Ratings based on 21 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
44% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

GQPH

Posted Dec 27, 2016 on Hotels
It's ok if you are working in Doha and need something on a budget. Breakfast is poor and not worth QAR50. Staff are pleasant and helpful but the surrounding area is a dirty congested nightmare. Clean but basic room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Awesome!

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Pros: The room. I feel so comfortable in my bed.
Location: It only took me less than 20 minutes to reach the Hotel from the Airport.
Room is clean, staff are friendly, food is fantasti and my whole night stay is Awesome.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

My Doha Trip

Posted Dec 6, 2016
Pros: The staff, comfortable room and wifi.
Cons: As of now, everything is fine.
Location: I just traveled like 20 minutes from the Airport to Hotel. At night, I went to Souq Waqif by walk and the cold breeze is so nice.
Upon checking-in, the receptionists smiled and welcomed me like a family. I really like how receptionists assisted me all throughout my stay. I will definitely come back and will only book my trip in Doha at Grand Qatar Palace Hotel. Keep it Team!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nimu

“Much value for money"

Posted Nov 29, 2016
“Perfect experience with a great value.” Staff are just amazing and friendly, checking in took 5 minutes exactly, bed was perfectly comfortable, and the price for such a great hotel is something you can't avoid. Great experience in total.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 2, 2016 by Shakir, Hotel Management
Dear Mr. Nimzar, Thank you for choosing to stay at Grand Qatar Palace Hotel, Doha and for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us. We look forward to welcoming you back and exceeding your expectations again. Warm Regards Mohammed Shakir Resident Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from India

Never think of staying here

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Arrogant staff at hotel talking all together even when u ask one person. The philipinnes gang at hotel is irritating. Be ready to hear a NO for all demands. Room has no tea maker, no iron, no asian tv channels. No free breakfast is provided as mentioned on tripadvisor The worst wifi a person can get is here though its free. House keeping never vacuum the carpet. Bed and bath linen with stains. Final word is to skip the trip to Doha if you have no other option but GQPH.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dubai

City center cheapie

Posted Jan 27, 2015
Pros: The room was a Junior suite which was faily newly renovated - very comfortable. The Breakfast was decent and Cheap - a little too Indian.
Cons: The Internet service was very poor. The credit card machine could not take cards with PIN. The reception staff kept messing around and was slow.
Location: Close to Museum and the cultural centre and the Center of Doha. 7Km from the West Bay Business area.
Booked this hotel for a cheap week-end stay - and that was the best thing about it, it was well priced. It is located in a fairly central location in the old part of Doha so if you have business there then it is well located, but at the same time the area can also be pretty chaotic with lots of noice at all hours of the day.
2 out of 5
by Zamir from Virginia, USA

Decent ONLY for one night.

Posted Mar 11, 2013
Pros: Nothing I can think of. It didn't have anything. Hard uncomfortable beds
Cons: It's located in the poor or as some say ghetto part of town. Be careful when walking outside.
Location: Location is located in the poor area with lots of dirty people all over the place. We stepped out and was a bit terrified.
The staff has no customer service skills besides the manager. We had to wait when we were checking out to make sure we didn't steal or break anything before they could let us go. They had our passport and credit card number. We felt very stupid and offended. I wouldn't stay there but it was one night I have another delay so god help me avoid that
4 out of 5
by International Resident

Great Hotel for the Price - though parking...

Posted Nov 22, 2012 on Hotels
The hotel was great, especially for the price. It was a bit hard to find as it is just behind the gas station on the main road mentioned in the directions. If the hotel directions had said that it would have made finding the place a lot easier. It is in a very crowded neighborhood so parking at night can be difficult. It also seems very out-of-place as the neighborhood does not seem to suit a hotel. The neighborhood was not dangerous but it just did not fit where I thought a hotel should go. The room was small but comfortable and I was given a username and password for the internet in my room without even having to ask. I ordered pizza and was able to use the phone for free though I had to tell them that the hotel was next to the Ramada Encore for them to know the location of the hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Salt Lake City, UT

Grand Qatar Palace - OK, but not great

Posted Apr 11, 2012 on Hotels
The hotel was hard to find, it's not at all where google maps said, and no taxi drivers knew where is was at. It's next to the Ramada Encore Hotel if you want to google it. Checking in as a single adult I was given a room with 2 twin beds. I asked for a room with a bigger bed and was given a new room with 2 full beds. During the day construction was going non-stop outside and on the foor above me they dragged chair across the floor constantly. In the room itself, the refidgerator didn't work, and neither did the room safe. I told the front desk about it and neither was fixed. The room was made up daily, but the 2 bottles of water were never replaced after being drank the first day. And in the bathroom there were not any wash clothes. Room service didn't have half of what was on the menu, but they tried to be accomidating. The Grand Qatar Palace would like to be a 4 star hotel, but they're really more of a 2/2.5 Service could use some work as well as general quality of the room amenities.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Central location, need of upkeep

Posted Feb 2, 2012 on Hotels
Walking distance to Suq al Wagf and its restaurants. Not too far from Islamic Art museum. Room a bit basic and worn, but clean and functional. Includes refrigerator but no room safe. Internet reliable. Fitness facility and pool leave some to be desired. Some staff limited in communication abilities. But all friendly and helpful. Would recommend only if you already know doha and are passing through briefly for quick business.