Ratings based on 24 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Suffolk

Ideal location for touring Norfolk

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Pros: Its a very old hotel which we like, very relaxing .
Cons: The mattresses will be part of the refurbishment.
Location: Ideal for touring Norfolk which we enjoy, Sheringham steam trains, Holt town is worth a visit, and Cookies Fish Shop and Restuarant.
We always enjoy our stay at the Scole Inn as we like Norfolk very much. We had a room in the actual hotel last time and the mattress was not very comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from lincolnshire

Historic coach house hotel

Posted Sep 2, 2017
Had a lovely stay in this historic coach house. Only there one night but were made very welcome even though the new people had only just taken over. Our room was newly refurbished but still very quaint. The building had the old oak staircases, oak beamed rooms and enormous fire places. We look forward to visiting again in winter when I can imagine it would be very cosy.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Essex

A few surprises!

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Pros: The history, culture and quirkiness of the building
Cons: Check out. On checking out we were asked to accommodation along with restaurant charges etc. Seemed the staff didn't know we had already paid expedia
Location: Diss and Diss Mere. Norwich, the Norfolk Broads and North Norfolk in general
Surprised to turn up and find posters across the building front saying closed for refurbishment. Sometimes reception wasn't manned so we had to search for a member of staff and they were always apologetic about this. The staff generally were polite and courteous at all times. This was an ideal location for our planned trips to North Norfolk and although there is a large refurbishment due to commence on the building it is so full of history and culture I'm sure people would enjoy their stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from felixstowe

Great period property but not quite worth it!

Posted Aug 21, 2017
I loved the look of this place so instantly thought I wanted to stay there. I paid the extra for a superior room as I wanted the full expireience. The room it's self was large, new bathroom which was lovely. The four poster bed though was a frame with a manly old Duvan plonked in it, the mattress was so soft that when we layed down our heads were lowers than our feet! Then the windows did not open with out me having to jam a hanger in to stop them closing. Throughout the night I could hear every car going in and out of the car park and in the morning (7am before I wanted to be awake on a Sunday) the restaurant and kitchen below was playing the radio and I could smell cigarettes and cooking from below. There were no extra pillows, the tea and coffee making was poor. The kettle had limescale in it so I had to clean it before use. Then the restaurant- basic menu and the fryers had broken so everything had to have wedges. I had a Burger and my partner hunters chicken. The food was ok but over priced and small portions. The breakfast I was under the impresssion it was a biggest style breakfast. I was wrong, there was juices, fruit and cereal laid out but hot food you ordered. The full English breakfast was ok but again not very big and after paying so much for one night I question was it worth it!? Now my stay including 2 evening meals was just shy of £140 for one night. i don't feel the hotel should be charging that much for the mind of expirience we had.
3 out of 5
by Leach

Poor

Posted Jul 24, 2017 on Hotels
Leaky shower, mattresses piled up in the back yard
5 out of 5
by Bill

Bill Renwick

Posted Jun 26, 2017 on Hotels
Lovely place, good facitilies, well maintained and great service. Very happy and would definitely return.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wiltshire

Character Inn

Posted Feb 4, 2017
Pros: Full of character Amazing fires in the bar
Cons: refresh of decoration
A very old building - and to be honest this could be seen in the bedroom - Sundial Curtains, were a bit of a joke - the hooks were on thread and linked to the curtain rail so you couldn't actually close them Flaky paint on the ceiling. Mattress - far too small for the 4 poster bed - perhaps a super king size would have been better Staff friendly - and helpful. Breakfast OK Overall though good value for money
5 out of 5
by daverz2012

Posted Jan 19, 2017 on Hotels
All good but only warm water in the room. really like a hot shower.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 12, 2016 on Hotels
Very comfortable and the staff were helpful. Would stay again
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Nov 16, 2016 on Hotels
Really nice hotel and nice area