Ratings based on 11 Verified Reviews

2.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
2.8 Room cleanliness
2.7 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

NDH Not for Me

Posted May 21, 2016 on Hotels
Unfortunately, this is the only hotel listed online and is relatively close (walkable) to the town center. Customer service is a joke. If you're a tourist, they'll try to rip you off via extra charges or not giving proper change. Only 2 of the outlets worked in the room. The pools were beyond disgusting as they hadn't been cleaned in sometime and were full of mosquitoes. The Chinese restaurant is the best thing this hotel has going for it. Breakfast was terrible (looked like leftovers) and had roaches crawling on the tablecloths where the food was. And breakfast is free. The beef samosas are good. And wi-fi repeatedly signs you out and only last for one day (sometimes not even that), regardless of what the receipt says. If I can help it, I plan to avoid this hotel like the plague.
2 out of 5
by Stephen from USA

Needs Improvement.

Posted Jul 26, 2015 on Hotels
The New Dodoma appears to need new management. Service is poor; and bills are frequently inaccurate and very difficult to correct. Security is poor and there were several room burglaries during my recent multi-week stay. The front of the hotel is guarded, but the back of the hotel is not. Complaints to the reception staff and the general manager were met with a "not my problem" attitude.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Rubbish to ok

Posted Dec 6, 2014 on Hotels
Breakfast was not good, service was awful. Comfortable bed. Shower is good but floods bathroom every time
4 out of 5
by Steve from UK

Good hotel

Posted Jul 22, 2014 on Hotels
This hotel is actually quite nice. It has a nice courtyard with bars and restaurants. Has a pool, a gym and an internet station. The rooms are fine and clean. Only issue I faced had to do with food. It was quite good, but it would take them ages for them to serve it! Breakfast is quite rich though. A very nice hotel overall.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rebecca from Minnesota

Posted May 18, 2014
Pros: Nice, firm beds. Great shower head and pressure. Nice mosquito net. Virtually everything worked. Good internet. Very nice staff!
This hotel is fine, though it did get a bit loud one evening (though the other 5 nights I was there were fine). The beds are good and the lighting in the room is nice. It would have been great if the cappucino place opened before 11 AM! In fact, that "Italian" restaurant in the hotel was a big disappointment to us. I ordered a minestrone soup there and they gave me a small bowl for $12000 KSH, which is quadruple the price it should have been (plus the soup had no flavor). The food in the continental/Indian restaurant was fine, though.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Peter from Derbyshire. UK

The New Dodoma Hotel

Posted Sep 18, 2013
Pros: The location, the courtyard scenery, the room
Cons: The staff comprehension of English is little better than adequate, and one would do much better in Swahili.
Location: Quiet corner of old Dodoma, opposite railway station.
This hotel represents an extensive extension and refurbishment of the old Dodoma hotel, a handsome relic of colonial days. The internal courtyard is beautifully planted and the rooms are of a reasonable size and well appointed. There is a swimming pool. While we were there the restaurant facilities were under rebuilding, so the full menu was not available, and what was on offer was not very exciting. The Italian room was not open, but the Chinese restaurant served excellent food.
1 out of 5
by v.k. from arusha

poor place

Posted Apr 24, 2016 on Hotels
dont go
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 9, 2016
Dear Guest. Thanks for your stay with us and for your time to post your review on Expedia. I know you are disappointed but can we know that what exactly makes you disappointed so we can improve our selves. Please note that your comments are very important to us. Looking forwards to hear from you soon.
3 out of 5
by Stefan from Sverige

Gammal o slitet

Posted Apr 12, 2016 on Hotels
Gammalt slitet myndighetshotell. Indisk kock, asiatisk mat helt ok men pasta kunde han inte... Nära stationen, garanterat väckning 06.30!
3 out of 5
by Tom from Norway

Best hotel in Dodoma

Posted Jun 22, 2015 on Hotels
Probably the best hotel in town, OK but that is all, Pool not very nice but outdoor area was good. Room standard ok but noe more.
4 out of 5
by Thomas

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 23, 2015 on Hotels