Ratings based on 112 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Nice Hotel with a beautiful pool!

Posted Oct 21, 2016
Pros: The lobby was very inviting. The friendliness of the staff. The pool.
Cons: The exercise equipment was in poor shape. There was no elevator.
Location: Dodgeville is a nice little town. Governor Dodge State Park was beautiful. Down the road from the park is a Mineral Museum that was outstanding.
The hotel is located around many restaurants. The lady that checked us in was very helpful. She gave us directions for a couple nice places to eat. We were on the second floor and it was very quiet. We spent a lot of time in the pool. It was combination indoor & outdoor pool. The breakfast was good the following morning.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

convenient location for APT and Taliesin visits

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Pros: room was large and not unpleasant...except for the smell.
Cons: give non-smokers a room that doesn't smell of stale smoke. Don't us smelly sweet air freshener to cover the smoke.
It was the smells that were the biggest problem. The minute we walked into our room it clearly spelled of smoking. It was not the immediate smoke the you can open the window and clear but the deep in the carpets and furniture smell. We asked at the lobby about a dedicated non-smoking room and were told that they were full. The desk clerk said that they would put an ozone machine in the room (made us wonder if this is a frequent complaint). When we returned from the theater at 11:30 p.m. We entered a room that was strongly fragranced of air freshener over smoke smell. There was a note of explanation but it was too late to do anything and we were exhausted. We turned on the fan hoping to get some fresh air into this smelly room and went to sleep. I the morning we couldn't get out of there fast enough. The lobby smelled of chlorine from the pool area also not pleasant...the breakfast wasn't attractive just the usual packaged stuff.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Madison , WI

Quiet hotel close to a variety of activities

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Pros: Quiet, clean, well managed. Outdoor, indoor pools, work out room available though because of my schedule I could not partake.
Cons: If they could have an elevator it would be perfect! They did offer, however to carry my bags to the second floor and I declined.
Location: Mineral point, Spring Green with their attractions are nearby. The downtown has a number of good restaurants
I was taking a 4 day class at Shake Rag Alley in Mineral Point, WI and I needed 3 nights lodging. I was happy with the location , close to the highway which I needed to take to Mineral Point. The room was spacious and clean with a refrigerator and Micro. The Continental breakfast was a delight with a lovely lady keeping all of the selections filled and warm.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from illinois

Quiet hotel the staff helpful very nice

Posted Sep 20, 2016
We would stay here again clean comfortable , the staff helpfull and nice all around nice hotel will tell our friends to stay here
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 13, 2016
don't ask for too much info if you want people to provide feedback
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from West Lafayette, IN

Comfortable and Convenient

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Comfortable, very friendly staff, near restaurants and the highway, quiet.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago area

Great location for sightseeing southwest Wisconsin

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Pros: The staff was very nice and the location was very convenient for site seeing
Cons: General updating of interior. Lamps were old, furniture dated, window coverings old
Location: We visited Mineral Point, Mt Horeb and New Glarus. All lovely towns. Dodgeville itself has a nice old downtown area so we enjoyed that too
My wife and I wanted to visit towns like Mineral Point, Mt Horeb, and New Glarus and Dodgeville is a good central location. We picked the Best Western because we had our Maltese with us. The hotel is called the Quiet House and generally it was. Pretty clean hotel. We had the American Suite which has a separate bedroom and sitting room/kitchenette and balcony. It was a little dated and could use some updating. The $180 price was steep for what we got. For example, the curtains to the porch were off the rail and could not be closed. The balcony wasn't much of a benefit as it sits over the hotel door and has cheap plastic chairs. We did not spend any time there. However, the staff was very nice and helpful, and the free breakfast was decent
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay.

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Very nice hotel. Carol in the breakfast room is a gem! So sweet and she has great restaurant recommendations.
5 out of 5
by Caroline

Very Pleasant Stay

Posted Jul 28, 2016 on Hotels
Very clean, well-maintained hotel. Our standard double room included a sitting area, which was pleasant to have when four of us were kept indoors by a thunderstorm. We love the indoor/outdoor pool, which is small but we had it all to ourselves. Nearby is Governor Dodge State Park, a gem of a park. We camp there every year, but for the past few years have spent our last night at a hotel after being seriously rained out. This is our favorite Dodgeville hotel by far. The only negative during our stay was that the internet and cable service was out for a short while during the thunderstorm, but it was clear the staff was working diligently to correct the problem. Dodgeville is a little town, but this hotel doesn't have any of the failings you sometimes encounter at small town hotels (e.g. dated furnishings, poor maintenance, poor service with limited hours). Altogether a very nice stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 25, 2016 on Hotels
The room smelled of old stale cigarette smoke. The lighting was atrocious. The cost was not justified.