Ratings based on 60 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by Ron

NOT a 5 Star Hotel !

Posted Aug 28, 2017 on Hotels
Not a 5 stars hotel! When booking this hotel my filter setting was for only 5 starts hotels so when it showed up in the results, I trusted that it was such. I am an experienced buisness traveler that only stays at 5 stars rated hotels. I have no idea how Tajmasago Castle obtained its rating but I can say without any doubt that it is not worthy of a 5 star rating, not 4, maybe 3. The location is terrible for someone who never been to Ho Chi Minh City before, it is far away from everything, and you must use a taxi to get in out of there. For some reason this hotel has No "Hotel" or " Tajmasago" signs anywhere on the building, there is absolutely no indication on the building that it is the Tajmasago Hotel, so when you order a taxi or Uber don't expect the driver to locate the place. I actually did not want to stay there once i was dropped off by my Uber, realizing that it is the middle of no where, so I tried to cancel my prepaid booking at the checkin desk but the desk manager strongly refused and recommended me to stay 1 night. It was late, I was tired so I stayed, The room was nice and setup as a mini suite on the 2nd and only floor of this building. But that was it. There are no 5 start hotel amenities, no gym, no pool, no restaurant the place feels more like a hostel. I will deal with Hotel.com directly to dispute this stay and make it right. Staff was nice but that don't change anything, you cant turn a 3 star hotel to a 5 star just by smiling.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 12, 2017
Dear Ron Thank you for your review. We are pleased that after considering to which location to stay in Ho Chi Minh City you have booked our hotel. We regret that you have experienced such inconveniences getting to the hotel and travelling with taxi or uber driver who unable to locate the hotel or overlooked the Tajmasago signage. The Tajmasago hotel is located in Phu My Hung, District 7 which accessibly walking distance to Saigon Exhibition & Convention Center, Crescent Mall, Restaurants, less than 10 minutes drive to several International Schools and just 15 – 20 minutes ride to city center. We have two restaurants plus BBQ garden by the poolside that accommodates 250 guests. Also available is a gym, sauna and spa for our guests. On another note, it is good to know that room setup and our staff attitude is according to your liking. Thank you, once again, for taking time to post a review. We wish you wonderful days ahead. Thank you. Best regards, Ron Espi General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent decoration.

Posted Aug 20, 2017
Excellent interior decorating. Staff very helpful. Best to get a room away from main road.
3 out of 5
by Robert

Stay

Posted May 26, 2017 on Hotels
House keeping was slow. The person cleaning our room actually came into the restroom while I was in there. While the hotel is on the nice side, it's very nice by Vietnamese hotel standards it wasn't anything special.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A wonderful alternative to the corporate chains

Posted Apr 24, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel is wonderful and the staff is friendly and so willing to help, but a lot is lost in translation. I missed a tour bus for a reason I never figured out other than me not being early and waiting. Supposedly, the driver came in asking for me and giving my room number, then left with another guest. The tour did pay for a taxi for me, so it ended up alright. I never did figure out if there was not any hot water in the shower or if I was ignorant in how the various knobs worked. It wasn't important enough for me, but worth noting here. The gym is extremely nice, but call a few minutes before you head down there for them to turn the lights and A/C on, otherwise it'll be a sauna.
5 out of 5
by Natasha

The Taj in HCMC

Posted Apr 23, 2017 on Hotels
This boutique hotel was a wonderful surprise. The decor is stunning. It's like being in India. The rooms are large and very comfortable. The staff are very attentive. I loved staying here. I will definitely return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

quiet environment

Posted Mar 15, 2017
comfort level with quiet.. location wise you can find decent food to eat. Area feels safe and quiet.
5 out of 5
by Kun Jin

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 11, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 8, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Eugene

Nice decorated hotel and big room

Posted Apr 8, 2016 on Hotels
Everything was great except the Wifi connection was a bit slow and often got disconnected. The surrounding neighbourhood is nice and has many restaurants and a big shopping mall a short walk away. The service staff were friendly and very helpful.
5 out of 5
by Kenny from Los Angeles, CA

Cool room layout.

Posted Jan 2, 2016 on Hotels
Exquisite room layout. Feels like a suite. You have to stay here to understand. The bathroom placement in the middle of the hotel room was pretty cool. Very large room. Hotel lobby was fabulously decorated too. We would stay here again. Hotel is walking distance to a mall. The spa next door was ok (massage and mani/pedi was not the greatest). But the proximity to popular HCM is a bit far (eg. Ben Thanh market, District 1 sites, etc.).