Ratings based on 18 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wiltshire

Character Inn

Posted Feb 4, 2017
Pros: Full of character Amazing fires in the bar
Cons: refresh of decoration
A very old building - and to be honest this could be seen in the bedroom - Sundial Curtains, were a bit of a joke - the hooks were on thread and linked to the curtain rail so you couldn't actually close them Flaky paint on the ceiling. Mattress - far too small for the 4 poster bed - perhaps a super king size would have been better Staff friendly - and helpful. Breakfast OK Overall though good value for money
5 out of 5
by daverz2012

Posted Jan 19, 2017 on Hotels
All good but only warm water in the room. really like a hot shower.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 12, 2016 on Hotels
Very comfortable and the staff were helpful. Would stay again
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Nov 16, 2016 on Hotels
Really nice hotel and nice area
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good price

Posted Oct 31, 2016 on Hotels
I have stayed at the scope over the last few years a d I enjoy staying here
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Character and welcoming

Posted Oct 4, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is an old building which has lots of character. Would benefit from some repairs but this did not affect our stay. The staff were friendly and welcoming.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alberta, Canada

Good location for getting to coast

Posted Sep 30, 2016
Very quite hotel. Great value for money, couldn't have asked for a better breakfast, it was really good and included in the price. Wi-Fi was available,but only in the main hotel. We stayed in the coach house, therefore had to walk across to main hotel for internet access. Overall this was a great place to stay & we would stay there again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 23, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient for where we stayed for visiting relati

Posted Sep 22, 2016 on Hotels
It was okay food alright I have had better bar food. The room smelt musty and carpet was stained and dirty.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from poole

Posted Sep 9, 2016
Loved the tutor building, it's amazing to be able to stay in something so old. Reception desk and new file cabinet ruins the reception area, not in keeping with building. Great breakfast If you love history and quirky old buildings come here