When booking the "Classic Room" through Expedia I was hoping for something nice and quiet after a long day of travel and initially received anything but that. Upon arriving to the room I noticed it was an adjoining room and thought nothing of it. Upon inspecting the bed I noticed that the bed sheets had dark marks on them and that the bed wasn't even fully made (exposed mattress under the covers). I kept unpacking in hopes of just falling asleep but stopped when I heard my adjoining room neighbors discuss what they wanted to eat tonight (they decided on beef with potatoes). The fake hardwood floors left a quarter inch gap between the door and the floor so you could actually see the lights turn on and off in the adjoining rooms (and hear conversations as if the door was open). I ended up asking for another room and was able to get a non adjoining room but your milage may vary. If you do end up booking through Expedia and want privacy make sure the room is not adjoining.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 10, 2018 by Lorena, Hotel Management
Dear Jacob, Thank you for your review on Expedia. We are sad to hear about your experience with us here. We value your comments about the bedding and noise levels. We are looking to improve our adjoining rooms so we thank you for your feedback. Have a happy New Year!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 18, 2017
nice I used just to sleep and nothing more, they could be honest showing the real room in photos because we could chose better our room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 12, 2018 by Lorena, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for your review. We hope you return to us for a future stay and if you do please feel free to ask to see any room you'd like upon check in. Have a happy new year!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to disney!

Posted Dec 17, 2017
Hotel is great and they gave us a free room upgrade!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 10, 2018 by Lorena, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review! Glad you enjoyed your stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Value

Posted Dec 15, 2017
Great place to stay. Nice kitchen to help save some money on vacation
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 10, 2018 by Lorena, Hotel Management
Dear guest, We thank you for your review! Glad that you enjoyed our full size kitchens!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Good for price but not great; beware resort fee

Posted Dec 13, 2017
I was in the area on business for five nights. The price I paid was very good and about the same as many lower star hotels in the area. But my experience was not outstanding. Rooms and pool area seemed like an older unmaintained condo building. It was not dirty or gross but not fancy either. Be aware they charge twenty dollars per night resort fee upon check-in, above the Expedia rate. Incredibly, nobody made up my room in five nights and when I mentioned it (and the resort fee) when checking out, they just shrugged. On the plus side the restaurant is fun and lively with great pizza. There are about ten brand-new restaurants of all types within walking distance. And supermarket very close too.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 10, 2018 by Lorena, Hotel Management
Dear Michael, Thank you for your review on Expedia. We value your comments about our property and the housekeeping issue. We are happy you enjoyed our fresh and awesome pizza's from our in house restaurant! Hope to have the chance to serve you again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from philadelphia, pa

Great hotel for the price

Posted Dec 13, 2017
Second time staying at the Melia. Was upgraded to a family suite both times. 10 minute drive to all the Disney parks. There are a ton of restaurants across the street as well as a Walgreens. There’s a Publix about a mile away. Food from room service was great. Highly recommend the Benedict burger. Was too cold to use the pool but we used it our last stay and it was very nice. Full kitchen is great and a money saver. 3 flat screen TVs in our suite. I’m a Disney season pass holder, I constantly scour Expedia for great deals. I always check the Melia because the price is fair.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 10, 2018 by Lorena, Hotel Management
Dear Michael, We thank you for your review. Glad to see you had such a great experience with us. We just updated our menu for our very own American 360 Bistro that you should definitely come check out again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Amassing hotel

Posted Dec 8, 2017
Pros: The room was like an apartment and felt great to stay there
Location: Places to eat nearby, explored the serenity of orlando
Wonderful location, had room from everything to be peaceful but also close to restaurants. Had a amamzing feel to the hominess of the room. Nothing like other hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 15, 2018 by Lorena , Hotel Management
Dear Jessica, Thank you for your review on Expedia. So great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. And yes our average 1 bedroom suite is around 750 sq ft! And we have even bigger room : ) Hope to host you again soon.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Celebration, Fl

Worn Hotel

Posted Dec 6, 2017
The hotel has obvious Disney wear. Furniture in living area is old and dirty. Bed and bath fine.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 15, 2018 by Lorena, Hotel Management
Dear Doug, Thank you for your review on Expedia. We value your comments about our hotel. Our housekeeping department has been forwarded your thoughts and we hope to soon improve to be able to host you again! Happy new year!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Antonio

Posted Nov 28, 2017
Pros: Nice pool...that's about it
Cons: Housekeeping, furnishings, pricing structure
The furniture looked like it came from a garage sale. The drawers in the dresser were nearly impossible to pull out and push back in. Housekeeping got the towel count wrong almost every night. All of the lamps were loose and wobbly. The snacks for sale in the room were ridiculously priced...$3.00 for a tiny bag of potato chips. The bar has a mandatory 18% gratuity added on everything. The bartender hands you a beer at the bar and gets an 18% tip for it, just like on the cruise ships. There is ONE ice machine in the entire complex. A $20 per night RESORT FEE is added to the bill for a list of amenities that you get for free at any Holiday Inn or Hampton. There are thousands of places to stay in Orlando...you can do much better than this