Ratings based on 436 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ROma

promosso ma necessita di una ristrutturazione

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Pros: Pulizia, silenziosita' e ampiezza camere
Cons: sostituire la moquette e frigobar.
Location: Posizione fantastica immersa nel verde collegatissimo con il centro.
Hotel epoca comunista sito in una bellissima e tranquilla zona di Buda collegatissimo con i mezzi pubblici, E' un grattacielo a forma di cilindro con moltissime camere. Le camere necessitano di una rinfrescata, dotate di frigobar non funzionante, aria condizionata centralizzata che durante il mio soggiorno funzionava bene anche se fuori erano solo 29 gradi ,la moquette non puzza affatto anche se andrebbe sostituita il tv a tubo prendeva sia rai1 che rai2 piu altri canali. La pulizia quotidiana e' ottima con cambio di asciugamani e molto attenta,, il primo giorno avevo un lenzuolo macchiato che mi hanno sostituito immediatamente! Il mobilio e' antico ma alla fine va bene, in definitiva specie per il prezzo pagato va piu' che bene.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Firenze

A un passo dalla tramvia

Posted Aug 25, 2016
Particolare albergo, purtroppo non nuovissimo, comodo per raggiungere il centro con parcheggio auto abbastanza economico ( 10 euro circa al giorno )
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Québec, QC

Prix correct mais séjour décevant.

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Pros: La bouffe au buffet déjeuner est bonne.
Cons: Personnel souriant à la réception et service de femme de ménage efficace.
Location: Accès facile au service de tram et de bus pour aller rejoindre le métro qui n'est pas trop loin non plus.
Nous avons eu à appeler 3 fois la réception pendant notre séjour de 5 nuits pour se faire apporter des choses non laissées par la femme de chambre (savon, serviette, papier de toilette). En plus, au 4e déjeuner, la dame à l'accueil du restaurant ne voulait pas nous laisser entrer en prétextant que nous n'avions pas payé pour le buffet (aucun problème les matins précédents). Il semblait y avoir une erreur sur sa liste. C'est sans compter le gros insecte que nous avons dû écraser dans notre chambre. L'hôtel ne compte que 2 ascenseurs (lents) qui ne fournissent pas lorsqu'il y a achalandage.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 20, 2016
Die Mitarbeiter sprechen mehrere sprachen, unter anderem auch deutsch. Sie helfen einen bei jedem Problem. Die Zimmer sind sehr sauber, da sie täglich gereinigt werden. Man hat einen super Ausblick.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sundsvall, Sverige

Okej hotell med nära till buss/spårvagn

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Ett helt okej hotell. Ac:n på rummet var väldigt dålig vilket gjorde att det var jättevarmt. Hotellet ligger en bit utanför centrum men busshållplats och hållplats för spårvagn fanns precis utanför hotellet. Tog ca. 10 min att ta bussen in till centrum.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tucson, AZ

Smoke-smelling room on Non-Smoking floor

Posted Jul 22, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff, convenient access to public transportation.
Cons: Cleanliness of smoke smell in room. A/C cooled down room only slightly, could require new refrigerant.
Location: Restaurant Majorka down the street was awesome. Also tram two stops to Szell Kalman Ter station, transferred to Metro and went to Bathyany square
Air conditioning did not work very well in our room, so we opened the windows, only to find cigarette butts on the window sill, and this is supposed to be a non-smoking room on the non-smoking floor! Other then the stench and heat in our room, it was acceptable. Two small beds, one for each of us. Deep bathtub made it difficult to get into and out of shower. The building is obviously 1950's soviet-era design. It was conveniently across the tram station that took us everywhere. Hotel staff were very helpful and friendly. Elevator was good size, unlike the tiny ones in London. Two forms of breakfast -- Coffee and Croissant (included) or full Hot Buffet with eggs, juice, breads, meats and cheeses (costs extra).
Comment from Hotel Management
by Zsuzsanna Honfi, Hotel Management
Dear Tony, Thank you for your comment. Please be informed that we are permanently renovating our hotel to improve our services. Thank you for your comments too, I am going to forward it to the responsible persons. For the may caused inconveniences, please accept our apologies. I hope that by your next stay you can check our improvements. Thank you and best regards,
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from vancouver

this hotel needs to be updated

Posted Jun 15, 2016
Pros: nice view of Buddapest as it is on a hill,
Cons: new carpet,new towels,
Location: need to take the tram which is across the street to get anywhere,
this hotel need the carpet replaced it is stained and old,needs new towels they were worn out, not much near by,need to take the tram ,but the tram is right across the street, only two elevators and they get very busy so you have to wait,it is a older hotel,bus tours every night night so it gets busy ,
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 17, 2016 by Zsuzsanna Honfi, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for sending us your comments regarding your stay with us. We will use your feedback to improve our services. Sincerely yours, Zsuzsanna Honfi Reservation Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Room cleanliness Our room was never cleaned

Posted May 31, 2016
Pros: The staff were pleasant.
Cons: Attention should be paid to how the cleaners perform their duties
Location: Location was a bit far from the metro and the shopping centre but opposite a tram station
Our room was never cleaned for 5 nights. The sheets and pillowcases were never changed The room was dusty and dirty as if it was never vacuumed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 16, 2016 by Zsuzsanna Honfi, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your honest feedback regarding your experiences at our hotel. We are deeply sorry that you did not enjoy your stay wit us. We truly appreciate all guest comment, because we belive, that every guest review help us to improve our services. Please let us express our apologies for the inconvenience you had to experience. Thank you and best regards, Zsuzsanna Honfi Reservation Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 16, 2016 on Orbitz
Great hotel, great location and good transportation availability.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 17, 2016 by Zsuzsanna Honfi-Reservation Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your comment and your high rating. We are looking forward to host you again at our hotel. Best regards,
4 out of 5
by Gary from Napier

Great Views over Budapest.

Posted Apr 30, 2016 on Hotels
Enjoyed hotel, very convenient for our family gathering and easy access to trams,buses and underground.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 9, 2016 by Csaba Pokol, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your comment and high rating, we are really appreciate it. We are looking forward to host you again at our Hotel. Thank you and best regards, Zsuzsanna Honfi Reservation Manager