Ratings based on 27 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 19, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by Vanstants from Australia

Quality is Slipping

Posted May 25, 2014 on Hotels
The hotel has a commanding view of the bay the lodges, especially the bedrooms are rather small. While we were there the pool was off limits due to a leak, but had not been cleaned for some time, and was dangerously close to becoming stagnant. The hotel needs a good injection of capital to bring rooms up to better than average condition. Food service was variable, and although staff tried hard, overall we felt like unwanted guests, perhaps because we were the only guests, and eventually we relocated.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A little disappointing, but a wonderful location

Posted Apr 11, 2014
Pros: Great room. Very nice owners. And I thought that the restaurant had some really tasty food.
Cons: I think that the staff could use some more customer service training.
Location: Beautiful location
I am really torn about this hotel. On the positive side, I found the area to be wonderful and there was something just really relaxing and clear about the air in Calibishie. It was great to have all the windows and doors open and just experience the atmosphere of the island, and the room was very conducive to that. In general, the room itself was really nice. Wonderful hot shower, lovely bathroom, nice kitchen area, and I thought it was nice that the bed was equipped with a mosquito net. Also, the owners were very friendly; so I am not so sure about the reviews that say otherwise. That being said, there were a few things that bothered me about this place. First, their internet was unusable for half of my stay, and the TV seemed to have all of five working channels. During the day, I don't see this as being a problem, but at night I like to relax and catch up with friends with the friendly sounds of the TV in the background- and for the amount I paid I don't think that that is so much to ask for. More importantly, however, I didn't find the staff to be all that welcoming or helpful. At one point, I stood at the front desk for about 5 minutes waiting for some help, and eventually I had to actually search out a staff member myself. She was sitting in the Staff Only Area laughing and talking with her friends.
5 out of 5
by Frank from Los Angeles

Extremely friendly staff with exceptional service

Posted Jan 9, 2014
Pros: Great location
I had a wonderful time in a great village.visiting my niece. The food was excellent as well.
3 out of 5
by Caribbean Woman

Great Potential

Posted Jun 13, 2013
Pros: balcony - partial view of the bay - breakfast -
Cons: Use real not foam mattresses / advise guests pool is empty for renovation in advance of booking & adjust rate accordingly / add a curved shower rod
Location: Calabishie Village is rustic and delightful
underwhelming for the price - positioned next to the road - high up - rustic - partial views.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good accommodations

Posted Apr 23, 2013
Calibishie Lodges can serve as a good base from which to explore Dominica. The one draw back is that it's over an hour from the sites at the south end of the island but others who have stayed in the large town of Roseau which is more central to all of the popular sites were not as pleased with the room and atmosphere as they were at the lodges.
1 out of 5
by Unhappy from US

Poor

Posted Apr 15, 2013 on Hotels
Just slightly better than a tent
5 out of 5
by Dave from Milwaukee, WI

Great hotel for an "off the beaten path" vacation

Posted Apr 7, 2013
Pros: The atmosphere created by Peter and Lystra.
Excellent small hotel, the owners, Peter and Lystra, work hard to make every guest feel like family. The restaurant is also excellent. They can arrange whatever activities you are interested in. The hotel is on the edge of the rain forest and just a few minutes walk to a beautiful beach.
2 out of 5
by Noralle from Canada

Posted Mar 23, 2013 on Hotels
Staff friendly and helpful. Hotel maintainance is slipping, example veranda roof leaking and had been for some while. There is a frustrated rooster that lives adjacent to the hotel.
4 out of 5
by G & S from Harrisburg, PA

Winter Getaway

Posted Feb 16, 2013
From the moment we arrived and climbed the stairs to the patio, pool, restaurant and room we felt a warm sense of home. The photos posted are true to form for this gem. Everyone was delightful and truly service oriented wanting to share their wonderful world. The Lodges are located on the edge of a very traditional welcoming small town with nature at your fingertips.