Ratings based on 2,106 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami

Profit, profit and profit

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Pros: The rooms are comfortable.
Cons: Purpose of the company. They only want consumer's money, and like to make a profit out of people's misery.
We went there with other hundreds of families from south Florida escaping from hurricane Irma. Due to the extreme weather conditions forecast, I needed to make changes in my reservation but they charged me a cancellation fee (I wasn't cancelling, but only arriving one day later and staying one more day). They said that since in Orlando the weather was good, they couldn't do anything. Then, at the check-out date, we asked for a late check-out because we needed to change hotels since it was Tuesday, the hurricane had left our city without electricity, we had to work, and there was no internet connection in this hotel. So, we asked for a late checkout (until we could check in at another hotel with internet connection for us to work). We were with two kids and one dog, and we couldn't go anywhere. They said that we could stay one more night if we wanted to, but they wouldn't allow late check-out. That this was the policy and they wouldn't open any exceptions. So, you can see that even in desperate situations where people are running to save their lives this hotel chain only thinks about money, money money, making a profit over people's misery. I hate entrepreneurs that can only think about consumers money, but not about their social role. And that's definitely the case of these people at Westgate. I hope to never more stay in one of your hotels.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 19, 2017 by Westgate_CustomerCare, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience with us. We are happy to hear that you found your room to be so comfortable. We do regret to hear of the concerns you had during your stay, and any issues you may have experienced during your check-out process. We realize you may not be inclined to visit us again, but please give us another chance to exceed your expectations.  Sam
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from florida

Half decent depends on room you get

Posted Sep 13, 2017
My family and I booked this hotel as we were trying to escape Hurricane Irma. We booked three rooms for about $4,000 for 5 days. For this price I would expect something decent enough where I can bring in my children without having to worry about things crawling on them. Due to the storm, hotel choices were limited and therefore, we ended up here. After waiting two hours in line to check in (can't really blame them for this, many people evacuated to Orlando), we got our rooms. All three rooms had a strong humid odor to them and the 3rd one had bugs! IThere were small black dots (I think they were bed bugs) all over the bed!! I pulled off the covers and found all types of body hairs, won't go into detail..... i rushed to the room where my boys were going to sleep and there were roaches on the bed! To make a long story short there were Live and dead roaches and ants everywhere! I have plenty of pictures to back up my experience . On top of it all, I called corporate but they couldn't help me because the reservation desk was not picking up the phone and thus, I had to go there personally. I had to wait again in the line for 45 min to get a new room. The excuse I got for the conditions of the room was that it had recently been fumigated. This is unacceptable! The new room was better but the price and what you get are not worth it!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 15, 2017 by Westgate Customer Care, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We are disappointed to hear that you had such a frustrating experience while taking refuge during Hurricane Irma, at Westgate Vacation Villas Resort. Our housekeeping team is there to ensure that each unit is spotless and ready for our guest’s arrival; however it seems we missed the mark during your short time with us. We have taken note of this issue and will let the resorts housekeeping manager know. Again we truly regret any inconveniences you experienced during your stay. Nicole
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from naples. fl.

Posted Sep 13, 2017
Internet was awful. Television had no guide. Overall the villas were nice. This was during a hurricane evacuation and we never lost power which was a good thing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 14, 2017 by Westgate_CustomerCare, Hotel Management
Alan, thanks for your review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your room accommodations. We are always looking for ways to improve the overall guest experience and your comments regarding our internet and televisions are appreciated. We hope to exceed all your expectations on your next visit to our property! Sam
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Stay until check out day

Posted Sep 3, 2017
Great vacation stay. The only issue I had was during the day we checked out. Check out is at 11:00AM but some how by 8:15AM we had a knock on our door by house cleaning. They were knocking to see if we were checking out and I said yes. Around 9:30AM, we had another knock on the door. It was another staff member asking if we were checking out. We were trying to sleep as much as possible because we had more than a 16 hour drive but we couldn't sleep because they kept knocking. I explained both times that we would check out at 11 since we were entitled to. If they want you out before 11 because they have to clean the room, then they should change the check out time. I felt rushed and stressed. Especially because I had young children that I had to get ready. All was great until the check out!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 6, 2017 by Westgate_CustomerCare, Hotel Management
Wendy, thank you for taking a moment to share your experience with us. We are delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay overall. We do regret to know that you may have had some issues upon check-out. Our staff is aware of your concerns and they are looking into ways that similar issues can be avoided in the future. It is our hope that you will allow us the honor of hosting a more excellent stay in the future! Sam
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from columbia md

Nice hotel/resort

Posted Aug 29, 2017
Great time at the resort..nice place . Clean. Great location
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 16, 2017 by Westgate Resorts, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your review. We are glad that you were able to take advantage of our greatly located resort. We are conveniently located close to all of the areas theme parks, shopping, and dining. We are happy that you enjoyed your time with us and we hope to see you again soon. Anja
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Warning!!! Don't Stay Here!!!!

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Put in a room with no air. Thermostat literally was rippoff wall. Customer service at office didn't believe us when we called very rude. We had to take photo of wires hanging out of wall and bring to front dedk. Next room wasn't much better they put us in. We were locked out of our room by neighbors locking hallway. How is that possible!!!! Went to office three different times and they didn't believe us until security showed up and realized what happened. Wife and child outside hotel room in rain for at least an hour because office wouldn't check until third complaint to them about not getting in room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2017 by Westgate Customer Care , Hotel Management
We offer our sincere apologies regarding the extraordinary incidents you have mentioned and most of all that you were unable to enjoy your recent stay with us. Please know that the level of service we provide is taken very seriously and this particular situation is not common. Please allow us another opportunity to exceed your expectations. Allie
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from FL

Nice Resort but room could use improvement

Posted Aug 22, 2017
Resort was nice. Staff was great. Daniela at check in counter was awesome and very courteous. Pool and water park were the best part. Kids had a lot of fun. Room was ok but bathroom shower was filthy and smelled like mold.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 22, 2017 by Westgate_CustomerCare, Hotel Management
Jose, thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. Your honest feedback is appreciated! We are glad you enjoyed the different amenities we have to offer, but we regret to hear of any issues you may have had concerning the room accommodations. We hope that our front desk staff was made aware of any issues to be addressed. It is our hope that you will allow us the honor of hosting a more excellent stay in the future! Sam
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary, AB

Nice place, but...

Posted Jul 25, 2017
Pros: It's a beautiful place with nice amenities.
Cons: The internet access and the electrical sockets.
The hotel is very nice and well appointed to be sure. But half the electrical outlets were non-functioning, and the internet access was sporadic at best. Streaming consistently was impossible. That alone would keep me from coming back. When I checked in, I was told I would be phoned when my room was ready. When 4:00 came (my check in time, I had to go to the counter and they told me my room was ready. I had the distinct impression that no phone call would ever come, it was up to me. Additionally, be prepared to receive pressure on their time shares. My refusal to meet with them didn't go over very well.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 24, 2017 by Westgate Customer Care , Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our beautiful grounds an onsite amenities. Providing our guests with a memorable vacation experience is very important to us and we regret to hear about the issues you may have experienced. We are always looking to improve and we hope you allow us another opportunity to exceed all your expectations. Allie
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Nice one bedroom, one and half bath condo

Posted Jul 22, 2017
We had 4 in our party and it was an accommodating room. Loved having a full bathroom (tiolet closet was fabulous) and a half with a shower. Having a full kitchen with all the needed supplies was also very useful because we had the choice to eat family style instead of eating out for every meal. We also really enjoyed the on-site activities/amenities. The staff was really friendly and helpful especially our initial bell hop Gustavo. He showed us where a lot of things were within the resort and gave us directions to nearby shopping centers/eateries. We're looking forward to a return trip in the near future.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 24, 2017 by Westgate Customer Care , Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your experience. We are so happy that you had a great time. All of our staff is there to make you feel comfortable and we strive for our staff to be very friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. We are thrilled you were able to take advantage of our great location and enjoy our resort amenities. We truly look forward to exceeding your expectations again in the future! Allie
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from M

Won't Go Back

Posted Jul 16, 2017
The staff was rude. There was bugs in the room. Lots of people and loud at all times of the night. The blinds in our room fell apart. The room was not cleaned they didn't wipe down the seats of the toilet or the sinks in the room. They tried to sell us a timeshare while you were there. Management was accommodating and try to make things right. But after four days of rude staff and A dirty while we were ready to leave.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 24, 2017 by Westgate Customer Care , Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your comments as we are always looking for areas to progress. Guest satisfaction is our top priority and the issues you may have experienced are not our usual standard of service. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to go beyond your anticipations. Allie