Ratings based on 127 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, Canada

Beautiful hotel

Posted Feb 3, 2017
Pros: Unique character, lovely pool, nice restaurant, pleasant staff
Cons: Access would be tricky if stairs were an issue.
Well maintained, lovely hotel with nice view and swimming pool.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NYC

Posted Jan 3, 2017
very old hotel, it needs renovation. had an issue in bathroom, water stock in the tube. and to get to a beach you need a car to drive around 10-15 minutes. but staff was very nice.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent service and good location

Posted Oct 26, 2016 on Hotels
Cleanliness of room/hotel Quality of service Hotel amenities Hotel location
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Grand Terrace, CA

perfect hotel. just far enough from tourist.

Posted Jun 26, 2016
Pros: WIFI and the pool
Cons: there is no gym.
Location: punta uvita, uvita water falls, manuel antonio national park (driving distance)--main attractions. drive 3 hours south to panama.
i am not one to write reviews, so I will make this short. when i booked this hotel, i was looking for distance from "extranjeros" (tourists), but close enough to drive my rental car. it was elegant and clean. it was my family of 5. we paid 25$ per night for the extra person (so dont book 5 on expedia--just book 4). wifi worked flawlessly which was a plus. and the pool overlooking the distant ocean. you dont have beach access, but it doesn't matter. you cant go wrong.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 28, 2016 by Angel, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your nice review, it will be very helpful for all readers. We feel very happy that you had a great time at the hotel and enjoyed our pool, WIFI, ocean view and good service. We hope you can come back and visit us again, we still are away from tourists.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, but....

Posted Mar 20, 2016
Great staff, beautiful lobby, dining, and pool areas. And I imagine that the rooms on the top level near the pool area are very nice. However, the "Jungle rooms" are at the bottom of a 50-step stairs, down among the vegetation, with no views and no breeze. Rooms were very clean and the bed comfortable, but the rooms are rather cramped. And it was a long hot walk up the hill to breakfast or to use the pool. Of course all the photos on the website show views and rooms from up top, so I felt like it was false advertising when we were assigned to a jungle room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Long Beach, New York

Beautiful wonderful hotel

Posted Mar 13, 2016
Pool was beautiful. The staff was incredible, helpful, and so nice. Hotel and room was spotless. We will be coming back here soon. My only complaint would be the mattress was not great. It wasnt terrible but everything else was so good it just didnt meet the same standards.
5 out of 5
by Michael from Aptos

Posted Mar 2, 2016 on Hotels
Beautiful large angel-themed rooms with balconies, great location & close to Uvita/Envision Festial. Friendly staff & excellent food at the restaurant/bar.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, ON, Canada

Beautiful hotel in the rain forest.

Posted Feb 23, 2016
Pros: Everything.
We spent 4 nights at the Hotel Cuna Del Angel and enjoyed it very much. The staff was very friendly and helpful, it was clean and well laid out. The breakfast buffet was excellent. The pool area is very nice and we spent lots of time in the pool. Overall a perfect choice for our vacation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Unique hotel high up on mountain.

Posted Feb 21, 2016
First two nights we were put into a sub standard room with limited water. Later moved to a better room in main building. Food was very good and healthy. Grounds were well kept and the infinity pool lovely. Not a lot to do in the area. Would not recommend for children.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Avoid the "Jungle Rooms"

Posted Feb 8, 2016 on Hotels
This is an absolutely beautiful hotel with some wonderful and some awful rooms. We got one of the awful old "Jungle Rooms" (not recommended). In our old wooden room: access to our room was many steep steps and no handrail, the bed was uncomfortable, pillows inadequate, air conditoner was inadequate (because the window was open and could not be closed without moving the bed and rearranging room), TV was very small, could not get the safe to work, the bathroom had no good place for makeup and toilettries and the water got turned off in the middle of the night. However, the pool was nice and the breakfast was superb. Don't pay to stay in a "Jungle Room".