Ratings based on 211 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 2, 2019
It’s very customer friendly hotel. Nice food with reasonable rates.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 3, 2019 by Ras, Hotel Management
Greetings from Golden Ocean Hotel!!! Thank you very much for your kind review On Expedia.com. We are so glad to read that you enjoyed your stay at GOLDEN OCEAN HOTEL and loved everything. We have shared your comments with our team and they are happy to know that their attention to details and dedicated service has made your stay a memorable one. We look forward to welcome you soon again at GOLDEN OCEAN HOTEL! Warm Regards, GOLDEN OCEAN HOTEL TEAM
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from USA

Posted Jul 21, 2019
I paid for a room that is good for 5 guests but the breakfast buffet is only good for 1 person who book the hotel and it suppose to be/should be for my other guests as well since thats what i paid for. No Towels provided good thing i have my own but still they should have provide it for the guests . Cracks on the ceiling in the bathrooms. AC not working and we were sweating & they have to fix it. No microwave.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2019 by Ras, Hotel Management
Greetings from Golden Ocean Hotel!!! I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Expedia.Com your recent experience at the hotel. It was a pleasure having you stay with us. We have noted your feedback and have shared your views with our team and would like to assure you that the concerns will be certainly addressed. We would like to say that, your feedback is shown as Anonymous and you have not shared any booking details. Please share your booking number, so we can find it out the issues caused to you during stay with us. In addition, breakfast is offered as per booking, if you booked 1 person breakfast then you will get serve accordingly. If any issue arises in AC then our maintenance team is available 24 hours to serve. We always provide neat and clean rooms to our valued guests with all necessary amenities. As stated on Expedia as well, we do not provide microwave in rooms.We greatly value your kind patronage and your feedback and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you, in the near future to Golden Ocean. Warm Regards, GOLDEN OCEAN HOTEL TEAM
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 14, 2019
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2019 by Ras, Hotel Management
Greetings from Golden Ocean Hotel!!! I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Booking.Com your recent experience at the hotel. It was a pleasure having you stay with us. We have noted your feedback and have shared your views with our team and would like to assure you that the concerns will be certainly addressed. We would like to say that, your feedback is shown as Anonymous and you have not shared any booking details. We always provide neat and clean rooms to our valued guests with all necessary amenities. Please share your booking number, so we can find it out the issues caused to you during stay with us. We greatly value your kind patronage and your feedback and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you, in the near future to Golden Ocean. Warm Regards, GOLDEN OCEAN HOTEL TEAM
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 30, 2019
No towels, no towels nene ennennenenenene enenenenene
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 1, 2019 by Ras, Hotel Management
Greetings from Golden Ocean Hotel!!! I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Expedia.Com your recent experience at the hotel. It was a pleasure having you stay with us. We have noted your feedback and have shared your views with our team and would like to assure you that the concerns will be certainly addressed. We would like to say that, your feedback is shown as Anonymous and you have not shared any booking details. This is to inform you that, we always provide neat and clean rooms to our valued guests with all necessary amenities. For anything additional you can contact our hotel reception. Please share your booking number, so we can find it out the issues caused to you during stay with us. We greatly value your kind patronage and your feedback and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you, in the near future to Golden Ocean. Warm Regards, GOLDEN OCEAN HOTEL TEAM
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Posted Jun 17, 2019
Aircon was good , carpet needs replacing as it was very grubby
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 18, 2019 by Ras, Hotel Management
Greetings from Golden Ocean Hotel!!! I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Expedia.Com about your recent experience at the hotel. It was a pleasure having you stayed with us. We have noted your feedback and have shared your views with our team. We would like to say that, we always provide neat and clean rooms to our valued guests with all necessary amenities. We are requesting, if you found any issues, please let us know immediately, so we can take necessary actions on time. For anything additional, our hotel reception and housekeeping staff is available 24 hours to provide their services. Still, if there is anything, improvements would be visible, whenever you visit us next. We highly appreciate your feedback, as it would help us identify and overcome our shortcomings as well as create improvements in our service and attention towards our guests. We greatly value your kind patronage and your feedback and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you, in the near future to Golden Ocean. Warm Regards, GOLDEN OCEAN HOTEL TEAM
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from USA

Posted Jun 2, 2019
Terrible expirienced from the beginning. The 2 room their assign to me is not safe. Door knob busted. No dark curtain in the bedroom. Circuit breaker is off. Thats why the air condition is not working when you first time to go to the room. No business center.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 3, 2019 by Ras, Hotel Management
Greetings from Golden Ocean Hotel!!! I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Expedia.Com your recent experience at the hotel. It was a pleasure having you stay with us. We have noted your feedback and have shared your views with our team and would like to assure you that the concerns will be certainly addressed. We would like to say that, your feedback is shown as Anonymous and you have not shared any booking details. Please share your booking number, so we can find it out the issues caused to you during stay with us. We always provide full privacy and security to our valued guests. If there was any issue then you would inform us immediately to resolve. We greatly value your kind patronage and your feedback and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you, in the near future to Golden Ocean. Warm Regards, GOLDEN OCEAN HOTEL TEAM
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Posted May 16, 2019
We actually didn’t stay at the property because of the strong odor of cigarettes.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 19, 2019 by Ras, Hotel Management
Greetings from Golden Ocean Hotel!!! I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Expedia.Com about your recent experience at the hotel. It was a pleasure having you stayed with us. We have noted your feedback and have shared your views with our team. We would like to say that, we always provide neat and clean rooms to our valued guests with all necessary amenities. If there was any smell then you would inform us immediately, we would change your room. We are requesting, if you found any issues, please let us know immediately, so we can take necessary actions on time. For anything additional, our hotel reception and housekeeping staff is available 24 hours to provide their services. Still, if there is anything, improvements would be visible, whenever you visit us next. We highly appreciate your feedback, as it would help us identify and overcome our shortcomings as well as create improvements in our service and attention towards our guests. We greatly value your kind patronage and your feedback and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you, in the near future to Golden Ocean. Warm Regards, GOLDEN OCEAN HOTEL TEAM
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 11, 2019
Comment from Hotel Management
May 11, 2019 by Ras, Hotel Management
Greetings from Golden Ocean Hotel!!! Thank you very much for your kind review On Expedia.com. We are so glad to read that you enjoyed your stay at GOLDEN OCEAN HOTEL and loved everything. We have shared your comments with our team and they are happy to know that their attention to details and dedicated service has made your stay a memorable one. We look forward to welcome you soon again at GOLDEN OCEAN HOTEL! Warm Regards, GOLDEN OCEAN HOTEL TEAM
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great staff & close location to Doha airport

Posted May 7, 2019 on Hotels
I needed a place to crash at 1am due to a very long layover on a flight to HK. My needs were simple, 24hr check in, Bed, shower and transfers from/to the airport. The hotel met all of my needs. The staff were all great and the airport transfers were quick and efficient. The room was huge for the price (about £37 in my case). The hotel has clearly seen better days maintenance wise, but the staff seem to be making the most of what they have to work with :)
Comment from Hotel Management
May 8, 2019 by Ras, Hotel Management
Greetings from Golden Ocean Hotel!!! Thank you very much for your kind review On Expedia.com. We are so glad to read that you enjoyed your stay at GOLDEN OCEAN HOTEL and loved everything. We have shared your comments with our team and they are happy to know that their attention to details and dedicated service has made your stay a memorable one. We look forward to welcome you soon again at GOLDEN OCEAN HOTEL! Warm Regards, GOLDEN OCEAN HOTEL TEAM
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Place wasn’t clean the Sofas was dirty show Stains

Posted May 1, 2019 on Hotels
I booked only one night and wand to have rest for few hrs!! I didn’t take any photos inside the hotel I wis I did and the bathroom bath was plugged when I took shower!!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 4, 2019 by Ras, Hotel Management
Greetings from Golden Ocean Hotel!!! I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Expedia.Com about your recent experience at the hotel. It was a pleasure having you stayed with us. We have noted your feedback and have shared your views with our team. We would like to say that, we always provide neat and clean rooms to our valued guests with all necessary amenities. We are requesting, if you found any issues, please let us know immediately, so we can take necessary actions on time. For anything additional, our hotel reception and housekeeping staff is available 24 hours to provide their services. Still, if there is anything, improvements would be visible, whenever you visit us next. We highly appreciate your feedback, as it would help us identify and overcome our shortcomings as well as create improvements in our service and attention towards our guests. We greatly value your kind patronage and your feedback and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you, in the near future to Golden Ocean. Warm Regards, GOLDEN OCEAN HOTEL TEAM